We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hated it--we had to go home!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hated it--we had to go home!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Absolutely beautiful property with every amenity you could think of in a gorgeously furnished room. We walked in the door and were WOWED with the magnificent view. We have already booked our Family Thanksgiving Celebration.

Every staff interaction was pleasant and they all went out of their way to help with information, advice, and even directions.

Only one thing could have made our stay better---at least one MORE week!!!

Thank you all for an EXCELLENT vacation!!!!

Room Tip: For a Family the 2 bedroom was spacious with enough room and accommodations for 6 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mca4580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    31
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
52
79
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harmony, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful visit to The Diplomat on Longboat Key, FL., October 16-20. We stayed in #260. Every room in this resort is beach front, which is amazing. The resort is well-kept, and the staff are kind and accomodating. The weather was beyond beautiful in the mid-80's! Our view was directly over the pool and out to the beach (white sugar sand). It was a very peaceful trip. I have to say I would recommend rm #260 and/or #262 because the owners have just remodeled and take great pride in quality of workmanship. It was just lovely. New cabinetry, granite counter tops. Well-maintained ratan furniture and dining for 8+ comfortably inside or you can sit out on the second story deck which hosts amazing sunsets. It was truly luxury on the beach! I would highly recommend this to anyone and I hope to return again some day.

Room Tip: Call to check on the units to make sure they have been remodeled and updated before booking or look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best location of all... We paid about $200 per nite when every other beach front hotel was over $400,,,, and most of those wouldn't guarantee a beach front room... There are very few on LBK.

Stayed in room 212 ,,, excellent... Open the door and the Gulf is right there.

If you want a beachfront room,,, you can't do any better for any price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomatResort, I.T. & Reservations at The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We always appreciate the the feedback we receive and strive to make each guest's experience a positive memory to look back on. We look forward to seeing you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Diplomat for 5 days and it was perfect. You cant beat staying directly on the Gulf. We loved how the pool was practically on the beach and close to our room. We used the tiki's provided to grill out. They did not provide a grill but your allowed to bring one yourself. Overall we had a peaceful and terrific time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmc8756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomatResort, I.T. / Revervations at The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback. We always appreciate all reviews so that we can better serve our guests and ensure their time with us is an enjoyable one
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
294 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a great deal! We love the gulf coast and frequent the area a lot. We have stayed at many different hotels in the area and most are old, so so and overpriced. Unit 245 at this site has it all. A caring owner, a very nicely remodeled unit that is clean, large, modernized, very reasonably priced for what you get and best of all, it has a spectacular view. The place is properly managed by on site staff, the premises well kept and everyone we encountered was friendly. Not one single complaint about our entire stay, just plenty of good memories. Well, there is one complaint, we wish we had been able to find out about the place sooner so we could have been staying here instead of so so motels that pale in comparison to this place. Great stay, great price, great memories. What more could you ask for in a beach visit!

Room Tip: Definetly try to rent #245.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IAMAPI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomatResort, I.T. / Reservations at The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I really don't recommend-stuck in the 80s-90s decor. Spend a little more for a different hotel/condo for a clean
Pros
Right on the beach!

Cons
OLD! Noisy a/c. Loud Noisy. Lots of people smoking cigarettes and just throwing them in the grass. No housekeeping on Sunday. No beach chairs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiplomatResort, I.T. / Reservations at The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We thank you for your feedback. We appreciate any opportunity to continuously improve our service and accommodations for our guests. Our rooms are always being upgraded and renovated to ensure our guests have the most enjoyable stay possible. We recommend you check out our updated website to view all the new amenities and renovations, as we are sure you won't be disappointed. Thanks again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Strong mildew smell in room. Paid for two nights at check in. Had to check out after first night. Told the front desk about the problem, said they would tell the manager. We were never contacted. No offer of a refund.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tampabay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
10.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Drive, Longboat Key, FL 34228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing