We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is Florida!”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #4 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
woodstock, georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This is Florida!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

great seafood, eating outside on a sandy beach floor, but feeling like you're inside. very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    348
    139
    58
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been here before and wanted something quiet and laid back with good food. 2 people had crab steam pots which were good and steamed with nice spices.
2 of us had the fish special, grouper (I think) with jerk seasoning and a grilled banana on top, it was excellent, the seasoning was not overpowering and the dish tasted great. This place is always on my todo list when in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flhti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place certainly has a beautiful location right on the Intercoastal Waterway and a beautiful view. We were lucky enough to get a table under the trees just a few feet away from the waters edge. Our drink orders were quickly taken and served and the waiter was back in no time to take our order. I do agree that the place seems a bit pricey for what you get. The salads were small--one cucumber, one small tomato, one piece of onion. The potato medley was delish. Just wish there was more of it! Grouper was slightly overcooked but the crab cakes are to die for! Be sure to try them! The warm bread that came with the meal was really good too. All in all I can't really complain , as setting by the water on a beautiful night in Florida with a glass of wine and the one you love-----Priceless!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yev2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great way to celebrate our anniversary!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Mar Vista was already recommended by a friend. After reading the reviews here we decided to celebrate our 30th anniversary there. We were seated on 'the deck' outside as 'the trees' area nearer to the water was already full. We had the stuffed tater tots for the appetizer. Very Good! We had the salmon and flounder for our entrees. They brought us the chocolate cobbler as an anniversary gift and we ordered a piece of coconut cake to take with us. It was a great evening. Great service. Nice place to relax. Will go again sometime but I don't think we will need to eat for a day or two:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeacePair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not going again”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great atmosphere but the prices are from $17 to $60 which is very expensive. We ordered crab cakes which surprisingly was 98% crab which was awesome but no remoulade sauce and zero presentation. Sides of vegetable was broccoli and carrots and potato medley. When I say broccoli, I mean one small flowerette dripping in butter and a four small bite size slices of carrots. Service was so so but the food being so bland and disappointing it is hard to say service was good. Will NOT ever go back. So many better places to eat at. Bummer for us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tutaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing