We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast...Yum”
Review of Blue Dolphin Cafe

Blue Dolphin Cafe
Ranked #7 of 29 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the best breakfast spot on the island. The fried potatoes are our personal favorite, but all items on the menu are cooked to perfection. The grand kids love the Mickey pancake breakfast. The wait staff is friendly and the owners son is always there working as hard as the rest of the staff. The best part is the prices are very reasonable for the quality of food served.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank happytraveler0224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 525 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019

We were in town over the Holiday week end and ordered take out breakfast. the omelet was HUGE and the grits were hot. The staff at the counter were very kind as well.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Mk062006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

Have eaten here now a few times - it's a reliable and decent breakfast location - especially on the route down to Sarasota from Anna Maria. Food always good, not so keen on the coffee (but thats personal preference i think, against American filter coffee - used to the range we get in London so it always seems underwhelming..) Typical prices for the area - and its hidden away in a very pretty quiet parade of stores off the main road. Ambience a little lacking - very quiet in late August, but staff are friendly and service is very good. Decor is fairly retro seeming now, but its clean and pretty in its own way

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank christopherjamesholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019 via mobile

We love the Blue Dolphin Cafe and make eating there a
breakfast tradition during our Longboat Key vacation. They serve traditional breakfast favorites with a brunch feel on other dishes. Portions are big, coffee is great, service is fast and the staff is super friendly! Make sure to browse the shops next door, too!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank nataliep_ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2019

My wife and I went in on an impulse. The entrance is small but the interior is true "diner' all the way. We ended coming back a few days later with friends. Breakfast both times and everything we ate was delicious. Nothing "fru fru." Just really solid well prepared large portioned breakfast food. And not to forget: the service is quite excellent. Soon as you are seated someone appears at your table. I think it was the owner who kept filling our coffee cups and who insisted we take a "traveller" with us.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve128SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Cafe also viewed

 
Sarasota, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Blue Dolphin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing