We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every year it's more rundown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina
Sunrise, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every year it's more rundown”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at Fiesta Key several years over the July 4th holiday. Every year the campground is more run down. This year I decided to rent a cottage (#165) instead of the motel rooms thinking they might be better maintained. This was such a waste of money and I will NEVER do that again. Hot water rarely worked so we took cold showers most of the time, cottage was filled with black mold especially right above the queen bed, I paid extra for the “linen service” (which makes no sense!!) but only received four towels even though the cottage slept 7 and only sheets were provided no blankets, the two air conditioners were barely functional (both were visibly filled with dirt and the clean filter light was lit), floor was full of sand/dirt because no rug was provided to clean your shoes off, the “sleeping loft” was ridiculously hot. There are 6 plastic vent covers on the floor in several places. My 130lb. son stepped one in the middle of the night and his foot went right through it. Luckily he was not hurt. These should be removed immediately before someone is hurt. The marina is also a complete disaster; docks are falling apart to the point of being dangerous and management of the spaces makes no sense, two big boats crammed into little spaces then small boats in big spaces. The sad part of the story is that this place has so much potential if the folks there took better care of the placer. I hope someone will look into this because I would like to come back but right now I probably won’t.

The above was what I wrote in the survey I did for Morgan after my stay from June 30 to July 8, 2013. As for the facilities around the campground, the pool is OK, hot tubs were broken, there is no beach just a ladder into the water off the jetty, public bathrooms are always a mess, game room was a nice place to get out of the rain, camp/marina store closed at 3 or 5 (kinda early if you ask me), $3 for a 10lb bag of ice that is really only 5lb, lots of campsites filled with semi-permanent campers with big speakers, boat ramp is a bit tricky unless it's slack tide (look at Google maps), and no fitness room or room service ;)

Room Tip: Ideal cottages are a waste of money, go for the motel room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    196
    130
    103
    110
See reviews for
412
183
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fruit Cove, Florida
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

You have to understand the Keys to appreciate Fiesta Key Resort. Fiesta Key Resort is not a resort by most people's standards but it is a place where you can enjoy the Keys for what they are. Surrounded by the Gulf with their own marina, swimming, fishing and snorkeling access Fiesta Key provides to their visitors what the Key's are really about. The hotel rooms are run down which is common in the Keys, but are still comfortable with a kitchenette and full size fridge. The staff was alway friendly and accomadating switching us to another room when we were not happy with the air conditioning in our original room. The location of Fiesta Key is great being centrally located in the Keys making day trips in either direction easier. Overall Fiesta Key provided us with what we needed and were looking for this particular vacation and we look forward to maybe staying there again one day.

Room Tip: Good A/C is a must in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

You really have to know and understand what you are getting here before you reserve. If you want a cute cabin, 25 feet from the water....this is your place. If you can ignore there are tons of permanent campers who are down for the weekend (try to stay Monday through Thursday) then this works. Most of all, if you are in to a different than hotel experience this is for you.

A couple of notes: the cabins don't come with linens..and extra 125.00 charge that I was not prepared for...no one told me this ahead of time..I think unfair.
The pool was dirty and yucky...people were eating in it, etc....but for me being this close to the water with kids...priceless.. you won't get this in a hotel.

Room Tip: Sorry there is no fitness center or room service, so disregard above rating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stauggirldrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Long Key hotels

cooper city
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at Fiesta Key many times when it was KOA : clean , polite staff, nice restaurant, great margaritas, great store on site.

Then Morgan bought it out and turned in into total trailer park trash . They constantly push Year long site rentals which means people set up outdoor kitchens , bring down lawn furniture , washing machines etc. At nite the place looks like a movie scene from Mad Maxx but with loud music. Horrific for the traditional serious RVer.

What a travesty . Morgan you should be ashamed . You turned a beautiful piece of property into a pile of crap.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ElroyCooperCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Disgusting and dirty....wouldn't take my worst enemy to this dump.. Overpriced..I agree with a prior reviewer..Motel 6 is like a place compared this this place.. I will say they are trying to improve it but....they have a long long way to go...don't think much about their staff either. Customer service is non existent.. Not in their vocabulary.
If I could give it a minus 10 I would.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Janie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our Asheville Video and Hendersonville Video crews combined forces and rented a RV to haul us and our gear for a quick job in the Keys. A bit pricey, but it turned out to be worth it. We stopped here on impulse on a travel day and got a nice space with a water view. Check in was easy and the assigned space easy to locate. Plenty of water pressure and the power was clean and constant. We didn't have RV's on either side so had lots of space to ourselves. We had a cook out all day long and just hung around enjoying the nice weather and the water. We left the following morning wishing we didn't have to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Channel_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time in this place , and anytime I go I feel like when you go to visit a family member , everybody pretty nice (staff and visitors ) , it is a very delectable experience , Just try it !!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lezcano55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Key
2.0 mi away
Lime Tree Bay Resort
9.4 mi away
Amara Cay Resort
Amara Cay Resort
#6 of 19 in Islamorada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
16.4 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
21.6 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
8.8 mi away
Hawks Cay Resort
Hawks Cay Resort
#1 of 2 in Duck Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina

Property: Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina
Address: 70001 Overseas Highway, Long Key, FL 33001
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Long Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Long Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the natural beauty of Long Key, Florida, with our RV resort, tent camping, motel and deluxe cottages. You can spend as much time as you'd like on our scenic resort property, and with full amenities, rentals, and vacation activities, you'll never run out of things to do. Whether you're a family traveling with children or a couple looking for a romantic getaway, join us at the Fiesta Key RV Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiesta Key RV Resort & Marina Long Key, FL - Florida Keys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing