We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a vacation”
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Reviewed January 6, 2013

In December of 2012, my family and I had the good fortune of selecting The Sandpiper Inn in Longboat Key as our destination spot this year.
All six of us loved the setting which was right on the Gulf, as well as our proprietors, Chris and Harold.
The location is a tropical paradise and the individual cottages were clean, and fully equipped with everything we could possibly need for our comfort. Chris and Harold were always onsite and able to assist with a myriad of questions on what to do, directions, local spots and where to dine.
We all loved staying at the Sandpiper Inn and plan to return to this unique vacation retreat.
Love at first sight!

Room Tip: There are two rooms that face the Gulf - both have one bedrooms, but waking up to having the beach a...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lois J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 189 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was our first time here at LBK and our stay at the Sandpiper was wonderful. The rooms were spacious, updated and very clean. It was really charming and the gulf-side location of the Inn is ideal. The management is very helpful with suggestions about shopping, dining options, directions, etc. It is very quiet and an ideal spot for relaxing. The 2-bedroom unit has been recently rennovated and was very nice. I have also stayed at the "sister" location in Spring Lake, NJ and was equally impressed. I strongly recommend this inn for those looking for a lovey inn with a great beach!

Room Tip: Swimming pool is small but beach is just steps away. Rooms are spacious with sufficient closet and...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annwelsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pros: I will start by saying the location and the grounds are absolutely beautiful and charming. It is a bit like a bed and breakfast without the breakfast. The beach is lovely and private and that is the best thing about this resort. The rooms are spacious, with a separate living room, kitchen and bedroom; AC worked great and was quiet, 2 flat screen TVs. Towel exchange is easy as you put your dirty basket by office and they replace with fresh ones before noon. It is also easy walking distance to 2 great breakfast restaurants - Blue Dolphin & Harrys and a great gourmet restaurant/bar - Euphemia Haye which we stopped in for a nightcap each nite.
Cons: The check in process was unprofessional The owners/managers live on site and it is a bit awkward checking in late - you're basically looking in on their living room - and you have a bunch of little dogs barking at you. I thought all hotels were required to have 3 locks - these rooms only had 2 and the bolt barely worked. The sliding glass door was also difficult to open. Also, it is a bit strange to have outer doors with windows where anyone could look in to see if you were home or not. I may be paranoid - it is a sleepy little island - but I would have rested a little easier with better locks/doors and outdoor lighting. I had read the reviews and knew what to expect - no maid service, small pool and old Florida style- so we weren't disappointed, but it is really not up to American hotel standards but more like a private condo or home.

Room Tip: Gulf front room had awesome view and was only a few steps from the beach!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amashbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LongboatSandpiper, Owner at Sandpiper Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for your stay, we are sorry you did not totally enjoy your experience at the Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key.

My husband & I have been restoring this beautiful garden setting, directly on the gulf, "Old Florida" property since we saved it from becoming a single family home in 2005. In the last year, we did major renovations to 10 guest rooms with quiet mini split air conditioners in all the units (living room & bedroom), paint, new tile floors, cabinets, dishes and furniture. We still have more to do, as well as our living quarters and the Office. We choose to enhance the experience for our guests (to the delight of our long term returning friends/customers), Unfortunately, like the "cobbler's kids" we have to wait for our own comfort, but at no time are we unprofessional.

We fully comply with all Florida Hotel/Motel regulations and are inspected twice a year. The bolt lock on your door seems to have been damaged by the salt water & air, it will be replaced. All of the sliding glass doors have blinds for privacy, but most folks want the light to come in, especially in the Gulf Front units, so they can enjoy the view of the dolphins, blue herons, egrets and other wildlife passing by.

This is an extremely safe area and we are one of the few properties on the Island that have staff on site 7 X 24 for the security of our guests. Our lighting is subdued in order that the Sea Turtles are protected, but we do have lights on the walkway and in front of each unit. The Gulf Front lights are motion controlled for the benefit of the Turtles and their precious babies.

We are totally upfront on our website and brochures, we are not a resort, a home/condo or a chain hotel, nor do we pretend to be. We are part of "Forgotten Florida", a beautiful garden paradise, clean, totally Non Smoking, family & pet friendly establishment that has been renovated to provide a "laid back", completely restful experience for both new and long time (many for 31 years) returning guests, from all over the Globe, on one of the Best Beaches in North America!
Best Regards,
Life is always better at the Beach!
Christine Gorman Cullison (Innkeeper/Owner)
Sandpiper Inn Longboat Key, Florida & Spring Lake, New Jersey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is our yearly "vacation destination" but - unfortunately - we were unable to visit in 2011 due to a family member having had recent surgery. However, we've kept in touch with the owners/managers and have looked at the updates to the facility on the website and counted the days until we went back.

We have always been major fans of the Sandpiper and thought that it "couldn't get any better," but the owners have proven us mistaken. The units are FABULOUS, and have been entirely updated with new flooring, furniture, appliances, television, mattresses, fixtures - everything (including the chairs on the beach and patios)! The old air conditioners have disappeared and have been replaced with new quiet AC/heat units in both the living area and the bedroom (they're so quiet that you won't know that they're even on).

The gardens outside each unit still beckon with waterfalls and visiting seabirds, along with a private BBQ and sitting area. The beautiful walkway is sheltered enough from busy Gulf of Mexico Drive so that the traffic is rarely heard (or seen). Turn left to the parking lot, or turn right and follow the path to the beautiful beach and the magnificent Gulf. ALL rooms are "Gulf view" as far as we're concerned - just step out on your patio, look to the right, and there it is (although two rooms directly face the water).

Several restaurants and shops are within walking distance (the Lazy Lobster and Harry's Deli are both highly recommended). More restaurants and shops can be found a few miles north of the Sandpiper (on Longboat Key as well as over the bridge on Anna Maria Island), and the southern part of the island boasts the Dry Dock Grille (great food/great views) and a newly-renovated Publix (drive a few more miles and you'll get to eat/shop to your heart's delight on St. Armand's Circle).

Harold and Chris are the Sandpiper's owners/managers who live on site, and they are marvelous. They are always ready to assist, and we consider them dear and special friends (as we do the former managers, Richard & Mary Lou).

This place is a "hidden gem" and the only "negative" is that we have to leave after two weeks and get back to reality!

Room Tip: Every unit is wonderful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Sandpiper Inn is the perfect place if you're looking for a quiet stay.
Our room was spacious and had a well equipped kitchen and very quiet a/c. It was very clean and it has been reworked not to long ago.
The beach is perfekt for relaxing and swimming. There were always enough sun loungers available - no need for this annoying reservations ;)

Room Tip: Their best rooms are the beachfront ones (201 has a little more privacy than 200).
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty_B_GER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a destination wedding in Bradenton Beach and some of our wedding party stayed there and loved it. I visited and thought it was a beautiful location and very clean and comfortable. They would stay there again and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Longboat Key.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is an old time Florida motel, upgraded to be really comfortable today. The landscaping is a touch of Old Florida and the rooms have been updated with comfy couches and new air conditioners (non of the old window units.) It is does not have "luxury appointments" if that is what one desires. No regular maid service. It does have a fabulous beach (with beach towels and lawn chairs) and very friendly innkeepers. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 200 and 201 are roomy and have beachfront patios.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wakanwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
1.0 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
45 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
966 reviews
5.0 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,792 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 5 in Longboat Key
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range: $161 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing