We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing desert, but pricey”

Euphemia Haye Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Euphemia Haye Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing desert, but pricey”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

The have a wide variety of deserts that are all amazing, but for 2 cups of coffee and 4 pieces of pie for almost $50...seems a little much.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    124
    69
    41
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maybe the loft is better?”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Given the positive reviews given to this restaurant, my husband and I decided to try it out. The restaurant is in a converted old house that is charming and the decor was the best part of the evening. My spicy shrimp appetizer had the taste of bbq sauce out of the bottle. His tuna sashimi appetizer was tasteless. The noisette bread was however very good. We both ordered meat dishes as really anyone is capable of preparing good fish dishes in Sarasota as the fish is so fresh. Well we both thought that our dishes were ok but not much else. This is not an inexpensive restaurant so our suggestion is that you skip the restaurant, just go upstairs, order appetizers and a drink and then dessert and just take in the music and the overall lively ambiance.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wjsinsarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Interesting Name”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very nice restaurant. My wife and I had excellent dinners here. It seems like a place that is frequented by the Longboat locales. The fish was excellent and the desserts upstairs in the Hayloft were devine.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank WmECamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

After reading so many glowing reviews about this place, my husband decided it would be the perfect place to celebrate my 50th birthday. The restaurant is a lovely place with greenery and white lights.
After being seated, we were slightly annoyed to find that we were placed in the same room with a boisterous party of 8. This was in June, and the restaurant was almost empty, but all the other couples were seated in the same room as well. Bad decision!
I ordered the pepper steak because of the recommendations I had seen on Trip Advisor. It was one of the worse things I have ever had...Totally covered in peppercorns and was unable to cut it, even with the provided steak knife.
Our server was very nice and provided lovely service, escorting us upstairs for dessert and wonderful entertainment. The staff at The Loft was friendly, the drinks were well poured and the atmosphere relaxed and fun. We'll be back, since we are year round residents of Longboat, but only upstairs....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenaToKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A "must" for after dinner dessert”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Another couple and we have a tradition of having wine, coffee and dessert every year when visiting Longboat Key. We "lucked out" and had only a short wait in the "upstairs" bar/lounge (with live music, by the way) before we got a table in the "dessert" room. As usual, patrons are led to the dessert display and given a description of all the available desserts --- about a dozen cakes and pie choices, all made at Euphemia Haye. When, seated, our orders were taken including coffee or tea from an extensive beverage menu. "French press" coffee is served individually at the table. Service is first class in a pleasant atmosphere that is not overly noisy --- a worthwhile experience, at least once, when visiting LBK.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Euphemia Haye Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Euphemia Haye Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing