We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mar Vista Longboat Key”

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #4 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mar Vista Longboat Key”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Great place for dinner on Longboat Key. Casual eatery and bar with very good seafood and a great view of Sarasota Bay. An outdoor table under the trees in the courtyard is ideal. In season the Stone Crab Claws are a don't miss!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdMustaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    576
    358
    143
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“one of favorites between Maine and Key West”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

There is nothing is comfortable as sitting under the trees at the Mar Vista eating a relaxing meal while overlooking the bay on the north end of Longboat Key. The food is wonderful, service is terrific ... and they serve your dog a bowl of ice water.

We and our dogs rank the Mar Vista an all time favorite. This place is lovely. Highly recommend it for ambiance and quality.

We try to visit whenever we're transiting the west coast of Florida by boat or by car. Well worth a detour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodyreynolds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Come for the ambience...not the food”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just got back from dinner at Mar Vista. This was our first visit based on our need to "branch out" and try new places. I loved the outdoor seating - under the live oaks and right at water's edge with sailboats and seabirds for added effect. The night time twinkie lights in the trees were perfect - not to dark and not too bright. Very romantic and relaxing. There is also under cover outdor seating and indoor tables as well as a rustic bar area which looked to be a local hangout.
This is not the place to spend $25-$30 on a fish dinner. I had the beer and old bay seasoning shrimp bowl (this is an appetizer) which had 12 shrimp in a tasty sauce served hot. Messy to eat but very flavorful. However, some of the shrimp were way over cooked and mealy and I wondered how long they had been around. My husband had the grouper sandwich which was a small piece of grouper on a very hard bun and not much else. The fries and cole slaw were nothing special but not horrible. We enjoyed our meal because of the setting and will probably go back when the need for a relaxing get-away to "old Florida" hits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overpriced tourist joint”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Waiting for the table we went to the bar. We paid over $12.- for two 2 Coronas. The food was "Sysco" tourist chow.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank crackerguyandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Longboat Key eating surprise”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The setting was so unexpectedly beautiful. You could eat on the sand, under the lighted trees, next to Sarasota Bay & the pier. The seafood was great & fresh. Hard to decide what to eat

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank puddning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing