We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Lantern

Brown Lantern
Ranked #6 of 49 Restaurants in Live Oak
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still one of our favorites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Brown Lantern keeps us coming back time after time. Two of our favorites are the Wings and the Shrimp Po' Boy. If you are looking for wings that are not the run of the mill, get them here. They are fried to perfection in a manner that I have never seen before and then smothered with your favorite temperature of sauce. The Shrimp Po' Boy is overrun with shrimp with a very tasty tartar sauce and fries. We always enjoy the food and usually make special trips to the Live Oak just to eat at the Brown Lantern.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jennings, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food was good but over priced air condition unit drippedbon my plate andvthe cashier at the bar sure dosent mind talking about her insane busy sex life. Her remarks alone ruined our date night

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank marinedadof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Live Oak, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One place the while family agrees on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

When our kids are out of school, this is the 1st place they request for lunch out. Funny since most kids request fast food chains. It's because they know how good the food is at the Lantern. Raleigh has done such a great job with only putting the best of the best on the menu. Too many favorites to suggest just one dish so go back often & try them all.

Helpful?
Thank DebMcCallFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We ate here while visiting family. I had the Fish sandwich which is kind of a misnomer. The sandwich it's self is huge and comes with fries and slaw and is more than most places give you for a meal. My husband got the fish dinner and couldn't eat it all and that's saying a lot. Everything was freshly made and delicious. The whole family (8 of us) greatly enjoyed our dinner.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laurel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake city
Level Contributor
86 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very good and reliable for consistent food. Prices are fair and the amount of food is the same. Need to go back, its been a while

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Lantern also viewed

 

Been to Brown Lantern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing