We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Week Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beachcomber

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Longboat Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Beachcomber
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Girls Week Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I just spent a week in Unit 404 with three friends. It was a lovely condo, beautifully decorated and very clean. We hated to leave. The Beachcomber is situated on Longboat Key centrally located to Sarasota or Anna Marie Island. It is right on the beach on the Gulf of Mexico and has a really nice pool area. The staff is friendly and helpful and they keep the common areas extremely neat. If I could spend a week there each year, I would.

Room Tip: Rent a two bedroom condo as they face the Gulf of Mexico.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank talk49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed in 204 and are extremely disappointed. The trim is rusted and bathroom floor is stained with what looks like rust. The kitchen ceiling is also rusted. The dvd player, lights in small room, and half of the outlets dont work. The master bed is hard as a rock!!!!!! Drain in tub does work well or the bathroom sink. Girl at the front desk was very rude. Not a family friendly place and i will never come back here. We have vacationed in sarasota for 10 years, usually to Siesta Key and never 1 time was i disappointed, until now. Pool was not vacuumed once.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jallen40222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in Unit 605. It is nicely decorated and very comfortable. Great bed! Great value too! The veranda has a nice view of the island and is a great place to sit out and eat breakfast or relax in the evening.

What I love about the Beachcomber is that it is right on the beach! I walk out the lobby and I am at the pool and sand. No walk way which makes it super easy for my handicapped Mother in Law. The place is super clean. There is always someone cleaning--even the elevator! Off the lobby the building offers tables and chairs to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while watching the sunset. We so enjoyed our relaxing stay and will be back!

Room Tip: We loved Unit 605. It's a one bedroom top floor unit, with a view of the island and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catwoman0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

So pleasantly surprised, our unit,504 was even nicer than the photos online. We can't say enough about the cleanliness, unit amenities ,condo layout and OH, that view! Expansive Sliding doors from both living room and bedroom onto a large balcony was the highlight for us. We didnt miss one spectacular sunset and what can be better than waking to the beautiful gulf waters?
The beach, right out the door,was perfect for long walks and simply enjoying the sunshine while escaping a very cruel northeast winter.We loved the serene ,layback feel of Longboat Key ,and believe we found "our" spot for a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babs7512016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a fabulous surprise when we arrived at The Beachcomber. It is so clean and well maintained!!! There is plenty of parking and a fabulous pool right on thee miles of awesome sandy beach. If you want peaceful, but close to all the best restaurants and shopping, this is it. They have two elevators for a quick trip up to your condo. We stayed in 605, a one bedroom with a pull out couch for additional sleeping. It is clean and has a full kitchen with all you will need for a fabulous vacation. There is a laundry area and wonderful lounge with a TV for socal time. The CVS and grocery are across the street. You'll find the cart for carring your groceries or suitcases behind the door in the lobby. They have it all for the very best vacation....beach chairs, umbrellas, sand toys, grill.

Room Tip: Two bedroom overlook the gulf, but the one bedroom overlook the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paradise44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed in unit 605 and could not be happier!

The unit has nice furnishings and everything you need. This condo was super clean and being on the 6th floor offered a nice view of the island and bay.

The building is right on the beach! You literally walk out the door and you are at the pool and beach. It was quiet and relaxing which suited my husband and I just fine. I loved that there is the PUblix grocery store and CVS are right across the street and in ten minutes in either direction restaurants and shopping.

My only complaint is I had to buy laundry and dish washing detergent and had a lot left over. It would have been nice to have either a small amount available in the unit or small amounts for purchase at the front desk.

Other than that, a wonderful vacation spot and we will return.

Room Tip: Unit 605 is a top floor one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockstar1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed at the Beachcomber at the beginning of June 2012. The complex was beautiful and our one bedroom condo was very nice, spacious, and had everything we needed. As for the last posting under “bad bathrooms”, I do not agree with this review. I saw Beachcomber website pictures for 20+ units before I booked and most condos showed bathroom pictures. It is true that the bathrooms are not huge but their size was more than adequate for our family of 4. All condos at the Beachcomber are individually owned so it is no surprise that you cannot move from unit to unit in case you are not satisfied. If you are that picky, go to a local hotel and pay a lot more money for much smaller accommodations. The Beachcomber is located on a beautiful stretch of beach, it has a very clean, warm beachfront pool and a nice shaded area with more tables and lounge chairs in the back of the building in case you want to have lunch, read a book, or just get out of the sun. The lounge and powder rooms near the pool and beach are large and recently remodeled. Everything is crisp and clean!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank myadgame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
#2 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.0 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beachcomber

Property: The Beachcomber
Address: 2721 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-3138
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Beachcomber Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing