We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax!”
Review of Edgewater Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Long Key B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had one of the rooms with a sliding glass door and deck right on the water, several nights we brought fresh and awesome takeout seafood back to the room and ate on our deck, as the sunset was as nice off of our deck then anywhere else we ate. Edgewater had a sheet with places to eat and things to do that they recommended, and they were spot on, we found some of the best places thanks to their recommendations.

We caught fish off of our pier (there are 4) there were guests fishing off of the piers quite often during our weeks stay in March. I'm sure there were a few empty rooms, but the lodge was pretty much full the week we were there, with alot of return guests, one very nice couple from Boston said they had been coming there for over 30 years, and also were a great help in us with suggestions. We also used the lodge's double kayak, they also had a single. We also snorkeled right at the property and saw many tropical fish, wait till the tide is on the way up so there is very little current. We could always see fish in the clear water right off of our pier without getting in the water.

Both Melinda and Paul were there on our weeks stay and both were very helpful, Paul even let us use his divers down flag while we were snorkling, something being from the midwest we were not even aware that we needed for safety and he suggested we use when he saw us head out with our snorkle gear. We also got to talk to Melinda several times during our stay and she was always very helpful, I had also called and talked to both of them a few times before our stay as I had alot of questions about what to bring for our trip and they were both always very accommodating.

We use trip advisor all the time, and part of our family business lets us travel all over the U.S. from coast to coast. We rarely have a bad stay, again because we use trip advisor, and it always amazes me when I read bad reviews, and it does not matter if it is a 1000 dollar a night hotel, there will be bad reviews at great places, I have learned to read between the lines, as it is hard to imagine where some of the people who write bad reviews about great places come from. I guess things like 'spoiled at a young age' or 'high maintenance' comes to mind...Ha!

I promise you Edgewater lodge is a great place, just keep in mind you are not paying 1000 dollars a night, far from it, one of the cleanest places combined with best values along with hands down the very, very best view we have ever stayed at!

Room Tip: We did several self guided Kayak trips in the area, one of the best was at Long Key state park, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ncsaknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

I am so glad you had a good time! I appreciate your comments and you taking the time to write about your experience while visiting the Keys. I hope you get a chance to visit again. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 563 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

I just read the review by kf3. I have to completely DISAGREE! We've stayed there six or so times and love it. Melinda, the owner is extremely friendly, gregarious and accomodating. Besides, there are security cams so why would she need to ride by and spy? The prices are great- try and find a better rate down there! This review just sounds suspect to me- total opposite of any experience we've had there... Matter of fact, we're saving for another peaceful weekend at Edgewater Lodge. Can't wait for another trip to paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarshaWheatley1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

Thanks so much for your support and comments. That was a good point about the security cameras, (which are really focused on the car and boat parking areas). Some folks are just paranoid I guess. I look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We had a room where you could jump off the balcony into the warm water and swim, cook breakfast, have a perfect view of the sunset over the water, take a free kayak out on the gulf, fish off the hotel pier, see a manatee swim by as you ate brunch, and grill your fresh-caught fish for dinner. I will stay here many more times.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 231anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you! We appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

The rooms were barely adequate, but the customer service was rotten. It felt as if we were always being watched as the owner constantly drove about in her golf cart. She was not welcoming or accomodating. During the time we were there only 4 (out of 16) units were rented. We would not return, nor would we reccommend this place to anyone. Perhaps the reason so few units were rented was the lack of return customers. The owner made it easy to want to leave the Keys, which is the opposite of other places we've stayed in the area. For the amount of money we spent, I would have expected more, like a comfortable environment to vacation at.
Although other reviews say the staff was friendly, perhaps they traveled when the female owner was not there since the male half of the ownership was better.
My suggestion is not to chance it and stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the water will be quieter. Rooms that face the road (US1) get a lot of road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

The whole time this group was here they never indicated to me they were unhappy as I spoke to the lady that make the reservations often. And as far as being in a hurry to leave the Keys, they asked for a late check out and I graciously extended to them an extra hour as my cleaning person needed to get his work done in time to catch a bus back to Marathon. At noon no one in this group had begun to pack up so I had to please ask them to pack up so we could start cleaning the cottage. After finally packing up and vacating the cottage, they stayed until at least 2 pm having lunch, swimming in the pool and fishing. This is 3 hours after check out and they certainly were in no hurry to leave and I had no problem with them using the property even though they were no longer registered guests. That was my "horrible service".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

This is what "the Keys are all about". Nothing fancy, just "your basics", but pricing is "not over the top". Great location right on the water, nice pool, and centrally located near the "bigger Keys," where all the stores/restrurants, etc. are.Just 15 minutes in either direction. Many types of rooms to fit your needs. They even have an outdoor grill/picnic tables to grill for a "stay at home night, watching the "BEST" sunset in the "Keys". Right in front of the hotel overlooking the crisp clean waters. Across the road, you can fish on the 3 mile bridge, and walk it "both ways" for a total of 6 miles walking. Very safe, no traffic"...Owners went out of their way to please you , all you have to do is "ask" if you need something.

Room Tip: If you like walking out your doorwall and facing the water, they have rooms that you "walk righ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christineh221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islamelia, Owner at Edgewater Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Thank you! I appreciate your business!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is our third time at this lodge and we will be back again next year. You just can't beat the relaxing atmosphere and friendly owner. If you like simple and clean for a great price then this is your best bet!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The rooms are very clean and the service incredibly friendly. We stayed here for a couple of nights and kept on extending our stay. Everything you need is here,BBQs,pool,a kayak,not to mention the jaw dropping sunsets. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.5 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
17.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
2.7 mi away
BayView Inn Motel and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4,851 reviews
17.1 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
17.7 mi away
Captain Pip's Marina & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Lodge

Address: 65651 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 65.5 Bay side, Long Key, FL
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Long Key
Price Range: $106 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Edgewater Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edgewater Lodge is a small resort just right off of Mile Marker 65.5. This resort is ideal for anyone looking for the perfect spot to go fishing or just to spend a day in the sun relaxing. Grill your catch on our barbecues by the tiki huts or lay back and relax on our hammocks in the shade. We have a private boat ramp and marina that only our guest can use for no additional charge. We also have bait on site. Feeling more adventurous? We also offer complimentary kayaks and paddle boards. Only just a few feet away from the historic Flagler bridge, a few minutes away from Islamorada, and an hour away from Key West, there's something for everyone to enjoy. After a great day of fun in the sun, kicking back and watching the sunset here is a one of a kind experience. Don't miss it! We're also upgrading our property so make sure to swing by and check out the new additions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Long Key
Edgewater Lodge Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing