We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Boutique type experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Little Gull Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Gull Cottages
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Boutique type experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

This resort is not for you if you want daily activities, pool parties, bar scene and night life on site. It is for the discriminating traveler who enjoys a quiet relaxed atmosphere in beautifully maintained cottages on the beach. There are only 16 cottages - 8 on the beach side and 8 on the bay side . All have upgraded bathrooms, granite kitchens with stainless steel appliances. Cottages on the beach side have laundry facilities in the unit while those on the bay side use a laundry room by the pool. There is a rec room with a small collection of books people have donated, table tennis and billiards. Free bicycles are available and there is a Monday morning coffee get together. The staff are outstanding . TJ who maintains the property checked out our overheating car, made an appointment to have it fixed and drove us to the garage. Cheryl one of the two housekeepers offered to have me stay at her house which is near the hospital where my husband was admitted. Peggy happily drove my husband around the property in her housekeping golf cart and Lisa Marie at the front desk constantly went out of her way. It is a pleasure to return year after year to this timeshare which also has units to rent through the onsite office. By the way there is plenty to do and see in the area and great restaurants.

Room Tip: There are 1 and 2 bedroom units as well as one 3 bedroom and one4 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MHSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
28
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Little Gull is definitely the way to go for beachfront accommodations. We had a 2 bedroom private cottage on the beachside (there are also cottages on bayside). It was a quiet area yet right across the street from Center Shops. Walking on the beach is a favorite. The cottage was very clean, newly decorated with nice furniture and a beautiful kitchen. The front office as well as everyone working there were very accommodating and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We decided to stay in Florida instead of venture elsewhere this year. I'm happy we did. Long Boat Key is a laid-back area but not far from Sarasota or even St. Armands Circle, if you are looking for a busier area. We stayed in unit 4/beach side for a week and never really left the key. There is a "courtyard" with a grill and 2 tiki huts (tables & chairs) as well as a fresh water shower just before you enter the beach area. On the beach, there are plenty of chairs and gorgeous, clear water!! Our cottage was perfect - full kitchen (w/washer and dryer in a closet) , nice sized bedroom & bathroom, along with a great living/dining room area. In fact, we entertained some friends and family a couple of nights and never felt cramped at all. The outside grounds are beautifully landscaped and spotless. Bayside (just across the street) had a very nice pool area as well as the "game" area, just behind the main office. There is a pool table and ping pong as well as bikes to use during open hours. At the back of this building was a lovely dock with seating. Great for trying to fish or just watch the mullet schools and enjoy the beautiful view. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seahag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Since have lived in Florida my whole life, but traveled everywhere, the most perfect New Years vacation spot was a beach and a room with a fireplace, how romantic! The room was wonderful and cozy, ample room for a couple. Even though it did not get cold on New Years (around the 60s-70s) we still lite the fireplace for the ambience. The staff was wonderful, we are looking forward to returning again and again. A wonderful seafood restaurant in walking distance and a scenic drive will take you to many shopping centers and restaurants to choose from. GREAT GREAT GREAT!

Room Tip: Any room with a fireplace, is the BEST room and beachside not the bayside of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

I happened upon this property quite by accident six years ago ,while searching for a Gulf front accommodation on Longboat Key. It was love at first sight! No more highrise condos for us.
We rented for the first three years and when a cottage directly on the beach became available for purchase, we were absolutely thrilled and closed in a day. We own one week and rent another cottage for the second week.
The well equipped kitchens have been refurbished with stainless steel appliances, new cupboards, ceramic floors. The bathrooms have been updated and all new linens for the four poster master bedroom and twin bedded second bedroom.
As you approach the "Hemingway" style cottages on the Gulf side, a tropical paradise, and a red brick walk, welcomes you. The Bay side is lovely as well and it's a great spot to watch for Dolphins and Manatee or enjoy the pool.
Several gourmet restaurants in the area. Publix about ten minutes drive and you must visit Harry's Deli for lots of delicious takeout!. If you want nightlife, this is not for you although you can drive into Sarasota.
Azure blue water,miles and miles of white sand, balmy breezes, soaring gulls, blue skies and romantic sunsets! You'll love it!
Only 50 more weeks and we'll be back. (It doesn't sound as long as a year)!

Room Tip: Gulf cottages - 1 -8 Bayside - pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loda, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

Little Gull is a wonderful place to take your family. We bought our week in the middle of June about 4 yrs ago and no regrets at all. We used to stay at my uncles condo in Holmes Beach and decided how nice the area truly was. When we found Little Gull we where very excicted. After doing the research, we realized the value for what you get was awesome. Nice quiet place with plenty of things for the family to do. The beach is amazing, the pool is nice and the staff is great. Our unit was updated this year and what a change. The kitches and bathrooms are 100 percent better and couldn't ask for anything better. The wi-fi is up and going so the kids have plenty to do during the hot summer sun.

There are plenty of shops and places to eat locally. If you hunt a little you can find the hidden resturants throughout the island. If you want a nice relaxing family vaction this is the place to go. Have no regrets with our purchase and plan to keep visiting even after the kids have grown.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ILFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The cottages are located in a upscale, highly developed area mixed with condos, resorts and private homes. The accommodations are simple and clean. Kitchen could use some updating, but new carpet, nice bedroom, nice living area. The water on the beach is clear and tranquil. Small waves. Some seaweed and seashells on the beach. Resort provides beach chairs, free of charge! Large paved walking/biking path along the road, Great for jogging/walking. Most restaurants are located 5 miles away, although it's an easy drive. This is a destination we'd come back to.
Wi-Fi was not available in the cottage although the host indicated it's planned.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casaredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 841 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sand Cay Beach Resort
Sand Cay Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
6.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
1.6 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Inn
Sandpiper Inn
#3 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Gull Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Gull Cottages

Property: Little Gull Cottages
Address: 5330 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2010
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Little Gull Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Cod style cottages elegantly border a red brick road that runs from the blue waters of the Gulf of Mexico to Sarasota Bay. Little Gull offers fully furnished, luxury one, two, three and four bedroom cottages with four poster beds and wood burning fireplaces. Each cottage has a fully equipped kitchen, two cable televisions, linens, central heat and air, private phones, with laundry facilities either in your cottage or free on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Little Gull Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Gull Cottages Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing