We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Inn
Nearby Hotels
Zota Beach Resort(Longboat Key)
$309
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$429
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siesta Inn(Sarasota)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Family Inn(Sarasota)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Knights Inn Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Resort(Longboat Key)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
140
28
13
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
140
28
13
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold floridafree parking for guestsowners chrissmall poollovely tropical gardensshort or long staysingle storyshore birdsloungers and umbrellasminute strollprivate beach areakitchen areaone bedroom unitlounge chairsfully equipped kitchenfacing the oceanrooms are clean and comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 198 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I got married at Sandpiper, 4 yrs ago December. We had a small private ceremony at sunset on the beach. Its was an experience I'll never forget. The owners and office staff were wonderful, allowing us the opportunity for our marriage. We stayed in room 201, right on the beach. When my wife walked from the room to the heart that I made in the sand, it was a jaw dropping experience. Sandpiper is probably the best kept secret on Longboat. Its intimate, very private, and the beach is FL's finest. Convenient to St Armand's Circle, Publix, and anything else you would need, Sandpiper offers one of the finest offerings anywhere in Florida.

Room Tip: Room 200 or 201 face the beach and are the closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dhink802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank you for your stay. We hope you enjoyed yourself and got to relax at our completely upgraded "Old Florida" property directly on one of the best beaches in North America! We are completely upfront on our website our pool is small, we do not provide provide daily maid service in order to keep costs down. This is not a high end hotel, as I have mentioned in previous responses if you need maid service, room service or a restaurant please continue down the road to the Longboat Key Club or the Ritz in Sarasota. However, if you want a low key, pet friendly, clean, fully stocked kitchens and quite air conditioned rooms with new king mattresses,you have found our paradise on the Beach!!

Sunny Regards,
Life Is Always Better @ The Beach!!
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn
5451 Gulf of Mexico Drive
Longboat Key, Florida 34228

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

After seeing previous reviews, we anticipated an outdated facility that would be just barely acceptable. At first glance, that seemed to be the case, but we quickly realized there were many, positive changes over the past few years. The heating/air conditioning is exceptionally efficient and quiet, the kitchen appliances are new, the TVs are new, the beach lounges provided are plentiful and comfortable, and it is clear that the innkeepers are continuing to make significant improvements to the property while working to retain some 'old Florida' charm. This is the place you want to be if you're looking for a beachfront location, a sandy path to the waves, and innkeepers who are pleasant, helpful, and exceptionally knowledgeable about the area, the birds, attractions, and so on. The rooms may not be luxurious, but they are very clean and well-equipped. Our bathroom was quite small but we had a large, walk-in closet. The inn is in a great location, with two or three very good eating places near by and a bus/trolley stop almost at the front door.

Room Tip: A lot of variety in the rooms. Talk with the innkeepers about your needs, but this is a small place that is often booked many months ahead.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were staying in Orlando and our son suggested we visit Longboat Key. We made a reservation here for an overnight stay. The entrance exudes the old Florida feeling and the room was extremely clean and well appointed. The units, each with their own patio, were picturesque. The short stroll to the ocean offered lush landscaping with flowers and a waterfall. The ocean with it's sugar sand and abundant shells extended in both directions for our walking pleasure. The sound of the surf was calming. We would love to stay here next year for a month, however it would be nice if the rates were more accommodating for monthly visits.
In short, I have an appreciation for the preservation of "old Florida" by the owners of this resort.
Marilyn Bennett

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank GMBennett15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your stay at the Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key. Harold & I truly appreciate your kind comments about the restoration/preservation of this wonderful "Old Florida" property directly on the Gulf of Mexico.

The Sandpiper Inn does give discounts the longer you stay with us. The nightly rate for staying 28+ days is 19% less than the single nightly rate, during this busy 3 month winter season (FEB,March, April), and 24% off for the rest of the year.

Unlike most properties we do not raise rates during holiday periods. In addition, we have "last minute booking" rates, (which you experienced), and a 5% Returning Guest Discount which you can enjoy on your next stay.

We are glad you had a pleasurable visit at our beautiful garden, Gulf Front property and relaxed on what I consider to be the Best Beach in North America.

Best Regards,
Christine Gorman Cullison
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida
"Life is Always Better @ The Beach"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sandpiper is a nice quiet restful place. a stones throw from the beach. Owners were away when we were here for first part of visit, the innkeepers who were there could not have been kinder. Very comfortable and easy for beach. The split air units are new and are a bit confusing and hard to regulate for comfort, but we finally figured them out. Very nice overall. As I said, quiet, very quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights during Christmas week. The positives were a fully equipped kitchen, Very quiet high tech air condinioning units. quiet location, miles of beach to walk on, good beach loungers with pads, lovely landscaping, and a great restaurant ( Lazy Lobster ) within walking distance. The negatives were a bathroom that needed serious updating as there was no counter space ( a medicine cabinet would have helped.) The facility is NOT comprised of bungalows, but attached units like an old style motel. Bring your own paper towels and napkins as none are supplied. You might want to also bring your own toilet paper and tissues unless you are a fan of third world paper.

Room Tip: Two units directly face the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

Previous Trip Advisor posts from both new and our vast Global returning guests have wonderful comments about our "Significant Improvements" to this "1960's Old Florida", non smoking, pet & family friendly motel, directly on the Gulf of Mexico, which we saved from "extinction" in 2005.

10 of the 11 efficiency apartments have been renovated with new tile floors, kitchens, cabinets, king mattresses, flat screen TVs, sound proving walls, painting and best of all, energy efficient & extremely quiet air conditioners in the bedroom and living areas. ( the 11th unit will be completed by the end of the month, just in time for another visit from one of our long term, of over 20 years, friend/ guest ).

For the past 15 years, as Innkeepers, we have been totally & quietly committed to being "environmentally friendly" at all of our properties. This is why we have energy efficient air conditioners, washers & dryers, pool heaters and light bulbs. We recycle, provide cloth towels instead of paper, and use "Green by Design" facial and bath tissues (the same product I find when I stay at the Westin Hotel in Boston & New York City) .

We are glad you enjoyed our new & upgraded lounge chairs and were able to relax on one of the Best Beaches in North America!

Best Regards & Happy New Year
Christine Gorman Cullison
SANDPIPER INN LONGBOAT KEY, FLORIDA & SPRING LAKE, NJ
"Life is Always Better @ the BEACH"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews