We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Mar Vista emulates "old Florida" !”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Aspen, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Marvelous Mar Vista emulates "old Florida" !”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

If sleek and contemporary is your game...this restaurant is not for you. If sitting casually by the water surrounded by low hanging trees and mellow music topped with incredible fresh sea food...particularly the scallops..then you will love this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dianainaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    566
    355
    141
    62
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Arlington, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait or the price.”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Flavorless, overpriced fish. Hostess with a chip on her shoulder. The waitress was nice, which is just about the only positive comment I have about this place. Go to the Dry Dock down the road. We've been there twice and had a much better experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinMcS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Long wait for what?”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

The place is cute. We got a Corona and Margarita while waiting, at $16! Then fried scallops with more bread than scallops, inedible artichokes and a salad with nothing in it but hard greens. My husband didn't like his meal either. He had fish with no flavor. But let's wait longer for the check. I paid in cash to the tune of $80 and had water with my meal. Won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
541 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Outdoor seating is much preferred”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Inside is a seedy bar which is old and dark. Much better is outdoor seating by water with beautiful low hanging trees giving an old Florida flair. Well worth the experience for a memorable evening. Outside fills up so go early!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Quaint old Florida”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Loved the old FL ambience and the accessibility by boat but a bit over-priced for what we got. That was disappointing. Arrived hungry. Left hungry. We were with friends so being with them was a treat and we loved the setting but the quality of the food and the amount of serving was sub-par.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurabender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing