We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little bit of paradise...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Gull Cottages
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little bit of paradise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Little Gull several times. Our family is absoultely in love with Little Gull and Long Boat Key. With two toddlers, the beach and pool access and privacy is perfect. The cottages are private, clean and nicely furnished.

We have stayed in unit 11 a few times which is right by the pool and play area. We stayed in Unit 1 and I have to say it is a fantasic beach experience. In both units we had a nice porch with a close BBQ grill near by. There is not much that can beat having coffee in the morning, listing to the beach while munching on toast.

All of the units have been renovated recently and they have wifi access. There are a few nice restaurants and shops nearby. St. Armand's circle is a quick drive away for some good icecream and shopping. And, the Mote Aquarium is a great place for the kids to visit.

The management and staff are extremely helpful and always greet you with a smile.
It really is a little bit of paradise....:)

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Beth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed in cottage #1 and it was an absolute dream! I cant say enough good things about the location and view from the cottage. The complex is quiet and feels like you are miles away from civilization, however, conveniently located close to area attractions.
The only negatives are the carpet throughout the cottage (which is not very practical for the beach) and the decor (particularly in the living area) is rather antiquated, however, that would not stop me from returning. Just the location makes up for the dark, grandmother-like decor.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeychellesDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
104 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

My in-laws live in Sarasota which was the reason for our trip. I didn't think I would like Florida, and I am not fond of high rise buildings on the beach. Thank goodness I found Little Gull Cottages. Our cottage was quaint, well equipped, and spotless. (not a palmetto bug in site--what a shame someone had to write that unjustified review) The kitchen was really beautiful, and it was fun to work in. There is everything you need to make even more complicated meals than I did.

We rented bicycles, and I enjoyed riding in the bike lane from the cottage out to Siesta Key. It is a great location for riding! The Blue Dolphin Cafe is right across the street, and it is a great place for breakfast. Harry's Continental Kitchen is also close by, and we enjoyed getting food there to take to the beach.

The management is very helpful and answered all of our questions. They even serve complimentary coffee and donuts on Monday mornings, but we were out riding.

I really hope to return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiergirlBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We love Longboat Key and especially, Little Gull Cottages. It is a small resort, immaculate, comfortable and private. It is one of the most relaxing places we've visited. We are not looking for entertainment, activities or tourist attractions and enjoyed quiet hours by the pool reading and long walks on the sugar white beach. We stay in a unit on the bay side, 2 bedrooms, 2 baths and a beautiful, modern kitchen, with a huge porch for afternoon naps. They have bicycles, grills by the pool and helpful staff. I feel very safe here, perhaps because it is away from the main drag and tourist traps. St. Armands, Sarasota Airport and numerous restaurants are not far away. Longboat Key is just about the most perfect spot in FL and Little Gull is almost home. They do not permit dogs which saddens us, we'd gladly pay the deposit, but they are unbending on that rule.

Room Tip: Bay side is quiet and parking is right at the unit. Stairs to many of the units, so be sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lola1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This resort is not for you if you want daily activities, pool parties, bar scene and night life on site. It is for the discriminating traveler who enjoys a quiet relaxed atmosphere in beautifully maintained cottages on the beach. There are only 16 cottages - 8 on the beach side and 8 on the bay side . All have upgraded bathrooms, granite kitchens with stainless steel appliances. Cottages on the beach side have laundry facilities in the unit while those on the bay side use a laundry room by the pool. There is a rec room with a small collection of books people have donated, table tennis and billiards. Free bicycles are available and there is a Monday morning coffee get together. The staff are outstanding . TJ who maintains the property checked out our overheating car, made an appointment to have it fixed and drove us to the garage. Cheryl one of the two housekeepers offered to have me stay at her house which is near the hospital where my husband was admitted. Peggy happily drove my husband around the property in her housekeping golf cart and Lisa Marie at the front desk constantly went out of her way. It is a pleasure to return year after year to this timeshare which also has units to rent through the onsite office. By the way there is plenty to do and see in the area and great restaurants.

Room Tip: There are 1 and 2 bedroom units as well as one 3 bedroom and one4 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MHSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Little Gull is definitely the way to go for beachfront accommodations. We had a 2 bedroom private cottage on the beachside (there are also cottages on bayside). It was a quiet area yet right across the street from Center Shops. Walking on the beach is a favorite. The cottage was very clean, newly decorated with nice furniture and a beautiful kitchen. The front office as well as everyone working there were very accommodating and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We decided to stay in Florida instead of venture elsewhere this year. I'm happy we did. Long Boat Key is a laid-back area but not far from Sarasota or even St. Armands Circle, if you are looking for a busier area. We stayed in unit 4/beach side for a week and never really left the key. There is a "courtyard" with a grill and 2 tiki huts (tables & chairs) as well as a fresh water shower just before you enter the beach area. On the beach, there are plenty of chairs and gorgeous, clear water!! Our cottage was perfect - full kitchen (w/washer and dryer in a closet) , nice sized bedroom & bathroom, along with a great living/dining room area. In fact, we entertained some friends and family a couple of nights and never felt cramped at all. The outside grounds are beautifully landscaped and spotless. Bayside (just across the street) had a very nice pool area as well as the "game" area, just behind the main office. There is a pool table and ping pong as well as bikes to use during open hours. At the back of this building was a lovely dock with seating. Great for trying to fish or just watch the mullet schools and enjoy the beautiful view. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seahag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#2 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
1.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing