We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No better place to be found!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No better place to be found!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Many years of vacationing there, and it is our favorite place in Florida. The apartments are great, with modernized and very comfortable kitchens and baths, not to mention the comfortable living room and veranda overlooking the gulf. For beach access, you can't beat it -- you're either right on it, or just across the street (where the pool and tennis courts are). Like to eat out? Longboat and the other keys have fantastic restaurants -- many right on the beach. Like some city life along with your beach-time? Sarasota is very close and a wonderful city, with great cultural places, boat cruises, golf, restaurants and shopping. Great for couples, or family, or friends or solo.
Go there once -- and you WILL be back!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor offers better vista -- all apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    22
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

For you fishermen, especially fly fishermen, this place can be very productive. Exhaust yourself in the surf catching angry ladyfish or fish the bay and passes.If the weather is bad, enjoy all the other amenities already mentioned, or get some culture in Sarasota or spend some money on your wife at ST. Armand's circle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frsaccomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We have been staying at Gulf Tides for over 10 years and this place keeps getting better! The majority of our stays have been in the two bedroom units across the street from the beach, although one time we were fortunate enough to stay in the penthouse. The rooms are spacious and clean with views to the east and west. The grounds are beautifully kept. The rooms have been updated with new counters, bedding, lighting, etc. The staff is always friendly and helpful. At the beach are chairs that can be taken closer to the water so you don't have to worry about bringing your own. There is a tennis court, pool, grills and bikes that are available on site, along with direct access to a well kept sidewalk/trail that runs the length of the island. The highlight of each day is enjoying the sunset from the beach. It is always hard to leave Gulf Tides, but we always look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Jennifer K,

We're glad to hear you continue to vacation with us at Gulf Tides year after year. The pent house is truly a treat! Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I'll start with when we leave.....most every time I shed a few tears because we're leaving! We have been coming to Gulf Tides for almost 20 yrs! We've seen the great updating and improvements over the years and the continued new additions like the wonderful kitchen and new household items. We love having a beach that's private with none of that "saving your beach chair with a towel" as there are plenty for all. The staff at Gulf Tides is always friendly; for us it's like visiting family. They always go the extra mile! I love the pool, and also the beach with the wonderful lounge chairs and just pulling those chairs right down near the water close to the surf and sunshine! My husband bikes nearly every day so having a bike available gets him out and about! We may shed some more tears leaving, but we LIVE for the arriving!!!

Room Tip: We like the Bayside second floor 2-bedrooms with the pool and tennis courts below us....it's jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi James R,

Love your photo! Thank you for taking time to write us a review on TripAdvisor. We're glad to hear you enjoyed another fantastic stay with us at Gulf Tides. 20 years is a long time and we're so happy we've continued to satisfy you and your family for all these years. Looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our first stay here..we were here for our 20th anniversary. We stayed in 301, the gulf side penthouse and could not be more happy with our choice. It was very clean, roomy, and quiet. We loved sitting on the balcony, fishing off the beach and watching the sunset every evening. If you want a quiet, relaxing place to stay, this place is perfect!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Janet C,

Thank you for writing us a review and congratulations on 20 years! We're thrilled you chose Gulf Tides in Longboat Key for your anniversary getaway. Hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have been comming to gulftides for two years now i love it. i love the location i love the staff and i love the unit. Everytime we come we never want to leave. we feel right at home. Nice beach right outside my door. Nice pool across the street and nice neighboors all around. Our favorite thing todo is ride the bikes they have for rent here.Its fun to feel the breeze in your hair as you stroll down gulf of mexico Dr or wherever it may take you. We will be returning for many years to come.

Room Tip: Any room is good hear i recomend the units on the beach just to get the real feel of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hi Daniel D,

Beach bike rides are one of our favorites as well! It's always so peaceful-- just you, the Gulf, and your wheels. We're happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us again and again and look forward to seeing you in the future. Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We went to Gulf Tides for our children's Spring break. The resort is well kept and very clean. We stayed at a unit across the street from the beach. There is a very short walk to the private beach. They provide plenty of beach chairs, towels etc... The pool is small but very clean. The staff at the resort is very nice and accommodating.

The only problem we experienced was from an owner of a timeshare at the resort who was not happy to see children and made some inappropriate comments. Apparently they rarely get families with young children. Most people we met were timeshare owners at this resort and not renters.

We ate at the Lazy Lobster and Dry Dock and had wonderful dinners. It truly is a beautiful area to visit.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Fisherbabe91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPMCFlorida, Public Relations Manager at Gulf Tides of Longboat Key, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hi Fisherbabe91,

We're sorry to hear about your disgruntled neighbor and hope you enjoyed your vacation with us regardless! We primarily operate as a timeshare, so the majority of our guests are owners however we frequently have renters, especially this time of year. Thanks for taking time to write us a review and we hope to see you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
5.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
3.6 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,426 reviews
3.2 mi away
Little Gull Cottages
Little Gull Cottages
#3 of 20 in Longboat Key
5.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#9 of 47 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#13 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sea Club 1
Sea Club 1
#4 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Tides of Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Property: Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Address: 3005 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Tides of Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, luxurious studios, one bedroom and two bedroom condominiums border the Gulf of Mexico. Each condo has a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, linens, central heat and air, private phones and free laundry facilities either in your condo or in your building. Tennis court, pool, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Tides of Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Of Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing