We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Florida's Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Gull Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Gull Cottages
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Florida's Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Once you have stayed at Little Gull, you'll find it difficult to travel elsewhere. We purchased cottage #2, week 20 seven years ago and rent an exra week. Every year we decide to try somewhere different and by the time May arrives, we're on our way...again. We do manage to go to Europe in September, but it certainly isn't as close to our hearts as LG. We were married there five years ago! That's how special this little piece of Heaven is to us! See you in May! Staff..Great! Can't do enough for you!

Room Tip: Cottages 1 through 8 are directly on the Gulf. Cottage 1 and 2 face the Gulf, others have Gulf view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
38
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, MA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Little Gull through RCI in May 2012. We have enjoyed vacations at several properties on Longboat Key: Little Gull is the absolute best. We stayed in unit 11 on the bay side and it was great.We arrived on Saturday after five and got our key from the office. After a trip to Publix we came back to find I had locked us out of the unit. I called the emergency number and was in my unit before the ice cream melted.

I must vehemently disagree with the recent review dated September 2, 2012 complaining about Little Gull's management. I have not experienced a more pleasant and cooperative staff in my travels. All of the staff at Little Gull were most helpful and pleasant.

We are lucky enough to have secured a unit at Little Gull for this spring. We look forward to returning to this wonderful resort to enjoy our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bowsprit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I knew about Little Gull from living on Longboat Key years ago, as one of the smaller, cozier groups of cottages right on the Gulf of Mexico. I had been living in Sarasota for 25 years, taking many trips elsewhere and suddenly realized a quick, attractive, familiar "getaway" was just 20 minutes drive from my house in the city: Longboat Key is another world, a quiet, private, clean, meticulously maintained and secured island where night skies are clear and bright with stars, no sirens, loud car stereos, or other disturbing elements. Just you and the silky waves of the Gulf (too cold for swimming in January), but seated on the sand, hearing the waves, watching the splendid sunsets, was so refreshing and relaxing. The one bedroom cottage I had, #5, "White Ibis", was well designed, and had a fireplace in the LR, so I burned 4 hour "logs" two nights in a row and it really added atmosphere and warmth and general coziness for a solo visitor. Usually rented by the week, owners will sometimes make shorter stays available. Although the cottages had been there for many years, all inside conveniences were modern (the coffee maker too modern, could hardly figure it out but finally did). Interestingly, management has you come in on a Saturday afternoon, then they close at five and are not open on Sundays so you're on your own. There are many beach chairs, cooking facilities and a covered outside picnic table with perfect view of sunset. Bicycles are available, there's a rec room with billiards and pingpong across Gulf of Mexico Drive, the main road through town, on the Bay side (where there are more cottages with more bedrooms and a very nice heated pool).

Room Tip: There is some traffic on the "main drag", Gulf of Mexico Drive ,so the closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anniemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new englanad
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent two weeks at Little Gull March 2012 and we are returning this March. We really enjoy the beautiful area and the cottages are so unique. We spent 8 years renting a high rise condo in another area and Little Gull cottages are far more enjoyable. You park your car and the cottage is right there. My husbanad loves going to the beach and relaxing on the lounge chair iunder the trees. If we want sun we get up and walk the beach - just perfect. There are amazing restaurants nearby that we are looking forward to go back to . Just a beautilful, tropical getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annetteNewEnglanad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! Happy to hear we made such a nice first impression. See you in March!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This January will be our sixth year of enjoying Little Gull Cottages. Every year we(two couples) ask each other if we want to go to a new place. The answer is always no. The location on Long Boat Key is outstanding, the cottages clean and quaint, shopping is near by and you get the advantage of being on the bay and gulf. A little heaven on earth.

Room Tip: We have tried three different cottages but prefer unit 7 on the Gulf and 14 on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Little Gull Cottages, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We love hearing from guests that visit us year after year. Glad you had another fantastic time with us. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Spending our last day in paradise. Gonna be hard to leave!! Great place with beautiful beaches, weather perfect. The units are cute and quaint! The staff is awesome. Everybody here very friendly. Place has everything we need! Thank u for such a perfect vacation!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToniJanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I just came back from 2 weeks at Little Gull. The first time Istayed here was 17 years ago! 11 years ago we became owners and now have 3 weeks! It becomes more difficult to leave each time because after all these years it truly seems like a second home!! They have made wonderful upgrades to the kitchens and the bathrooms in recent years. Each unit is always immaculate and inviting upon entry. The staff is always friendly and helpful quick to respond to problems if they arise, but otherwise they leave you alone to enjoy what we all refer to as Paradise!! Longboat key is a quiet out of the way barier island to Sarasota. this time of year there are hardly any tourist or residents around so the beach becomes your own private hide-a-way!
Although we basicallt stayed around the resort and enjoyed the beach and the wildlife that abounds around the resort, we took a kayak guided tour in a nearby nature preserve. It was a unique experience for a 62 year old!! We also went into Sarasota and took in a movie at the arts theatre on the one day in two weeks that was gray and raining. St. Armond's Circle is a must and never disappoints!!
I really don't understand the one negative review that was posted recently....they must not have been staying at the same resort. We have three cottages on the gulf side. We usually stay for two weeks and trade the other, although my daughter and her husband used the third week afor their honeymoon last year....we all love Little Gull.....and actually they presented us with a Little Gull grandchild!! Another reason to love it!!

Room Tip: Gulf side is the easy beach access, bay side if you are more of a pool person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank PennsylvaniaSdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#2 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing