We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and well-located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandpiper Inn
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and well-located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

The Sandpiper is not luxurious nor modern. However, it is very clean, seems to be very well run, and has wonderful, close, convenient access to the beach. The beaches of Siesta Key, Longboat Key and Anna Maria all seem to have an influx of seaweed in the water and all over the beaches right now but that is simply what you get at times in the Gulf.

We found our rooms to be very well-equipped and comfortable. There is a large sitting room in the one-bedroom unit with kitchen area that has a large refrigerator a stove and dishwasher, coffee maker, dining table. The bedroom and bath are not large but adequate and the king-size bed is very comfortable. The tile floors make it very appropriate for the beach and are easy to sweep out. The grounds are small but lovely and there is a semi-private seating area by your room, a bar-b-que area, small pool and outdoor pavilion.

It is a nice intimate setting amidst large condo units. We enjoyed our stay and felt we got a good price as it was near the end of the season.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Skritsuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    23
    11
    7
    10
See reviews for
42
74
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose the Sandpiper Inn for its location right on the beach in Longboat Key for a beach vacation with our 11 year old twin grand daughters. Our original plan was to stay there for 3 days and then head to Sanibel for the rest of the week. The Sandpiper was so comfortable and relaxing and enjoyable that we ended up extending our stay for the entire week. Innkeeper Harold was very accommodating as we changed our reservations. The atmosphere was charming with just 11 rooms all just steps from the beach. Rooms were clean, kitchen well-equipped, AC quiet and worked great. No noise from neighboring rooms. Lots of beach chairs on the beautiful beach. Grounds were beautiful! Location was great with convenient access to several restaurants. We also found it a good central location for visiting all the beaches in the area... Anna Maria island, Coquina beach, Lido beach and Siesta Key Beach! We went to Mote Aquarium, kayaked with IKayak on Lido Key & parasailed with YOLO Adventures in Cortez. Shopped and ate at St Armands circle. Had a magical week and will definitely return to the Sandpiper Inn and recommend it to others who don't want a big resort feel. washer and dryer came in handy too! beach towels provided. Only thing you need to bring or buy is your own beach umbrella and plenty of sunscreen!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 103 and 200. 200 is gulf front with exceptional views, but all rooms have a nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here for the location and price but were very pleased with the accomodations and overall property. The one bedroom units are very functional and clean. As noted by others it appears they have been updated recently - very nice. We found the property to address all our needs - close to the beach, easy access, good value, and quiet. It was nice that beach towels chairs/chaise were provided as well. We would stay here again for sure. The only slight negative was the pool - very small and not very functional if that is a big requirement (wasn't for us).

Room Tip: All the rooms are basically the same except the two on the end that face the gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WallyJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We recently returned to the Sandpiper Inn and were surprised with what we found. Our old sleepy Inn had been transformed. The rooms have been redone and the difference is amazing ! New cabinets - new appliances - flat panel tv - it really turned out great. What drew us to this place originally has not changed. Awesome beach. Very quiet. Wonderful sunsets. Perfect location about halfway down Longboat Key. What a fabulous trip !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jimbonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

What a wonderful weekend with my 2 daughters, After parking your car a convenient distance from this beach front, single story Inn, you follow a brick path through lush vegetation, shoulder high flowering plants and beautiful fountains with flowing water and statues. The charming Spanish style inn, was built in the 50's and is kept completely updated. The walkway goes past the 8 rooms, each with it's own small front porch, and furnished with the perfect chairs for relaxing and sun bathing. After the 1st day, I realized that the feeling of privacy and solitude is because the cars are not visible and they are not constantly moving about a parking lot. We had a 1 bedroom with a king bed, and a sofa in the living room which made into a queen bed, and we were very comfortable. The brick walkway ends at the private beach. I will return very soon with my husband. The best is the trip is only 1 1/2 hours from our home in Lakeland, Fl.

Room Tip: Room 100 is next to the office, but it is equally as quiet and beautiful. Room 108 is the last room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

If you're searching for a perfect spot to relax and enjoy yourself, away from the bustle of the typical touristy commotion, be sure to check out this gem on Longboat Key. We live nearby but stumbled upon this in an online search and enjoyed the setting, the private beach and the quietude. We stayed in the two bedroom unit--all updated appliances, bedrooms, etc. Lovely landscaping, plenty of cushioned loungers for the beach... Very nice. Will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gropius12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Felt homey from when we walked through the patio and into our room. Everything modern and clean! Lush vegetation gives you real privacy and no rat race touristy feeling here. Cell phone coverage is lacking in the room, but great on the beach. Why do I care? I'm coming back one day... after my sunburn heals. Enjoy this place guys.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyToesAreSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.9 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
13.6 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,428 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Resort
Outrigger Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Inn

Property: Sandpiper Inn
Address: 5451 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-1901
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandpiper Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Studio, 1 & 2 bedroom apartments all fully furnished with outside patios, all ground level, overlooking lush landscaping and/or our beach, fully equipped kitchens. Private beach furnished with loungers, tables, secluded and unspoiled with fantastic views. Restaurants within walking distance, shopping, theatre, arts, tennis courts, golf, biking all close by. Small dogs allowed. Previously known as Riviera Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Sandpiper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Hotel Longboat Key
Sandpiper Motel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing