We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Diner”
Review of Blue Dolphin Cafe

Blue Dolphin Cafe
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great little Diner”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We eat here on occasion and always are very pleased. Their menu is great; service is great; and food never disappoints.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Btiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    145
    48
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great breakfast spot”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Meals are huge! great breakfast and lunch spot. Having been going here for years, easily located in the center shops. They serve breakfast all day. just a breakfast lunch spot close at 2:00.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Narda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY.
Level Contributor
87 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wow, unexpected reviews”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been to the Blue Dolphin on Longboat many times. I have never had anything but excellent service and food. They always give you lots of good food for the money and everyone has been friendly. They have another place on the circle in Sarasota/Lido/Longboat that is small and always has a wait. This location is easy to get a table and is just as good as the other location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corvete001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
283 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“It was a very good breakfast”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great breakfast with great service. The coffee was only so-so and the hollandaise tasted like it was a mix.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank wakanwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Heavenly eggs benedict”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This place is intimate and friendly. And pretty pricey!
We came here for breakfast.

The Bennies are heavenly ! We tried the recommended granola pancakes - yummy.

I like yoghurt for breakfast, but I am having a hard time understanding the proportions yoghurt/granola at most restaurants. (More granola than yoghurt) And, here I had a new experience - granola as a side sprinkled on the fruit.

I really like this place, but they serve watery coffee (worse than anywhere else on my Florida trip). Being European I like my coffee strong.

Still, I would go back! :)

No wifi.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nisse2ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dolphin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Dolphin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing