We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad News”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the worst $90 room that my wife and I have ever stayed. Being retired we travel a lot. No frig or micro wave.
This was an average room at best! Bathroom clean but very old. Slow internet, light on desk flickers on and off. Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ned e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good Morning!!! We apologize for your experience. We took notice that our hotel is thirteen years old and a bit outdated. We started our renovations in early December, we are currently in the area of the lobby including the fitness center and breakfast room. We have not began doing in-rooms yet. We hope to be fully renovated by March 2014. We welcome you to please come stay with us again, and we are hopeful you will have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 148 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was in the area recently for a festival. The location of the hotel was great. We received excellent customer service from the counter staff as well as the kitchen staff. The breakfast was great and consisted of a big variety. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mckinneyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

There aren't many nice places between Tallahassee and Jacksonville on I-10. But you can almost count on a Holiday Inn to be a good choice. Prices are usually higher and this one was higher than the two other exterior hallway motels close by. When we got there, the clerk could be heard chatting in the back. I called out but no answer. I used the house phone and she came out. She was very friendly and luckily, very sincere about not hearing me as opposed to making me feel like I was bothering her. She even helped us figure our where to go for dinner. We had reserved a king room and she said,they weren't ready yet. It was 4:00 in the afternoon, but she upgraded us to a king suite. Good and bad news. The room was very large. Had mini fridge and micro. But...here's the rub. Apparently at one time, you could smoke in this hotel. And we could still smell that lingering stale stench of smoke. I feel a hotel that becomes a no smoking hotel, should at least replace or thoroughly have the carpets and furniture cleaned. Other than that....and that is big, it would have been a great stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that was never a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaH343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Linda H,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words intended for the staff. However, I sincerely apologize for the experience you had with the smell of the suite. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn in Live Oak, FL has been a destination for me twice and I have been well served both times. The rooms are spacious and the very clean. The staff was friendly and the location is pristine for any Live Oak activities.

The only qualms I have would have to be the breakfast. I just think the the amount of business that this hotel is doing (nearly always full) that their breakfast would be more satisfactory. Cereal, donuts, wet eggs, and a pancake maker that doesn't exactly work right. If everyone is paying over $100 a night, then it showed some more for the guests.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drias_Depth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Very nice stay. Great mattresses. Very quite. Only stayed one night on way to another area of Florida. Got off I 95. Easy parking. Close to eating places and everything in the area. I have nothing else to add as we only spent sleeping hours there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just loved this place. The rooms were immaculate and so much fun to be in. We had a great view of the pool. The staff were very friendly and he food was really a great spread. We loved it and most likely will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleStorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived late (around midnight) and I was pleased that they had seen my request for a ground floor room and still had it that late. Staff was helpful. A bit disappointed that they ran out of the HIE signature cinnamon rolls the day before so none of them were available at breakfast.

Business Center printer needed some work but the front desk printed what we needed there.

It's the only national chain hotel in Live Oak so if you like to stick with a known entity that's about your only choice.

My nephew moved there recently so if we visit him again, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Live Oak
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#9 of 24 in Lake City
175 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
605 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
19.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Live Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Address: 6694 US Highway 129, Live Oak, FL 32060-8456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Live Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Price Range: $117 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Live Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to Live Oak, a region of natural beauty offering recreational opportunities to meet any visitor's interest. From outdoor activities to the history, charm and hospitality of an old Southern community, Suwannee County has much to offer visitors to this part of 'The Original Florida'. The Suwannee River, surrounds the county on three sides, you are never more than a few minutes away from a relaxing canoe ride or a dip in the springs. For the more adventurous, our underwater caves, including some of the longest continues systems in the world, provide spectacular cave diving experiences. The rivers are excellent for fishing with numerous varieties of game fish. With abundance of community activities visitors are invited to experience our Southern hospitality's during the many festivals and events held each year including Live Oak's Christmas and Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park's music festivals. The Holiday Inn Express invites you to start your morning with our deluxe hot breakfast. If exercise is a part of your daily routine work up a sweat in our on-site fitness facility or cool off in our large outdoor pool, then relax in our outdoor heated whirlpool. When planning your next small meeting, contact us to help meet your needs in making your function a very special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Live Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Hotel Live Oak
Holiday Inn Live Oak
Live Oak Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing