We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Dreaming”
Review of Edgewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2008

This was the best vacation.

The service/attention was excellent. It's a small property, so the service was provided by the manager (Ron), his wife (Renee), and the maid (Tracy).

The manager and his wife were always there to assist us with anything we needed. I can still see them sitting under the Tiki hut where any of the guest could sit with them and chat, enjoy the ocean breeze, or just stroll by and wave hello. They really made us feel like we belonged their.

The rooms were very clean and orderly, our kitchen was well supplied (plate, glasses, bowls, towels, utensils, etc.). Our bathroom was clean and our towels were replaced with fresh clean towels daily.

This is not the Ritz-Carlton, not even a Howard Johnsons, but all we wanted was a place that would be clean, comfortable, and free of rodents and insects.

We spent our time outdoors with good friends, having good times, and making great memories.

Stayed: August 2008
1  Thank Anheiress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2008

Great pictures! I am so glad you had a great time--We are working hard to make sure everyone has a wonderful vacation!--please check out our myspace page! Hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

497 - 503 of 562 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2008

My family and I had an awsome time at Edgewater Lodge where we stayed four days. The place is beautiful and management great. Ron and Renee were very accomodating and their hospitality is one of the main reasons we are looking forward our next stay.

Amador and family

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MiamiBoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2008

I am so glad you had a great experience! We hope you get to visit again soon--we appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Intrinsically, it does the job. True, the deck out to sea is lovely. But that's it. There are a list of problems:

Air con: So loud you can't hear the TV and you have to shout at each other. I’ve half sorted this by pushing a spoon in between the base of the unit and the wall to reduce vibrations. This may be a problem with just our room. Even fixed, it’s still too loud for us at night.

Air con: The units are at the sea-side of the rooms (Efficiency rooms) - so when you are on the deck you have to listen to all the AC units

Sea-facing deck - there is zero shade, no parasols are available, nothing to hook a sheet to. So basically, you cannot use the deck until sunset (yes the sunsets are lovely). You have to sit out the back facing the car park. We actually managed to stand two loungers upright and attach a bed cover to form a partial shade, but that only works after 6pm.

Rooms: Old and tired. Not unclean, just dated. They have recently been painted by the looks of it, but they should have updated the kitchens at the same time (update = rip out and start again)

Shower - tepid at best.

Internet: None

Cooking facilities - they must date back to the Victorian era. The oven is out of a museum.

Pool: Its a pool. Nothing more. No shade again so unusable in the summer for more than a dip-and-run.

BBQ's - are so filthy I'd not cook for a dog on them.

Sea: Not for swimming in. Full of rotting seaweed. We stayed here 5 days. On day one the stench from the rotting seagrass was unbearable (like rotten eggs). On day two the chap from “reception” came out and raked it back in to the sea. It worked wonders, for 3 more days we had clean air. On the last evening, the sea got mildy choppy, and I mean mildly, i.e. lapping on the beach. Once again the seagrass is ankle deep and the smell is unbearable. It’s not their fault this happens, I guess it’s the location, a lot of Long Key/ Islamorada smells the same at the same time, so my advice is go further South.

TV: is again from the dark ages.

Location: your are right next to the US Highway 1. Not much of a problem just not very scenic.

Judging from our observing the other guests, this place is solely for fishing people, with boats. They go out all day, fish, then come back and sleep. And for that I'm sure it ticks all their boxes.

The photos on the website are taken very cleverly.

Please, read my other constructive reviews and you’ll see I’m objective and usually very positive. Spend more money and stay somewhere better. If you are out solely for fishing and then sleep, it’s probably great for you.

Our general feeling is they need to do some major work to catch up with this century. There is even a “fine” if you don’t wash your dishes and put the bins out on the last day of $25. We’ve stayed in several self catering places and not seen this.

The management need to spend some money on improving the place. I should have known when I saw the sign in the "reception" saying "no refunds for early departure"....

This place should get a 2 out of 5 at best for regular vacationers. For avid fishers, I'd give it 50%

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank OntheSpectrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2008

Roger, Thank you for the detailed review of our property. I see by your profile that you are a world traveler and I am sure you have "seen it all". The Florida Keys have many different properties to choose from depending on a travelers priorities and budget. Edgewater Lodge is definetly not a Cheeca Lodge or Hawk's Cay and we do not promote ourselves as such and our prices are not in that upper range, as well. We do cater to boaters and fisherman in the summer and the northerner's in the winter looking for a simple, "mom and pop" clean place to escape the winter's cold. I personally was not in Florida during your stay, but if I was, I would have been happy to hear of your concerns in person. Honest reviews such as yours are good because it helps to weed out travelers that have different expectations and then are disapointed when things are not what they think they will encounter. The Keys have experienced tough, heartbreaking times due to the many storms and hurricanes in the past 6 or 7 years so all businesses here do appreciate your business. Thanks again and safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Have stayed here quite a few times over the years, and it just keeps getting BETTER! Great sunsets, at a great location in the middle keys, with a short hop either north or south along the overseas highway to Islamorada or Key West. We stayed in the property's "townhouse" for the first time this trip. The accomodation was very private and comfortable, If you love to fish or dive and bring a boat, there is assigned dockage available for you. Did I mention the great sunsets??

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthGAbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2008

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I booked this place for an anniversary weekend with my husband. I checked out the reviews which were excellent and the price was right so I took a chance. I have never written a review before, but my husband and I felt it was necessary to warn others about this place. Yes, you are right on the water. But down in the Keys the MAJORITY of places are! We stayed in an efficiency that was very small and run down. The bathroom was so tiny that the door had maybe a half inch of clearance by the toilet to actually close. The shower was a tiny stall that continually dripped burning hot water. Tiles were missing around the shower. The sink's drain was broken. The a/c was a wall unit that was incredibly loud and annoying. If you want quiet, this is NOT the place to go. While the grounds may be quiet, unless it is cool outside and you don't have to run the a/c, you will be shouting to be heard in the room. We had two double beds, one of which we could not use b/c it was so lumpy and uncomfortable. The "housekeeping" did NOTHING but replace towels, not even the slightest bit of cleaning was done. The owner was never available - the office was always locked and you had to call on a phone to get him and then stand around and wait until he showed up. I highly recommend NOT staying here. I have stayed in the Keys many many times and there are so many places that offer water views, docking for boats, etc. that this place should not even be a consideration. Also - prior to going there the website stated they have bait for sale right there. This is not true - you had to go to a marina down the road (or water if you are in a boat as we were) to get there. Overall, false advertising...Stay away, this place is run down and uncomfortable. I have no clue why other reviews are so positive, but consider yourself warned!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boatingmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2008

I am so sorry you had problems with your room--I wish I had been on the property to personally hear your complaints instead of having to read about them here. I understand your frustration, however we do appreciate you giving us a try-- Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank deldoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: es gibt offenbar auch Zimmer, die direkt über dem Strand liegen, zwischen meinem Zimmer und dem Stra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa P, General Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
17.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
4.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
17.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
16 mi away
Blackfin Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge

Address: 65651 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 65.5 Bay side, Long Key, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range: $105 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Lodge is a small resort just right off of Mile Marker 65.5. This resort is ideal for anyone looking for the perfect spot to go fishing or just to spend a day in the sun relaxing. Grill your catch on our barbecues by the tiki huts or lay back and relax on our hammocks in the shade. We have a private boat ramp and marina that only our guest can use for no additional charge. We also have bait on site. Feeling more adventurous? We also offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Only just a few feet away from the historic Flagler bridge, a few minutes away from Islamorada, and an hour away from Key West, there's something for everyone to enjoy. After a great day of fun in the sun, kicking back and watching the sunset here is a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it! We're also upgrading our property so make sure to swing by and check out the new additions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Long Key
Edgewater Lodge Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing