We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner at the Lazy Lobster”

Lazy Lobster of Longboat
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OUR MISSION Our mission is to be the neighborhood choice for our guests and their families; proudly providing a casual atmosphere that consistently exceeds your expectations. Great food, high energy and honest friendly people are the keys to our success.  We’re a fun place to go where you can get anything you want and it will  ALWAYS BE GREAT!
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Lazy Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Service is excellent and the food is equally as delicious. We were seated immediately and attended to right away. The ambiance is a fun lively setting and it was decorated for Christmas. It is important to make a reservation as it is very busy and there wasn't a vacant table in the place. Highly recommend for a casual dinner out with family or friends. We will go back.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    336
    103
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Punta Gorda FL
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, drinks, and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Many great lobster choices. Wonderful sea scallops as well. Well trained attentive staff, and well prepared drinks. Liked it enough to go on 2 different nights. Ate inside one night and outside the other. Both locations great!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank armyveteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
779 reviews
455 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Wow this is a Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were touring the area and were ready for lunch and consulted TA and saw this place highly rated and nearby, so we stopped. We ate lunch on the lovely patio even though it was somewhat cool. The creative touches like the pepper jelly with the bread (never saw this before) and the fries in the mini- fry basket were great. The fries themselves were excellent - crispy and well seasoned. The grilled grouper sandwich was perfectly done and the fish tacos tasty and a good deal with a big side salad. We definitely would come again - Highly recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fondue4two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longboat Key, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Early bird good time to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner before a show and before the crowd. Good time to be there. Food is excellent new item. Shrimp meatloaf. What. Yes shrimp with a rich tomato sauce. Very good would order it again. Waiter and hostess very friendly. But realize in season it is very crowded but they don't rush you. Shrimp Norma is always a good bet.
Looking forward to next visit maybe Christmas Eve

Helpful?
1 Thank lukesbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Pretty Outdoor Dining Venue with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were staying in Lido Key, so the "trip" out to the north end of Longboat Key (18 minutes; poor us!) was a bit of a drive by local standards, but well worth the trip. I'd go there just for the “BIG BANG” Shrimp appetizer that I split with my wife. (Next time I'm getting my own! Although the five large shrimp were certainly adequate to share.). The shrimp are lightly coated and then tossed in sweet chili sauce and then served with a light blue cheese dipping sauce. Very, very good; the shrimp almost snap as you bite them!
We both had the fried fisherman's platter (big piece of cod; 5 shrimp and 5 scallops) each was cooked perfectly. They come with slaw and fries, but they were happy to let my wife substitute potatoes au gratin for the fries. All in all an excellent dish. A fried seafood platter can be heavy, but this was not even though the portions were very generous.
Susanna was our waitress and she did an excellent job of taking care of us with spot on dining suggestions and attentive service.
In passing, the outside "people warmers" in the restaurant's pretty patio are unique. A three foot long flame, enclosed in glass (there's a bunch of them surrounding the outdoor tables) provides both warmth and an attractive ambiance that are really quite a nice touch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CelticMutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Lobster of Longboat also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Lobster of Longboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing