We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Little Gull Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandpiper Inn(Longboat Key)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Resort(Longboat Key)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zota Beach Resort(Longboat Key)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
Island Getaway(Bradenton Beach)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Island Time Inn(Bradenton Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Post(Bradenton Beach)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
108
11
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
11
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgulf sidethe cottagesbedroom unitblue dolphinprivate beachcottage feelmaintained resorttimeshare ownerswrap around porchsarasota baygulf of mexicosmall resortwashers and dryersresort staffplenty of chairsnice featurevacation spot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 123 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Little Gull is definitely the way to go for beachfront accommodations. We had a 2 bedroom private cottage on the beachside (there are also cottages on bayside). It was a quiet area yet right across the street from Center Shops. Walking on the beach is a favorite. The cottage was very clean, newly decorated with nice furniture and a beautiful kitchen. The front office as well as everyone working there were very accommodating and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend it for anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We decided to stay in Florida instead of venture elsewhere this year. I'm happy we did. Long Boat Key is a laid-back area but not far from Sarasota or even St. Armands Circle, if you are looking for a busier area. We stayed in unit 4/beach side for a week and never really left the key. There is a "courtyard" with a grill and 2 tiki huts (tables & chairs) as well as a fresh water shower just before you enter the beach area. On the beach, there are plenty of chairs and gorgeous, clear water!! Our cottage was perfect - full kitchen (w/washer and dryer in a closet) , nice sized bedroom & bathroom, along with a great living/dining room area. In fact, we entertained some friends and family a couple of nights and never felt cramped at all. The outside grounds are beautifully landscaped and spotless. Bayside (just across the street) had a very nice pool area as well as the "game" area, just behind the main office. There is a pool table and ping pong as well as bikes to use during open hours. At the back of this building was a lovely dock with seating. Great for trying to fish or just watch the mullet schools and enjoy the beautiful view. We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seahag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Since have lived in Florida my whole life, but traveled everywhere, the most perfect New Years vacation spot was a beach and a room with a fireplace, how romantic! The room was wonderful and cozy, ample room for a couple. Even though it did not get cold on New Years (around the 60s-70s) we still lite the fireplace for the ambience. The staff was wonderful, we are looking forward to returning again and again. A wonderful seafood restaurant in walking distance and a scenic drive will take you to many shopping centers and restaurants to choose from. GREAT GREAT GREAT!

Room Tip: Any room with a fireplace, is the BEST room and beachside not the bayside of course.
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redharpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I happened upon this property quite by accident six years ago ,while searching for a Gulf front accommodation on Longboat Key. It was love at first sight! No more highrise condos for us.
We rented for the first three years and when a cottage directly on the beach became available for purchase, we were absolutely thrilled and closed in a day. We own one week and rent another cottage for the second week.
The well equipped kitchens have been refurbished with stainless steel appliances, new cupboards, ceramic floors. The bathrooms have been updated and all new linens for the four poster master bedroom and twin bedded second bedroom.
As you approach the "Hemingway" style cottages on the Gulf side, a tropical paradise, and a red brick walk, welcomes you. The Bay side is lovely as well and it's a great spot to watch for Dolphins and Manatee or enjoy the pool.
Several gourmet restaurants in the area. Publix about ten minutes drive and you must visit Harry's Deli for lots of delicious takeout!. If you want nightlife, this is not for you although you can drive into Sarasota.
Azure blue water,miles and miles of white sand, balmy breezes, soaring gulls, blue skies and romantic sunsets! You'll love it!
Only 50 more weeks and we'll be back. (It doesn't sound as long as a year)!

Room Tip: Gulf cottages - 1 -8 Bayside - pool
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrea117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Little Gull is a wonderful place to take your family. We bought our week in the middle of June about 4 yrs ago and no regrets at all. We used to stay at my uncles condo in Holmes Beach and decided how nice the area truly was. When we found Little Gull we where very excicted. After doing the research, we realized the value for what you get was awesome. Nice quiet place with plenty of things for the family to do. The beach is amazing, the pool is nice and the staff is great. Our unit was updated this year and what a change. The kitches and bathrooms are 100 percent better and couldn't ask for anything better. The wi-fi is up and going so the kids have plenty to do during the hot summer sun.

There are plenty of shops and places to eat locally. If you hunt a little you can find the hidden resturants throughout the island. If you want a nice relaxing family vaction this is the place to go. Have no regrets with our purchase and plan to keep visiting even after the kids have grown.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ILFamily95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews