We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet!”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A fantastic little motel/hotel. Spacious self catering rooms that are well equipped. Rooms are just steps from the private beach.

Good value and close to small shop, supermarket and small shopping parade.

An amazing beach with lots of wildlife!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank wiskeyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 196 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great place to spend your beach vacation or a weekend. Innkeeper/owner lives on site and expeditiously meets your requests. Very clean apartment. Everything furnished. And you can take your dog! Wonderful place to relax at the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gills33558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pros - superb intimate inn with direct (private) gulf beach access. Excellent, clean rooms with full kitchens. And new appliances through out. Flat screen TVs and new living room furniture in a tropical design. Which also seems to be a different pattern in each "suite"

Outside you have your own umbrella and table with chairs for relaxing in and enjoying the gardens, as well as enjoying conversations with other guests if you so desire. There is a nice grilling area with two gas grills provided for use, as well as a covered picnic area close to the beach. The pool is nice and warm with plenty of seating for a small group of people.

We were thrilled with every aspect of our stay and Harold was extremely friendly and helpful. He even showed us the two bed room suite for when we plan on coming back this September.

It really shows how much effort and hard work Harold and Chris put into this inn to keep it so beautiful and special. Kudos

The cons - we had to leave waaaay before we wanted to on this trip. But..... We will be back and we will also be recommending this to all of our family and friends.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are special in their own way and unique. It is impossible to choose a bad room. How...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Isotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just spent two weeks here. Accomodation is right on the beach. The beach is just beautiful and so quiet and peaceful. Much better than being on a public beach. The accomodation is fine, our room was very clean on arrival. One thing I would have liked was a welcome pack with a couple of tea bags and some milk or a bottle of water perhaps. There was nothing, we had traveled from the UK and so were tired whe we got there. With nothing to drink we had to drive to Publix to get tea bags and milk. Next time I would make sure I had some with me so that I could have a drink when we arrived. No smoking is allowed on the premises or at the beach which is great but I did see a guest smoking on the beach. Can't blame the owners though for this . I would definitely recommend this place if you want a nice peaceful holiday on a beautiful beach and with several restaurants within walking distance too.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy_hall_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Private beach, pleasant host, walking distance from great restaurants, what more can you ask for? When I tried to make reservations the minimum stay was three days, but we could not spend more than 2, I contacted the innkeeper and it took no time to get the 2 days. And the place was full, so it was not just to rent out an empty place! An egret walked the ground trying to sneak in your room looking for food, so... watch out! Thank god for digital photography! Oh, almost forgot, never had an hotel room with a more quiet AC unit!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicosne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We were looking for a small, family run beach cottage and that is exactly what the Sandpiper is all about. We were welcomed by Chris and her little dogs and made to feel right at home. A wonderful location right on the beach, it is quiet and beautiful. Recently renovated cottages, very well equipped and comfortable with a couple of restaurants minutes walk away. What more could you ask for? We only had 3 nights at the Sandpiper Inn but will definitely go back for longer next time.

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank escapeecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is our 3rd stay here, and quite simply, Longboat key is the BEST place to be in Florida, and the Sandpiper Inn is the BEST place to stay! A piece of old Florida, with secluded beach steps from your door. Excellent restaurants nearby. Only eleven units. Has a personal touch you seldom see any more. If you enjoy Florida's beaches & sea birds, you will love this place!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank laidbackBuffalo_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
92 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
981 reviews
5 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,841 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
131 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: $161 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing