We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bayside hide away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
new york
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice bayside hide away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited with Mr B, we had a lovely late lunch, looking out over the bay, a few boats here and there, under the trees, so cool with nice breeze. No pressure, which is just what you want in Florida in June, i am sure this place is jammed in 'season'- we will come back.
Nice Floribbean menu, emphasizing fish, good drink selection. It was a quick stop, my mozzarella, tomato salad was fresh and tasty - all components. The tuna in soy was very good, the fried tortillas a nice crunchy touch.
Mr B enjoyed his chicken breast, as always.
We will go back and its worth finding to try!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningtraveler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    340
    128
    55
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Laid back, bay view setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our lunch here very much. We have visited a few times on previous holidays and were relieved that the vibe had not changed but the food had improved, even though we enjoyed it before. The service was also very good. Great place for a lazy, shady long lunchtime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank busymakingwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“A slice of old Florida with waterfront views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My review is for cocktails/bar service only. We had some time to kill before our dinner reservation elsewhere, so we stopped here on a busy Saturday evening for a few drinks. It was one of the few restaurants we could find on Longboat Key that actually had waterfront views.

This is a converted fish camp a few blocks off the main strip. While the prices are appropriately high for a seafood place on the water, with the gravel parking lot and dollar bills pasted to the walls, the atmosphere is still relaxed and casual. You would fit right in with shorts and flip flops.

The bar only seats a few people, but we were able to sit down at one of the cocktail service only tables. The bartender was friendly but definitely could have used some more help - be prepared to wait at least 5 minutes to request a drink order, pay your tab, etc. Drinks were okay. I was tempted to eat here for the steamer pots, maybe we will come back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananafishfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grouper Sandwich and a View...couldn't get more Florida!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate at Mar Vista several times during our stay on LBK. Each time we had the grouper sandwich (without the bun - just the fish for us!) and it was the best grouper we had in Florida. We truly enjoyed sitting outdoors and enjoying the Florida sun and looking at the inlet. The restaurant is frequently visited by boaters which adds to the atmosphere. There is covered/uncovered outdoor seating for those that want to stay out of the sun. The uncovered seating provides beautiful filtered sunlight (through the huge trees) and a nice ocean breeze.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieCollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambiance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were referred to this place by another couple we met from the area. The outside dining area was gorgeous with sandy, tree covered waterfront tables and twinkle lights in all of the trees. Great place for a laid back date night.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cannoneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing