We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of Edgewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Edgewater Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Central Florida
1 review
“Another Great Stay”
Reviewed December 26, 2010

I've been going to the Edgewater since the 1970's, but had not be down to the Keys in over 15 years. I was thrilled to find the Edgewater is still a charming place to stay.
If you want granite countertops, marble shower stalls, room service, 50" LCD TV's with XBox, bellhops and valet service, then this is NOT the place for you. If however, you want a friendly, relaxing, laid back and comfortable accomodations, then this IS the place for you.
The Edgewater is an older place folks, but it has been well maintained and offers a true Keys experience. Several of the rooms are right on the Gulf. The kitchenettes are clean and have all the basics provided. There are several places to sit and relax with your drinks and snacks while enjoying the view. There is a small pool with several spots for lounging and working on your suntan. The Lodge is located at the foot of Long Key bridge which has some of the best fishing anywhere. (The bridge is also great for getting exercise whether biking, walking or jogging.) There are a couple of gas grills for cooking your catch if you like. By the way, if the grill is dirty, just close the top, crank up the heat for a few minutes and the junk will be burned off. And while you are doing that, you can thank, under your breath of course, the last person who used it and left it dirty. If you are bringing a boat, there are docks where you can keep your boat. Lastly, there are some tables located at a perfect spot for sitting and watching sunsets. While we were there, we were treated to the typical spectacular Keys sunset nightly.
The current owners have done a wonderful job of keeping the Edgewater a great place to stay. With the recent hurricanes, constant wear and tear from salt air and time, they have done a fantastic job of upkeep.
So if you want a true Keys expericence, which includes learning how to relax, enjoy life and take it easy, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBlafla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    120
    43
    17
    18
See reviews for
222
182
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Edgewater Lodge is a wonderful place to get away from it all! The room was great - we had one right on the water. Melinda went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Our only complaint - our stay was too short! We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggysue0619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We were pleasantly surprised by the Edgewater Lodge. The rooms were very clean and pleasant. Locations was fantastic and view as well. We had out boat docked there which was wonderful. Th owners were friendly and helpful. What a relaxing place to stay and keep your cost reasonable. We're planning on returning int he near future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrcf2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay! We greatly appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.c
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

my wife and son went too the edgewater lodge too relax not too wake up to the sound of jack hammers at 900 am in the morning, i went and complained to the managers husband he responded do you plan on sleeping all day. well ithought that we were on vacation and it didn't matter when we got up anyway they knew there was caonstruction going on never once told us prior to going we booked well in advance and paid in advance ended up leaving after 2 days melinda was very nice and refunded our check she did set us up with another motel however at this time my wife and i had had enough. had to buy a bbq grill too cook on the ones they offered were nasty all i can say is we turned a bad time into a good time i would recommend that anybody staying really check it out before you go we drove 900 miles it was pretty disappointing oh on one note they did get one thing right the sunsets are great oh but they are naturall pictures can be decieving

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cjonesasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this review, April 24, 2010
Our concrete balconies were getting ready to collapse on one of our buildings due to salt water/air erosion and we had no choice but to have emergency repairs done during a busy week or we would have been shut down by code enforcement. This was explained to our guests. Everyone else, but this reviewer, was understanding as It was beyond our control. It was noisy from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. with a one hour of quiet break, during the workers lunch hour. Not one other guest complained to me about this as most everyone goes out fishing for the day or sight sees away from the property. I hate to disapoint anyone and as evident from most other reviews here, I do not not. Yes, the BBQ gas grills are used alot and are as messy as the guests allow them to get but after they get burned off they are fine. The reviewers money was refunded in full after 3 nights of a 7 night stay and I did want to find him another place to stay as soon as I could, as his negative energy and constant complaining to everyone in ear shot was affecting the other guest's visit as well. You can't win 'em all I guess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston,ma
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Located right off of rt 1 about halfway down the Keys, we really enjoyed our stay at Edgewater. The weather could have been nicer, but we still had a great mini-vacation there. There is a heated pool, beach area, docks where you can bring your boat (there's a fee) and fishing areas off and under the nearby bridge. As a disabled person, I recommend this place for people with mobility issues.It's a short jaunt from your room to the pool, docks or parking. Melinda, the property manager, was very helpful & informative.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe51899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast of Florida
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I, along with another couple, stayed several days the last week of October - what a great place!!!! While it's not a 5 star resort it is a 10 star spot to kickback, put your feet up, relax and just watch the water. Our room was clean, quiet, comfortable and more than adequate - we spent a lot of time relaxing under one of the Tiki huts - in fact we had breakfast one morning waterside - it was great. Can't wait to go back -
Thanks Paul & Melinda for one of the best vacations ever!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minik409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
satellite beach, fl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2009

This is a great little place....the owner, Melinda, let us know when we checked in that she would take care of anything that we needed.....and was true to her word during the entire stay. The rooms aren't "fancy" - but they're clean and well equipped. Being able to dock our boat right outside our door was fantastic. Your "back yard" is the bay and you're very close to bridges and flats.
The owners really went above and beyond the call of duty on our last night there....an unexpected line of squalls came up - they knocked on our door at 3 AM and suggested that we take the boat out of the water --- then helped us do it in a bad lightning storm.
Our little boat wouldn't have survived the storm.
Location is great - couldn't have been a better 4 night stay - wish we were still there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
11.9 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
13.8 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#5 of 19 in Islamorada
1,333 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge

Property: Edgewater Lodge
Address: 65651 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 65.5 Bay side, Long Key, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Lodge is a small resort just right off of Mile Marker 65.5. This resort is ideal for anyone looking for the perfect spot to go fishing or just to spend a day in the sun relaxing. Grill your catch on our barbecues by the tiki huts or lay back and relax on our hammocks in the shade. We have a private boat ramp and marina that only our guest can use for no additional charge. We also have bait on site. Feeling more adventurous? We also offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Only just a few feet away from the historic Flagler bridge, a few minutes away from Islamorada, and an hour away from Key West, there's something for everyone to enjoy. After a great day of fun in the sun, kicking back and watching the sunset here is a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it! We're also upgrading our property so make sure to swing by and check out the new additions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Long Key
Edgewater Lodge Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing