We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great luch spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub

Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy a delicious fresh Florida seafood meal inside the quaint dining room, on the outdoor covered deck or under the ancient Buttonwood Trees overlooking picturesque Sarasota Bay. Farm to fork, gulf to table and pasture to plate. It's waterfront dining with a unique atmosphere. Leave a dollar bill on the wall and a little bit of your heart to find on your return visit. Voted #1 place to Dock and Dine with our own private 14 slip dock. There is no place quite like the Mar Vista for real Florida dining.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great luch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

A little off the beaten track, but a great spot to stop and have a relaxing lunch, especially if you are looking for fish. The service and atmosphere were casual, but appropriate. Home made Key Lime Pie is a must. Don't expect fancy, but it is a good relaxed lunch spot

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    513
    340
    128
    55
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Spectacular food and VERY friendly staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

The food was really good and the staff was amazing. Mar Vista's location is one of the highlights as well after dark.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Relda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ONE WORD " AWESOME"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

I went there on a Saturday and the food the wait staff was out of this world! I highly recomment the Fish Dip and the New York Strip was one of the best I have ever had...You cannot go wrong with this place! Good food, Good drinks, Great Wait Staff and atmosphere!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“3 Places in one - Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

We luckily stumbled on this place, we walked in and it is a bar setting, which is fine and the decor is cool. When you walk further in you see the dining outside, we opted for that and it was enclosed due to the chilly weather and had heaters which was perfect. When the weather is nicer (warmer) we'll be outside under the trees overlooking the water, fabulous view! Very romantic and the food was amazing. We had the tater tot & smoked fish dip for appetisers, they are a must have because both had us crapping the plates for more! Main courses were just as good, we'll drive back down for dinner time and again (we live in Tampa, FL) to dine here often. GREAT FOOOD & Fabulous VIEW!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Redharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus IN
Level Contributor
95 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect outdoor dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Many fish choices. I love the Angus burger. Hawaiian bread is excellent. We prefer the outdoor dining. The view of the bay is restful and quiet. On a cool night there are heaters, which I appreciate! The staff is friendly and efficient.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Mar Vista Dockside Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing