We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset”
Review of Edgewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Great stay. Beautiful sunsets. The hotel like all in Keys is dated but cleans management were friendly and helpful to all. A little far from stuff, pool was clean, it was a great trip. We really enjoyed this place

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Thank you for the review, Gail! The sunsets really are breathtaking here. We're so glad that our services were accommodating to you. Many hotels in the Keys are in fact dated and that is why we're looking forward to all of the upgrades coming our way. Check back soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 570 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I walked the Keys last week and was fortunate to be staying at this fantastic and welcoming place. I was greeted right out in the courtyard already, by name, which felt so lovely especially after a solitary walk all day. The room was great, very spacious, fully equipped kitchen with everyone you might need, and a french door looking right out to the ocean and a porch from which to watch the sunset. I am really hard pressed to think of a property in a better location or with friendlier owners/staff, in fact I can't. Watching the sunset from the porch and later the stars from my room, I forgot my feet hurt, and wished I had more time time to spend and enjoy the surroundings and wildlife. A fabulous place, whether you come by boat or car, or bike or even walk like me. Perfect for fishing or anything outdoors. It was perfect for me and you will not regret booking yourself into this place.

Stayed: October 2013
3  Thank Tam757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for such a beautiful review, Tamara! We're proud to have had you stay with us. It's not everyday that a woman walking the entire Keys comes around! We're so glad that you were able to feel comfortable here and that our views and accommodation added to the value of your very special trip. Come back again anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have been coming to the Edgewater for 18 + years, We have stayed as long as 5 weeks straight. Now we are retired and bought a house in central Fl. Love it , We still go to the Edgewater for a week, We have very good friends we meet there. They have been coming there longer than we have. We met them there. T love this place and am so glad the new owners are going to keep it as is . There could be a few upgrades done, but not much.We really enjoyed Melinda the former owner, but not so much Paul, He did not have the people skills it takes to work with people. Melinda does, I will miss her Di-Anne and Phil Havel

Room Tip: we have not been there this year, we go down there in Jan. or Feb. depends on our friends that we me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di_Anne145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Di-Anne and Phil, thank you so much for the positive review! We greatly appreciate your loyalty and we're looking forward to having you back next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Edgewater Lodge and it was great! The new owner and staff are extremely nice and friendly. Not to mention the views are amazing. You open the back door and you are right on the ocean! We could catch our fish and grill it right there at the lodge. Beautiful weather, reasonably priced, and great time with my family. I would recommend trying this place out!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

We're so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and greatly appreciate your feedback. We're glad to that we left a good first impression and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our favorite accommodation on this property is the townhouse, it's super nice but we've also stayed in the 1 bedroom and the efficiency and those are nice too. You can't beat the location and how friendly everyone is. We always go down for sportsman week and it's so nice to get up, roll out of bed and right to our dock. Can't wait to go back next summer, hoping we like the new owners as much as we liked Melinda.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

The townhouse is one of our favorites too. We're very happy to have such loyal guests here at Edgewater Lodge. We only hope to bring you exceptional service when you come down next Summer. We appreciate your positive feedback and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Run by the new owner, Jorge and his family this place is wonderful. It's not the "Ritz" it's better because you wake up to the sound of the ocean and the ocean breeze, very tranquil!. The new owner(s) are slowly but surely fixing the place up and doing a great job. Cynthia one of the employees there is a wonderful person, very nice. This place is good for couples as well as family it's laid back and relaxing. Beach and canoes (free) on the property, Bar B Q area, Clean Pool. Definitely will be coming back.

Room Tip: Open the sliding door and the ocean is right there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicasi1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for the positive review! We're doing the best we can to properly serve you and keep all of our guests happy while updating the property. Thank you for noticing! We're glad that our employees were able to make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to continue to do so. We'll be glad to have you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fred & Wanda
Been coming here for eight years. The access from room to where my boat is tied is fifty feet. Five minutes to Atlantic or Gulf. Wonderful area for any seafood you would like to catch. Paul is the type of person who would not be taken advantage of. Melinda Is always fantastic. They recently sold. I don't know new owners, But the current operator, Cynthia, I believe is going to insure us great future stays.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela G, Front Office Manager at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We're so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! We are very thankful that Melinda and Paul sold us such a beautiful property with such loyal guests. Cynthia has been a great part of the team and we're glad that she could be of great service to you. We only hope to continue to serve you. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
17.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,854 reviews
16.1 mi away
Banana Bay Resort and Marina Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge

Address: 65651 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 65.5 Bay side, Long Key, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range: $111 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Lodge is a small resort just right off of Mile Marker 65.5. This resort is ideal for anyone looking for the perfect spot to go fishing or just to spend a day in the sun relaxing. Grill your catch on our barbecues by the tiki huts or lay back and relax on our hammocks in the shade. We have a private boat ramp and marina that only our guest can use for no additional charge. We also have bait on site. Feeling more adventurous? We also offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Only just a few feet away from the historic Flagler bridge, a few minutes away from Islamorada, and an hour away from Key West, there's something for everyone to enjoy. After a great day of fun in the sun, kicking back and watching the sunset here is a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it! We're also upgrading our property so make sure to swing by and check out the new additions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Long Key
Edgewater Lodge Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing