We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water front”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Water front”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Great location...a must to go to if you have a boat and want to tie up to their dock for lunch or dinner. We had a very long wait. I had fish tacos that were very sinus clearing thanks to wasabi which wasn't very easy to spot or to remove. I wondered if they might have been spiked purposely or by accident, and btw, none of our group behaved badly or rudely to have a potential joke played on us. A friend and I had the tacos and we were both breathing fire after every other bite. I would go back just for the atmosphere but would order another selection. I'm always on the hunt for great places on the water.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HMontshaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    358
    143
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

First off, I love the atmosphere at this restaurant when we sit outside and look at the bay, it's beautiful. Last night I ordered the grouper quesadillas. $15.99. They were kinda bland and dry. When I mentioned it to our server he said he agreed but didn't offer to make things right. He also referred to us as "guys" when asking us how things were. Our party was made up of two women over 70, and a woman and man over 40. I know it's not a fine dining restaurant but that just seems a little too casual for the amount our bill came to. Everyone else enjoyed their meal. Just wish he could have handled my observation about my dish in a better way.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flint2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“outdoor casual dining”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is part of a group of 3 restaurants on Anna Maria and Longboat. Love the outside dining here..lights and a courtyard overlook a boat dock. Good fish, good wine, and a nice place on a Florida evening. Good for families, couples, anyone who wants an enjoyable evening.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSH04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite restaurant in the whole world!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We visit Longboat Key on a regular basis and our first port of call on day 1 of our holiday is always Mar Vista. The food is excellent, the service is exceptional and the setting is, well, it's just one of the best places ever to sit and spend an afternoon or evening. Under the shade of a tree hearing the waves lap on to the shore with fab food and drink, what more could you ask for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Freshest and best tasting Grouper”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We usually go to the Beach House but decided to try Mar Vista instead for a birthday dinner. We went on Thursday night, Jan. 16. It was not crowded. The food was amazingly well prepared. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean. When we first walked in we were surprised that it did not look fancy at all. Everyone's food was exceptional. The salads were crisp, the bread was warm and sweet and the flavors harmonized well. The Grouper was by far the freshest, cleanest and best tasting grouper we have had in our last four years of traveling and now living in Florida. The sauce was a perfect compliment and the toasted banana on the side added just the right touch to finishing the meal. Bravo to Mar Vista. We will be going back soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheLGFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing