We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile



Turtle Crawl Inn has it all! Perfect location, right on the beach, mid-key. Nice heated pool, beautifully landscaped grounds, friendly staff. We were in Tower unit 402, great for viewing incredible sunsets. The unit has been recently updated. Granite kitchen counters, stainless appliances, nice bath with large shower. Living/dining/kitchen space is large, roomy and sunny, very comfortable, well equiped for vacation cooking. Wonderful balcony.

Our only complaint was the bedroom. It was large, but contained a queen and a double bed. There was no room to move along one side of each bed, as one was too close to the wall and the other too close to the closet. Not good if you need to get up in the middle of the night. We tried moving things around but just couldn't clear enough room! Hubby and I ended up sleeping in separate beds after the first night - not exactly a romantic getaway! Most units have a similar arrangement.

We would love to return to Turtle Crawl if they would put only one bed in the bedroom! Otherwise we'll look elsewhere. Too bad, because this is a wonderful resort.





Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    53
    10
    7
    12
See reviews for
47
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our time here. Stayed in Unit 102 right on the beach. Gulf Water was excellent, and warm... Also enjoyed pool. One bedroom condo was good. Could use some room darkening blinds in the bedroom, as light from outside by the elevator was bright at night and drapes did not block it out. Otherwise everything was sufficient. Desk people were very nice and helpful. Quiet at this time of year and we liked that. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeAnneRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great stay in unit 204. We had one bedroom suite with full kitchen and wonderful view of the beach and full veranda with table/chairs and lounge. The staff was great and Angel is a gem. We will definitely go back. The rooms were large and very clean and well-equipped. If you want a laid back beachy condo on a beautiful stretch of beach, this is it The Lazy Lobster is about a mile north with great food and atmosphere, and the Columbia Club is in the other direction on St. Armand's Circle. :)

Room Tip: All the units have wonderful views of the beach and balconies facing the Gulf- no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wood636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montverde
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have vacationed at TCI for about 4-5 years now. We always stay on the bottom floor. This time we stayed in Room 102. It was nice, but not our favorite of the four.I don't know the need for a dishwasher other than a much needed island work area. It was our first time in this unit.
Angel was very nice and accomodating with all of our little needs. She is around most of the time except after hours, but only a phone call away if emergency. There is a gigantic wall mirror in the kitchen/dining area. So if you like mirrors you are in for a real treat.
I don't! :-). We tried to cover it with a bed sheet but to no avail. We slept well on the beds and our teen son slept on the sofa bed. A/C is ice cold. VERY NICE FEATURE> If you plan on cooking in, here are a few things that we needed but didn't find. Pizza cutter, LARGE salad bowl, for taco salad, and extra dishrags, and towels, Which they may have in it by the time someone else comes.
There are bike rentals walking distance for 8.00 a day, also a public park with tennis courts and soccer field.
The TV is very large flat screen, looks brand new and a DVD player. We watched some old Hogan's Heroes episodes that we brought with us. Very quiet, didn't hear anyone romping on the ceiling or loud yelling, everyone there just seemed to be in Longboat Key zone. Relaxed, and slllloooowwwedd down. Love it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabandfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
248 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just returned from a great stay at the Turtle Crawl Inn on Longboat Key. Althought we had vacationed many, many times on the Key, this was our first stay at the TCI. We didn;t know much about the property before we arrived except that it was directly on the beach, which is what we were looking for on this visit. We were most pleasantly surprised. From the time of arrival, received by the friendly, courteous and helpful staff, to the end of the stay when we had to finally pull ourselves off the beach to leave, our time at the TCI was fantastic. The units are all very similar in furnishings, etc. although a few of the units have been updated more recently than others. Our unit was very adequate but could use some updating, especially in the bathroom. The BR was a bit small and cramped but adequate. The units also do not have dishwashers but we didn't want to do a lot of cooking anyway. For a family that may a bit more of a problem. The beds were very comfortable, the size of the unit was adequate, and the view from the balcony was fantastic. The beach is wide with miles for walking in either direction. The pool is a bit small and can get crowded but we used it mostly to cool off so it wasn't a problem. Overall this is a bit of a hidden gem and we definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach all have balconies with a great view of the wide beach. There are other u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great location and view! Nice beach and pool, cute condo complex. Beds were ok. Wicker LR furniture: old and dirty. Pillows on balcony furniture filthy. Kitchen ok has utensils, plates etc. microwave and stove new. Fridge good. Had a DW you had to move and plug in, looked like no one used it, was a great counter. 4 chair dining table ok. Some beach stuff in closet. Bathroom needs a complete Reno. Light fixture couldn't be turned off. Rust/mold on fan vent. Old wallpaper. Tub needs resurfacing. Remove wood cabinet thing over toilet, place shelves. There is a linen closet in hall. Storage under sink. Bath light fixture had dust on it and wall by it, hubby tall to see it. We put comforter from closet in bedroom on LR couch, beach towels on chairs-to feel better. Great condo for 2 or 2 adults and 2 kids. 2 double beds in bedroom, closet doors off track, need repairs, safe small for phone, wallet or IPad but not laptop. In 302 wanted 504. Great place for kids. Beautiful island, ate well out. Close to Sarasota.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in 103 in early April. It was a very nice condo with room for all 3 of our boys. The youngest slept on the single in our room, the 2 older in the livingroom. I didn't really care that it had a pool, but changed my mind about that! The boys loved swimming it as the gulf was still pretty chilly. Was nice that it was set off the road and had grassy area for the boys to play. Didn't have to worry about them being too close to the road. Beautiful views and beach! Our last morning we had a crane standing in front of our patio for the longest time just staring at us. It was pretty cool!! My only complaints were that the bed was very hard. I didn't say anything to the staff so I didn't really give them a chance to correct this, but really what could they do about it? Also we wish we could pick this place up and move it to AMI! We love the casual vibe over there! Longboat Key is very quite, no little shops or ice cream places within walking distance. Also loved the soft white sand on AMI! Longboat Key is gray and not as soft. All in all it's still a paradice!! Thanks so much for a wonderful vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeoriaBeachbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
7.4 mi away
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
Anna Maria Island Dream Inn
#11 of 12 in Bradenton Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
7.6 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#12 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#5 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Crawl Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Crawl Inn Resort

Property: Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Address: 4235 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2501
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Crawl Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turtle Crawl Inn Resort is the place to enjoy the sound of rolling waves and some of the most spectacular sunsets on Longboat Key.With a wide variety of unit styles and floor plans to choose from, no longer does direct Gulf front mean sacrificing your entire vacation budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Crawl Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Crawl Hotel Longboat Key
Turtle Crawl Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing