We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous 80th Birthday”
Review of Sea Club 1

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Club 1
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2011

On October 14, 2011, our four daughters and families joined my wife and me at Sea Club 1 for a fabulous weekend-long 80th birthday celebration. Coming from seven states (CO, CT, GA, NC, NH, NY, SC) and numbering 15, we traveled far, but all agreed Sea Club 1 was the ideal place for my birthday party and was well worth the trips. The beach, the Gulf, the accommodations, and the gracious hospitality of our hosts, Chris and Bill, resort managers, provided all the hoped-for ingredients for a relaxing, warm family reunion. The Club's location on Longboat Key gave us opportunities to go other places and do other things, but most of our time, by far, was spent on the beach, in the water, and lounging on the deck from which we watched the dolphins and shore birds cavorting nearby. Days were capped by gorgeous sunsets rivaling any we had all seen on different occasions in Hawaii. One of the highlights of the weekend was the champagne toast at a nearby restaurant for the birthday dinner, courtesy of Chris and Bill. If you are looking for glitzy elegance, you won't find it here, but if you are looking for a comfortable, relaxing, down-home stay, you can't beat Sea Club 1 on Longboat Key!

Room Tip: For those who love the water, the beach-front units are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Capnkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 83 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

My family has stayed here 8 times in the last 10 years. Small enough so you dont feel like your on vacation with everyone else in the world, but has all the conveniences you need. Great staff. Wonderful sunsets and quiet evenings. Great for families. Located near the center of the Key, close to restaurants and public park with tennis courts.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumix006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed in the Sea Club 1 for a couple of days this week and had a very good experience. The location is wonderful, close to shopping and restaurants, the rooms were clean and well kept, The beach was beautiful and just steps from the hotel and there were plenty of nice beach chairs to use. Bring your umbrella this time of year though as it is hot and the Florida sun is very strong. Do not come expecting the Ritz Carlton, this place is not fancy but is perfect if you want to relax, meet some nice people and enjoy a bit of Old Florida charm. My one and only complaint is that the water pressure in the shower is very weak, but I find that in a lot of hotels. Thank you Sea Club for a nice visit. We will return and suggest you to our friends looking for a nice place in Manatee County. : )

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shelby0408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This makes my sixth visit to Sea Club 1 and I plan on coming back as often as I can. The managers, Bill and Chris, are absolutely wonderful. They truly understand what you're there for and bend over backwards to make your stay enjoyable. The units, the pool, and the grounds are immaculate. The location is so convenient - there is a grocery store just down the road, and fine dining and shopping in every direction. Most importantly, the large salt water pool is right outside your door and the private beach is merely footsteps away.

This is definitely a family friendly place - provided your children are well behaved. The management understands that EVERYONE on the property has paid to be there, and as long as your family understands common courtesy (no shrill screaming from kids, picking up after yourself on the pool deck and unit porches, respecting the beach and property rules) then it's ideal. The management works for the enjoyment of large groups as well as honeymooning couples, and Sea Club 1 is the perfect spot for either, and anyone in between.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bucklebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseLBK, Manager at Sea Club 1, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2011

We thank you for the wonderful comments that you have posted and we are glad you enjoy your visits here. The only thing I wanted to let you know is that, we do not have a saltwater pool. We have a chlorine feeder that feeds when needed so we don't have that high chlorine smell. Sometimes the pool itself has a salty taste due to the stabilizer that keeps the chemicals balanced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

The management team is fantastic and very helpful with everything. We stayed in a cottage on the beach and what a great experience. Like a taste of old Florida. Very well kept up and the location is just wonderful. We hope to return again next year.....

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calisierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We were looking for somewhere to stay for a couple of nights and found this little gem by chance. We stayed 6 nights. The apartments are well equipped and very clean, the pool is clean and open until late and the on-site managers were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The beach was quiet and very clean. The location is good for visting other attractions including Tampa, St Petersberg and Busch Gardens. We would definitely stay there again if we were in that part of Flrida.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grayola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

We've stayed here three times and always come back. The location is second to none. Longboat Key is less populated and the beaches seem private due to the lack of the high rise condos. We always stay in the two bedroom villa. It's our little home away from home. The complex is small, yet high quality. The vegetation and landscaping is always so beautiful. The pool area is so clean and placed near the Gulf. Just a few steps away and we are on the beach! There area always plenty of beach chairs. We even saw sea turtles being born and swimming out to sea. The managers are the best and so down to earth. WE LOVE THIS PLACE

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
0.8 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Longboat Key
90 reviews
7.7 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
981 reviews
6.8 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in Bradenton Beach
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.1 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 5 in Longboat Key
1,841 reviews
1 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 21 in Longboat Key
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Club 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Club 1

Address: 4141 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2605
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range: $167 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Club 1 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sea Club 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing