We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Vacation in Paradise...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Gull Cottages
Neptune Beach, Florida
1 review
“Our Vacation in Paradise...”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This resort truly has everything you could ever want...a tropical beach, multiple grills, a wonderful pool, game room, laundry facilities, playground, and a boat dock for those travelling with a vessel. It is located on Longboat Key and from the moment you drive in, you are winding through a quaint brick street surrounded by shade trees. Mother nature abounds, with wildlife and natural vegetation everywhere. The staff is wonderful and treats you like family. We plan to return again and again!

Room Tip: Little Gull Cottages offers 1-4 bedroom cottages, each fully furnished and well equiped. Each unit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
40
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, FL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

An awesome place with the real Florida lifestyle. Everyone in our family lives on the ocean in different parts of Florda already, but we come back every single year to Little Gull to "get away." It's quiet, not overloaded with tourists, friendly staff, and close to fantastic nightlife. The beach is perfection, and the rooms are the perfect balance of not being too 'frou-frou' for the beach but still clean and comfy.

Room Tip: You cannot BEAT an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Litte gull is a Very beautiful place to vacation!! We were more than pleased with the cottage, grounds and staff. Well worth the money. This is our first time in LBK, and we Had a terrific time!! This will be a place we visit again in the near future!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley9592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is my sixth year coming here and the staff and service has always been great! There is so much to do in the area with
Shopping, restaurants, botanical gardens
And Ringling Museum. One week is just not enough to see it all!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miamblueeyes195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Thanks so much to the staff at Little Gull for making this and outstanding vacation memory for both my father and myself.

The amenities are amazing and this is such a friendly resort. The office staff as well as the grounds keeper were so personable and so helpful with all of my needs. The manager was as well and such a blessing.

The views are spectacular with the bayside offering dock access with a shaded sitting area for my father in which to watch the daily activies of the fish and the birds. The fish would have a gently dance as they would jump out the water. The birds and pelicans gave quite a daily show as well on both the bayside and the gulf side from the diving of the pelicans for each meal or the gentle gliding through the air as they jockey for position on the wooden pilings off the dock area. It was quite relaxing.

Inside the units I found every luxury of home from the design and open layout of the kitchen/living room area to the ample living area in each bedroom. The luxury of the units include the large step in shower in the master bath, and wow, the kitchen with the granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances were so nice.

The 4 bedroom unit which overlooks the bay was such a blessing and so relaxing. Each morning we would sit in the breakfast area and overlook the "dancing" fish. and the swooning birds. There were every kind to see, from the cranes to the pelicans to the large water craft even to the small kayaks and fishing boats. There was a show at every turn.

I absolutely loved it, every aspect of this resort and it's prime location. If you ever need a great place to stay, this is it! I would very much recommend it for the family or for the indivdual.

Enjoy and tell them Jackie referred you. You will love it as much as I did.

Sincerely,
Jackie Kirkwood

Room Tip: Get up early to enjoy every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I had to come back again to rave over this place, even though I don't usually do multiple reviews of establishments. I think these people know exactly what it means to need a vacation, and not one in a sterile environment with no attention to livability. It feels like home here. We come once a year if possible, but had to skip last year. This year's visit was just as fantastic as the rest. I appreciate the quiet environment more than anything, and yet this is not a resort that's isolated from the world. If you want to get away to a really gorgeous destination and still feel connected to society, Little Gull is my top recommendation. From the booking process, to checking in (they STILL have the most friendly office staff I've ever encountered) to your stay, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fla
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My family and I spent a week at Little Gull in June. We had a very nice time. The facilities are really nice and the beach is lovely. The BBQs work very well. The pool is clean and warm. Just be sure to bring some bug spray. I would recommend Little Gull to anyone interested in staying on Longboat Key. We’ve also stayed two doors down at The Beach Castle and although it’s nice, we prefer Little Gull.

We also love to dine around Longboat Key. We tried the Lazy Lobster, right across the street from Little Gull. We loved it! The food and service were great. There was also a 10% off coupon in the catholic church bulletin. The Lazy Lobster also has a great happy hour from 4-5:30pm with great drink specials and early bird dinners. We also tried the Island Time bar on Anna Maria and it was fun. There are nightly specials for $3 and also a good happy hour. We made it to the Crab and Fin on St Armand’s Circle for the 5:45 early bird. The Crab and Fin is always good with excellent service.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank babie22559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.1 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
20 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
218 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing