We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at the last minute”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
571 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice stay at the last minute”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We arrived late (around midnight) and I was pleased that they had seen my request for a ground floor room and still had it that late. Staff was helpful. A bit disappointed that they ran out of the HIE signature cinnamon rolls the day before so none of them were available at breakfast.

Business Center printer needed some work but the front desk printed what we needed there.

It's the only national chain hotel in Live Oak so if you like to stick with a known entity that's about your only choice.

My nephew moved there recently so if we visit him again, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    27
    10
    13
See reviews for
44
36
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Consistently good with nice staff and good breakfast. Reserve
Can be pricey on festival weekends but worth the bucks. Reserve early for festival weekends--always fills up, including performing bands as guests.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teak51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hello. The rooms were clean but had that stale musty smell that seems so common in many hotels. The Internet was the slowest I have ever seen in an Hotel and the slowest I have probably seen in over 20 years. This wasn't due to high usage as the speed was the same at 0530AM as it was at 0530PM. Web pages would take over a minute to load. If your business requires good internet access this isn't the hotel for you. The following is a matter of opinion. The mattresses were new but were too firm for myself and my wife making for unsound sleep. If you like a firm mattress these would do you fine but if you are used to sleeping on a pillowtop or soft mattress you will probably find these uncomfortable. No Restaurant around

Room Tip: Continue to Lake City for better selection of Hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Vernon B,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is good to know you like our clean rooms. Kindly accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience caused by the poor internet service received as well as room accommodations and unusual smell encountered. Please be assured that we treat this matter seriously and actions will be taken by the management accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel looks nice from the outside, but step inside and get ready to hold your nose. The door to the lobby has paper signs taped to glass saying excuse our mess. We are renovating. Should have been our first clue. Now I know why at 5 am, when we checked out, we only counted 6 cars in the parking lot.

They advertise a business center yet when asked at the front desk, they claimed to know nothing about it. Our room was upstairs. The smell from the lobby and the hallway to our room had an overpowering smell of air freshener or some other odor cover up.

Our room had problems. The lamps and the alarm clock radio was not plugged in by our bed. We tried to plug them in and discovered the electrical sockets were loose. It was so bad that we closed the door one time and the alarm clock plug fell out of the socket.

We attached pictures here showing the electrical socket above the desk was missing the safety wall cover. We found it on the floor. Also another picture shows the tile falling off in the bathroom.

Would we recommend this room to anyone. Not even to ones we do not like. Maybe they should close their doors until they finish renovations? But then again, counting only 5 cars in the parking lot at 5 am, tells us many know to avoid this place for now.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear RedTraveler23,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I sincerely apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced because of the ongoing renovations since we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Just off I-10 and a handy 200 mile drive from Orlando Airport where we were headed after a night at this location, Shannon on the desk was very nice and upgraded us to a executive room due to my PC club membership which was very nice, the hotel itself was having some decoration going on, not before time as its looking a little worn around the edges. Our room 321 had a couple of issues in the bathroom with the front of the vanity unit loose at one end and the light over the unit begining to flicker. I also found it strange that there was no light in the mini kitchen area at all it could certainly do with one. As for locaton its just off I-10 and is surrounded by burger joints, we chose to drive the 3 miles into Live Oak to find somewhere for diner, there's plenty of choice. For the forgotten items just down the road is a Walmart with all that has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinity
Level Contributor
254 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the HIE in Live Oak this past Saturday due to the proximity of a race I was running. I am a platinum member and must say this hotel was disappointing. First I asked for late check out and was told no. When I commented that I have never been told no before, she reluctantly granted an extra hour.

The room looked worn upon entry and it really turned me off when I walked into the bathroom and found long black hairs everywhere. The entire room had that unclean feeling which I have not experienced at an HIE in years.

Breakfast did open at 6 AM on Sunday which was great for those of us competing in the race. The food options were OK, but my family said the eggs were awful. Overall, I would say that for $100 I did expect more. This hotel should be in the $80-90 range for what it is.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Live Oak, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Ryan K,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Orlando. It right off the interstate & about 3 hours to Orlando. The hotel was very clean & the staff was friendly. Decent sized rooms. No complaints. Perfectly fine for what we needed for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Live Oak
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
19.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
566 reviews
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
19.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Live Oak
Quality Inn Live Oak
#2 of 4 in Live Oak
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Live Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Property: Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Address: 6694 US Highway 129, Live Oak, FL 32060-8456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Live Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Live Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to Live Oak, a region of natural beauty offering recreational opportunities to meet any visitor's interest. From outdoor activities to the history, charm and hospitality of an old Southern community, Suwannee County has much to offer visitors to this part of 'The Original Florida'. The Suwannee River, surrounds the county on three sides, you are never more than a few minutes away from a relaxing canoe ride or a dip in the springs. For the more adventurous, our underwater caves, including some of the longest continues systems in the world, provide spectacular cave diving experiences. The rivers are excellent for fishing with numerous varieties of game fish. With abundance of community activities visitors are invited to experience our Southern hospitality's during the many festivals and events held each year including Live Oak's Christmas and Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park's music festivals. The Holiday Inn Express invites you to start your morning with our deluxe hot breakfast. If exercise is a part of your daily routine work up a sweat in our on-site fitness facility or cool off in our large outdoor pool, then relax in our outdoor heated whirlpool. When planning your next small meeting, contact us to help meet your needs in making your function a very special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Live Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Hotel Live Oak
Holiday Inn Live Oak
Live Oak Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing