We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing Vacation site”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Certificate of Excellence
Mesa, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very relaxing Vacation site”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Just spent a very relaxing week at this resort and enjoyed it immensely. The resort personnel were very helpful and friendly. The resort is located right on the beach and is well maintained. It is convenient to many restaurants and tourist sites and all in all was pretty close to perfect in all respects. Will come back !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Larry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    25
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent a week there. The beach is perfect and while we were there (last week of August) there was not many others on the beach. You have huge beach acreage to yourself. The rooms were large, well furnished, pretty modern and the staff was very nice. Free washer/dryer was nice (but not in the room). Elevators made it very easy. Only real downside was limited view of the ocean from the room (even on top floors) and you have to walk across the street to get to the beach. It was no big deal walking across, but someone told us in prime beach season it can take 20 minutes for a break in the cars to get across (they won't stop for you and there is no crosswalk). Great spot to run....not many restaurants and nothing to do except the beach but great restaurants in Sarasota (downtown area) - Avoid St. Armands Circle, it is overpriced and for the tourists.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I recently accompanied my mother-in-law for the second time to her studio timeshare at Gulf Tides Resort on Longboat Key. This tidy, attractive, clean apartment is located just steps from the beach (literally outside the front door) and what a beach it is! Pristine and virtually empty this time of year. I would get up early in the morning and there wouldn't be another soul as far as I could see in either direction. The resort supplies lounge chairs, a grill, and a lovely pool across the road (along with tennis courts that seem to be used rarely). The owners are treated to breakfast on Monday mornings and a bbq lunch on Wednesdays. Everyone is courteous and kind and we often see the same couples/families return at the same time each year. This was an utterly relaxing vacation and I look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Beach side! Even though there are other, probably larger, apartments across the road, it is worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The resort offers a small beach area with very comfortable beach lounge chairs. We spent almost every evening we were there watching the most lovely sunsets! The two bedroom units have 2 baths and a wonderful, updated, modern kitchen. I enjoyed cooking there.

Room Tip: The two bedroom units are across the street from the beach. The water is visible from the room, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eco_tourist30467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Two bedroom apartment gave plenty of space for our family of four. The location on the beach was out of this world - we found wildlife in abundance with long walks on the beach and lots of seahells which we enjoyed collecting. Would definately recommend Gulf Tides as the perfect getaway, there is as much or as little to do as you wish.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My parents spend two weeks a year here in a time share. I wasn't aware that you could actually rent a place outright but that appears to be the case. At any rate, I used one of their weeks recently for an annual fishing trip to Longboat Key. Gulf Tides proved to be a very nice place to lodge. I usually live out of hotels while on vacation but the added room of a two bedroom/two bathroom condo was very welcome. It had a full kitchen, living room, dining-room, small flat screen TV or two (three??), and a balcony. There is also wireless internet so I was able to post vacation pictures from my notebook in the evenings while watching some TV and relaxing. The beds could use an upgrade. The king bed in the master bedroom had a peak in the middle and I felt like I was always being rolled to the outer edge. The mattress was also pretty utilitarian for my taste. I switched to one of the twin beds in the other bedroom midweek but it wasn't much better. They were acceptable but not the best.

The property has two sets of units. I was on the bay side of the road. There are others on the ocean side. But I was busy fishing from a boat for the week, and I had been to the beach on Longboat before so I didn't mind. Speaking of a boat, I have been renting a house with a dock down there for 3 years so that I could keep a rented fishing at the house's dock. I was worried about renting the boat and not having anywhere to leave it. But it worked out great just leaving it at the marina 4 miles away. I could come and go as I pleased. No problem.

The property had a tennis court and a pool with a barbecue area. On two days of the week, there was a breakfast of donuts and the like, and a lunch of hamburgers and hot dogs (one on each of the two days), which came included in the rental price. It was a nice surprise and a good way to meet some of the other people staying there. The beach across the street was very nice but tropical storm Andrea was creating large waves, rain and wind, so not the best weather for the beach. The location of the property is roughly mid-island so you have access to both ends within a short drive. There are plenty of conveniences in the area AND on the island itself, including a Publics supermarket.

Longboat Key is a beautiful place to visit and I was not disappointed with my choice of lodging this time around. Gulf Tides was clean, roomy, and comfortable (beds aside). I intend to return here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a perfect resort for a single, couple or family. I purchased a week sight unseen and couldn't believe how it acceded my expectations. The staff is friendly and helpful. The resort offers free tennis courts, bikes, pool, gas grills and the beach is fabulous. The resort is well maintained. All you need is your swimsuit. Perfect place to relax and relieve tension. The resort provides several events to get to know your fellow vacationers. Publix, and shops close. Linda York, PA

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.4 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 16 in Holmes Beach
962 reviews
3.6 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,775 reviews
5.3 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Tides of Longboat Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Tides of Longboat Key

Property: Gulf Tides of Longboat Key
Address: 3005 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2910
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Tides of Longboat Key 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, luxurious studios, one bedroom and two bedroom condominiums border the Gulf of Mexico. Each condo has a fully equipped kitchen, cable television, linens, central heat and air, private phones and free laundry facilities either in your condo or in your building. Tennis court, pool, bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Gulf Tides of Longboat Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Tides Of Longboat Key Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing