We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a name”

Lazy Lobster of Longboat
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: OUR MISSION Our mission is to be the neighborhood choice for our guests and their families; proudly providing a casual atmosphere that consistently exceeds your expectations. Great food, high energy and honest friendly people are the keys to our success.  We’re a fun place to go where you can get anything you want and it will  ALWAYS BE GREAT!
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a name”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We never would have checked this place out, with it's location being in a strip mall in a secluded section of LBK, if it weren't for the alliterative name. It always makes me laugh to say "The Lazy Lobster of Longboat", especially when I emphasize the L's.

I agree with the other reviewers, it's definitely more of an "old person" place. The interior looks old and there were many many old people ("Q-tips") in the place. That doesn't make the food bad. It's actually a great place to get a good seafood meal, and we've been several times.

Our kids enjoy it there too, but we and they don't understand why LLL doesn't use Heinz ketchup?? We end up having to bring in our own bottle to get our kids to eat their dinner. All places should use Heinz ketchup. Is it really that much more money than Hunts??

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerryFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    756
    336
    103
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
171 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice place on Longboat, but nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We went based on positive reviews. It was just OK. It felt "old", the decor was "old" and most of the patrons were also old. Food was pretty good, service was great, it was overall good, but doubt we would ever go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
251 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Only if you over 75 years of age....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Every single table are very,very old people who want dinner for $9.99. Food nothing special more like Red Lobster. Od servers and slow. You must have a love for butter for sure to eat here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarasota69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catherine_lobster, Owner at Lazy Lobster of Longboat, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
One of the most popular features for our restaurant is our early dining menu promotion. It is offered daily from 4:00 - 5:30 PM, with prices ranging from $9.99 to $13.49. Considering the median age of Longboat Key residents is over 65 and considering the time of the day, yes the clientele is elderly. That demographic changes significantly in the seven to 8 o'clock primetime dining period."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A tasty find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

It was the colourful umbrellas that we could see from the road that made us pull in. What we discovered was a lovely restaurant serving tasty food. Our server, Andrew, was very attentive and helpful and the owner taking the time to greet his guests was a nice touch. We ate lobster, shrimp and scallops and they were easily the the most delicious we have encountered. We will definitely visit again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wasn't crazy about it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Too many better restaurants in the area. Will skip this next visit. It was an older crowd and we were a family of four. We had to send our soup back as it wasn't hot. It also was very good in the end. The wine was also kept too warm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lazy Lobster of Longboat also viewed

 

Been to Lazy Lobster of Longboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing