We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for the eight of us!”
other travelers have booked this property
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Gourmet kitchen with wrap-around seating kitchen and dining for 8
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
large 220506-castleintheskynearbeachandtennis-005-1251119703
Gourmet kitchen with wrap-around seating
kitchen and dining for 8
Sea oats and white sand
King bed in master bedroom
The back of the Castle overlooking pond
Master Bedroom
Jr Olympic pool and Tiki Bar
Bar and Grill at poolside
Front entrance
Sea oats nearby
Beach boardwalk pathway nearby the unit
White, sandy uncrowded beaches
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Longboat Key, Florida

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
13Ezra
St. Louis
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great for the eight of us!”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a very spacious condo that is fully equipped and easily accommodated the 8 of us. Great AC, 3 tvs, bicycles, bbq pit, etc. Close to the beachand includes access to a fairly large pool at the tennis club a two minute walk away. Unit has a two car garage. If we returnto Longboat Key we will definitely stay here.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to return again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Date of stay: August 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2015
Thank you for the kind review Kim. So glad to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Hope you can return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna H
Lake Mary, Florida
1 review
“Will Return Again With Friends Next Year”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were really happy to rent Castle in sky after looking at many travel sites. We found nothing that could hold 9 women on Longboat Key unless we wanted to pay twice as much.($400+) The home was very comfortable and with a large kitchen, family room and dining room adjacent to each other as one large room it worked great for our girls' college reunion.
The location was great. We walked to Euphemia Haye restaurant for out of this world key lime pie and Harrys for breakfast a few times. There are mangrove walkways in the resort which made for a tropical feeling when going to the pool. There was a tiki bar at the pool which was a relaxing way to have a drink and catch a tan.
The beach was too far to walk to but was literally a minute by car and the beach stroller and chairs and umbrella that they provided made it an easy excursion. The Longboat beaches are my favorite mainly because they are never crowded. We are tired of fighting the traffic and lack of parking at Siesta Beach; its the same sand just a lot easier to get to when staying on Longboat.
Places that I would recommend that our group really enjoyed besides St Armands were Mote Marine Aquariun, Selby Gardens, Leffis Key and the pier at Anna Maria Island. We did go on a boat excursion that left from Cortez Fishing Village about 10-15 minutes away in hopes of seeing some whales and manatees but the seas were choppy that day and we saw none ): but we bought fresh grouper filet at the boat pier so not all was lost.
Oh last but not least before you end your vacation, you need to have the key lime ice cream at Big Olafs Creamery in St Armands Circle. It was a great way to end a girls week trip that doesn't happen often enough.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Room for 9
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
topfuziel
Brookfield, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Well worth the price!”
Reviewed June 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Seven of us stayed here...a combination of family and friends. It was great...well-equiped kitchen , extra pillows, large living area, washer & dryer, etc. Location was great, but you do need a car. Only two negatives, and they were so minor they did not impact our stay: although the write-up stated there were washcloths, I didn't see any, and the furnishings are worn. But we still had a great time and you can't beat the price!

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location
Liked least: Worn-out look
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Date of stay: March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2015
Thanks for the positive review Rich. Really great to hear that your extended family had a wonderful time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed February 26, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: lots of room
Liked least: chilly weather
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aquarius4...
Apeldoorn
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Misrepresentation”
Reviewed January 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
11
people found this review helpful

Although it is actually bizarre to book an expensive double house for only 2 ladies we did so, because we wanted to treat ourselves when we saw the photo on the VRBO website of a beautifully furnished living room. But that photo must be many years old. The elegant furniture is replaced by an ugly overstuffed sofa with a lot of wear and tear, made of fake leather. Every top cushion of this huge sofa has several bursts and the stuffing is peeping out. The queen bed did not have the advertised Ralph Lauren sheets, but very sweaty nylon sheets. The blanket on that bed was torn and had a large hole.
One day we noticed a leakage in the ceiling of the living room. We put towels on the floor to avoid damage and we informed the owner who came to check. He put a bucket under the leakage and that evening we listened to the dripping sound of water in the bucket. He contacted a plumber who came the next afternoon while we were out. He had not been able to repair the leakage and he turned off the water so that we could not use the showers and toilets and we were not able to cook. We emailed the owner again and went to the fitness room in another block of Cedars for a shower and to get water in a bucket to be able to flush at least one toilet. The owner did not respond to our last email, but when we were out to shower the plumber came back to turn on the water again, except the water of the broken toilet that caused the leakage, but we were not informed about that. So instead of cooking dinner ourselves, we went to a restaurant. We haven't asked the owner for a compensation, what would have been appropiate, but late in the evening before our departure he sent a mail to ask at what time we would leave, because he wanted to give us something. We answered that we would leave between 10 and 11 AM. We left at 10.40; the weather was nice, we didn't want to loose more time and we didn't know when the owner would show up. We were glad to leave. There is a lot of overdue maintainance. Not only the toilet had to be repaired or replaced, also the tap of the shower in the master bathroom was lame, the bidet was not working well, the jacuzzi was out of order, the waterstop of the jacuzzi could not be opened to let out the water and the pipe of the watersprout on the facade was broken. This pipe made a lapping noise in the wind and that was very disturbing at night. Now we understand why we could buy an insurance for misrepresentation if you book and pay via VRBO. We have learned a lesson: in future we first want to SEE what we in principle have chosen. I want to express that we left the house spic & span and that we have made no damage at all. I want to say that because the owner made a disdainful remark on VRBO to a former client who had complaints.
However Cedars is a perfect tennis resort. The courts are very well kept, the pool is large and the fitness center is well equipped.

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 28, 2015
The two women who stayed here were very pleasant ladies from Europe. They were easy to converse with and absolutely kept the home very clean, however, their description of the residence and the leak is less than accurate.
I was contacted midway thru their stay one evening about a leak in the corner of the living room. I drove to the home immediately and saw a drip emanating from a sprinkler head in the ceiling. The drip occurred about once every 15 seconds. We placed a cloth in a bucket underneath the drip to dissipate the sound and to absorb some of the water. It would likely take days for the bucket to fill if this leak went unattended to. We had the sprinkler head replaced the next morning and seeing that the leak persisted had the plumber come out later that afternoon. The leak was determined to be coming from a leak of the toilet a floor above. While work was being done to assess the leak, we were fortunate enough to be able to have the guests gain access at no cost to the tennis club and fitness facility. This seldom happens but since it was the offseason and the circumstance was unusual the club made an exception for us.
The guests used the pool and fitness facility and ate out while the water was temporarily turned off for a few hours for the leak detection. The guests were notified that the toilet would need to be replaced. Rather than have a plumber be at the residence while they were renting the unit, we gave them the option of jhaving the water turned off to that one toilet and having the toilet replaced after their stay was finished. There are three bathrooms and only two guests so it was minimal inconvenience to have one less toilet available for use and this is what they chose.
The bedrooms are on the top floor so it would be impossible to hear the drips a floor below. The 6 piece sectional sofa is real leather and the two end portions fully recline. If there are any tears in the sofa, it is at the seams between the interlocking sections, and no the stuffing is not popping out all over. If it were, there would be other reviews complaining of the same problem. The "nylon" sheets referred to were 600 count microfiber; lightweight and breathable which is beneficially in warm and muggy Florida weather. The Raplh Lauren sheets were in the linen closet.
It appears they felt that they should have been compensated for eating out the evening of the leak detection and it was taken under consideration, but they failed to mention that we had discounted their stay by hundreds of dollars from the offseason rate given that there were only two people who would reside at the residence.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing