We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Diplomat Beach Resort
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to getaway!”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We dropped in here from Tampa for a weekend getaway and were not disappointed. The rooms were very clean and homey. We chose a room on the ground floor so we could walk straight out onto the beach. You basically have your own private beach to lounge on. They do not claim to have grills but we saw 2 that were community property. We used the tall one to make our dinner. We ate dinner by the sea at sunset. A truly incredible memory made possible by the Diplomat. The place was busy and seems to be a family destination but we were not put out at all as sometimes can happen when there are lots of kids around when it is just the 2 of you. Highly recommend this place. A great value with so much to offer. We plan to make this our go to place for getaway weekends.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    32
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
54
80
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Ashby, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I return here every June for a family reunion. We have never been disappointed with the accomodations. That being said, you must understand and accept that this is an old motel which was converted to condos. Each condo is decorated according to the taste of the owner. All rooms over look the private beach and the Gulf, the view is magnificant. The beach is steps away from your room. The grounds are clean and tidy. The pool also is well maintained. The only drawbacks can be the fact that the structure is older, therefore lacks the amenities of new resorts and the office keeps restricted hours, which can be a hassle if you lock yourself out of your room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband & I live in Tampa & were looking for a nearby beach getaway for a few days....Tthe Diplomat fit-our-bill - directly on the beach; nice, clean pool; our apt. (260) was comfy & had everything we needed and the staff was very hospitable. Very convenient to St Armands circle, lots of great restaurants (highly recommend Lazy Lobster on LBK) & the beach is almost like "private".
I'll admit when we drove up to the Diplomat, I was not sure about it due to the 'old motel' look, but the inside looking nothing like the outside! If you don't want kids-noise, get rooms farther from the pool! We will gladly return to The Diplomat.

Room Tip: We like being on the 2nd floor for much better views of the beach/gulf. We picked #260 from looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week and were disturbed by the amount of kids running around unsupervised and completely trashing the pool. The setting was perfect but couldn't enjoy any of it because of the feeling of a cheap motel. The staff were very friendly and the room we stayed in was great but would not recommend this place for longer than overnight.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandytgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suburbs of indy
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We go to LBK whenever we can for spring break. Decided a week from break to head down. I found unit 217 at The Diplomat available so booked it. What a great find!! If you are looking for the Hilton or Ritz than this might not be for you. However,if you like the pool and beach just feet away , a clean spacious unit and a place that is just minutes from St. Armands and Publix than this is for you. Our family loves qiuet and this is quiet and relaxing. Sad to be going back north. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indygirl14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Island, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was our fifth holiday stay at The Diplomat. It's the right size, nice amenities, friendly staff, and a well cared for property. Convenient to the local grocery store and other local attractions. the bathrooms are small ... but functional. We met some very interesting folks and the sea-shells abound ... steps from the front door. Not the fanciest or most exclusive of places in LBK ... but that's what we like and why we call it "home".

Room Tip: Go online and view the building toward the gulf. The second floor has, what we think, are the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Spent a week in a 2 bedroom/2 bth with husband, 2 teen daughters and their friends. This place had tons of room for everyone. Bathrooms a little dated but condo had everything you need. Great place for relaxation, clean and friendly. Publix grocery was south less than 1 mile and The Dolphin cafe was north had the best food and service around. Would definately return to the Diplomat.

Room Tip: Room 247/249 2 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Constr56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Longboat Key
6.0 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
9.0 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 15 in Holmes Beach
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Zota Beach Resort
Zota Beach Resort
#4 of 6 in Longboat Key
17 reviews
3.8 mi away
Resort at Longboat Key Club
Resort at Longboat Key Club
#1 of 6 in Longboat Key
1,752 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#10 of 48 in Sarasota
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Diplomat Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Diplomat Beach Resort

Property: The Diplomat Beach Resort
Address: 3155 Gulf of Mexico Dr, Longboat Key, FL 34228-2912
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Longboat Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Longboat Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Longboat Key, we are set only feet from the beaches of the Gulf of Mexico where you can see dolphins, manatees, the occasional stingray, and various wildlife. The Diplomat Beach Resort is centrally located within minutes of such attractions as Mote Marine Aquarium, Ringling Museum of Art, St. Armands Circle, Marie Selby Botanical Gardens, Sarasota Ballet, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, various theatres, famous restaurants, numerous beaches, kayaking, tours, & cruises, etc.Our 50 units are all individually owned and offer our guests that unique personal touch of home-away-from-home that you just can't receive from other cookie-cutter resorts. You'll find many amenities such as a heated pool, multiple tiki huts, and pool side/ beach side sundecks to name a few. All units have full kitchens, full baths, living rooms, and dining rooms in a studio, 1 bedroom, or 2 bedroom floor plan. Unique to our resort is that every unit opens directly to the Gulf Coast beach. No need for elevators, driving, or long walking paths, the beach is right out your back door. We offer Military discounts as well as monthly and weekly rate specials. Come begin the vacation you deserve. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Diplomat Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Diplomat Condominium Beach Hotel Longboat Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing