We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our second year staying here, we love it! Staff is friendly, rooms are clean, view is AMAZING!! The pool is warm, the beach is beautiful! Have stayed in three different rooms here, they are all different. Some updated more than others!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hjjj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a paradise in Florida.we are three times in DiplomatResort.the Gulf is warm,the studio is excellent/number 244 and261isvery beautyful decorated/, the staff in the reception was very helpful every time.
We recommended this fantastic fantastic place for my friends.

Room Tip: Studio244 and261
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrSzondy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettleton, Mississippi
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Don't let the "Vintage" tag fool you people. While this condo unit hails back to the condos of the past it is extremely well kept and they strive to meet every need you should have!

Literally steps to the ocean from your door whether you are upstairs or down, you will not be disappointed. There are patio tables with real palm leaf umbrellas. Beach chairs and toys in your unit's (231-233) closet. A full selection of wonderful books right in the unit.

The unit we stayed in has been converted from two into one. This made for a wonderful situation for my family. It gave my husband and I the much needed breaks from the kids and allowed the boys their own space to play games, sleep, etc. There were double doors dividing the unit which included two double beds and one king. Very nice space. Lots of closet room. The bathrooms are small, but trust me you don't need a big one when there are two! You have a shower and bath combo on each side. The furniture in the living area is extremely comfortable and not outdated. The facility itself is very well kept as well as the pool. Pleasing, calming colors just scream BEACH! I can't say enough good things about this place.

In a perfect location, very little traffic. A swim shop is right across the street. A corner store is literally a couple blocks away. Publix and CVS is a mile down the street. You don't need to leave the island for anything! Longboat Key is quite possibly the best place on earth!

Quite the value for what you get. It is a condo but you get the service of a hotel. Daily maid service (optional). Outdoor cleaning crew always has the place looking spectacular! FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY AROUND!

Room Tip: The double units (2 bedroom, 2 bath, bottom floor) are the best! Trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Another 8000 mile round trip to a great place, apt 262 had bits & peices upgraded which has made a differance, we were above the office which with nocturnal jet-lag meant we didnt disturb those below, being a keen fisherman I can tell anybody interested, forget going during the day, I cracked it this time! Republix frozen prawn, & hit the beach just as the sun goes over the horizon, & into dark.....I used 2 hooks & it was Drum after Drum with a few Sheeps head & whiting, lots of double hook ups, & do not cast more than 15 ft...watch out for the stingray, they were in abundance & quite large, like 4 ft across! all in all......great for me......& family were nicely located to socialise at Longboat Key Club & St Armends

Room Tip: Be honest with your self on what you expect for the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ukfisher202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

WOW right on the Gulf listen to the waves crashing Small resort, 50 units all decorated differently. with lovely pool and swimming in the Gulf. On up scale Long Boat Key, mostly casual but some dressy eateries. we stayed in a second floor studio with a taste of old Florida.
Terrazo floors .. updated granite kitchen and flattop stove. We cooked a little but so many restaurants and grouper, The resort was very clean and the staff friendly & helpful. What fun to spot dolphin and pelicans diving. GREAT SHOPPING at St Armands Circle my credit card melted.
A trolley runs up and down the island and also goes to St Armands & Sarasota very neat!

Room Tip: Pool toward middle south & north end rooms very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancyonlytango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Beautiful Gulf sunsets; clean beach is just steps away, very peaceful. Just returned from my second visit to The Diplomat (01-2012 & 02-2013). WOW! Don't know where to begin with my praise.The new office staff is young, energetic, polite, considerate, helpful, upbeat. Previous staff gave me the impression they were there to just collect a pay check.The cleaned up office looks more business-like. New maintenance person is a treasure! He knows how to fix it rather than calling in an outside source. Outside night lighting showed a huge improvement this year. Good job! Grounds are clean & looking fantastic.Who ever put the "D" in front of the office deserves a raise! Great idea! Housekeeping staff is very courteous,hard working,always ready to please. I highly recommend The Diplomat. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great studio kitchenette right on the beach for $163/night complete. We don't need the aminities of a hotel but like the use of refrigerator to store our food and drinks. Reported leak in BR sink and fixed immediately. Daily maid service. Igrets, blue heron on lanai, pelicans in the ocean and many sea gulls on beach. Shell collecting. Free parking. Great restaurants with very good food on all the Keys and Serasota. Would like to go back to Ringling Museum and Selby Botanical Gardens in Serasota and Dali Museum in St Petersburg - all excellent. On the way home snorkled with the manatees in Homosassa: what an experiended. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen2673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Beach on Longboat Key
The Beach on Longboat Key
#14 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
1.4 mi away
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
Turtle Crawl Inn Resort
#5 of 6 in Longboat Key
4.0 of 5 stars 113 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
Casa del Mar Beach Resort
#7 of 20 in Longboat Key
4.5 of 5 stars 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Diplomat Condominium Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing