We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little problem with odor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Nice facility, helpful staff, great breakfast. They have an odor problem with mold or mildew smell. Was rainy and you get used to the smell but something needs to be done.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcbeachguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

This was not my first stay at this hotel. It was late and I could not get a room in Lake City. Upon entering, the musty, old motel room smell permeated the room. I suspect it was the A/C unit. As it was 11pm, and I've been in that situation before I let it go.
The room is in need of a major remodeling. Old. The bed was comfortable. The room and bath were clean as I would expect an IHG brand.
The Breakfast was very good, and breakfast room was well stocked and clean. The associates that I encountered were very helpful and pleasant.
When I discussed the smell with the associates the next morning, I was told it was probably because of the rain, or that this happens in Florida, or the A/C needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neptunenavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Woke up with bed bugs in my bed!! The staff wasn't even concerned so I'm sure they have had this problem a lot. I checked out immediately and had to get rid of my belongings so I wouldn't take any back home with me. This is a nasty place!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We booked a room for this Holiday Inn Express through Expedia for Mid April 2011 in early January of this year. About two weeks ago we received a call from Expedia telling us that we had been bumped from our room and there were no rooms available. We booked well in advance because we are attending the Wanee music festival nearby and knew that the hotel would sell out. The day we booked it showed rooms available on their website as well as Expedia and Travelocity. Since I have an account set up with Expedia I chose to book through them. The hotel claimed that they did not shut down their booking system with Expedia after all the rooms had been booked and this was the reason for the overbooking. We found out through forums and someone who works at the hotel that they had booted rooms booked through other online agencies and had resold the room for a higher rate directly. I contacted both the parent company and the hotel manager to complain. The parent company told me that the location was a franchise and to deal directly with them. The manger never bothered to get back to me after leaving messages with the on staff employee and sending Email.
If we had known we would be screwed out of our room back when we booked we could have booked at one of the other nearby hotels that still had vacancy at the time but now our nearest alternative is 30 minutes away from the music venue instead of 5 minutes!!
All I can say to the hotel owner/manager is.....Karma is a b**ch!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fafafouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

My mom, my 7 month old son and I stayed here while visiting family in Live Oak. The room was very clean and roomy with a nice decor! The beds were comfortable and the sheets were soft! There were also 4 pillows on each queen sized bed labeled "soft" or "firm".

The bathroom was huge and the towels weren't the usual thin and "crunchy" ones that you usually find at your run-of-the-mill hotel. They weren't half bad!

You also get free internet and a decent selection for breakfast. Top that off being right off of I-10 and this is definitely the place to stay in Live Oak!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CSpillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We were just passing through to Myrtle Beach and this place made it affordable, convenient and fun. The staff was helpful and friendly. The room was perfect, super big, beds comfortable. Pool and hot tub were clean. I can't say enough about this great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mom2many19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights several months ago. The hotel was nice. Breakfast was included and it was pretty good. The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. We had many other family members stay here at the same time and everyone was pleased with their room and their stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Augustatravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Live Oak
19.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lake City
19.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Lake City
19.6 mi away
Quality Inn of Lake City
Quality Inn of Lake City
#9 of 24 in Lake City
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake City
19.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake City
Comfort Suites Lake City
#2 of 24 in Lake City
598 reviews
19.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lake City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Live Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Live Oak

Address: 6694 US Highway 129, Live Oak, FL 32060-8456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Live Oak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Live Oak
Price Range: $125 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Live Oak 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a Virtual Tour of the hotel.Welcome to Live Oak, a region of natural beauty offering recreational opportunities to meet any visitor's interest. From outdoor activities to the history, charm and hospitality of an old Southern community, Suwannee County has much to offer visitors to this part of 'The Original Florida'. The Suwannee River, surrounds the county on three sides, you are never more than a few minutes away from a relaxing canoe ride or a dip in the springs. For the more adventurous, our underwater caves, including some of the longest continues systems in the world, provide spectacular cave diving experiences. The rivers are excellent for fishing with numerous varieties of game fish. With abundance of community activities visitors are invited to experience our Southern hospitality's during the many festivals and events held each year including Live Oak's Christmas and Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park's music festivals. The Holiday Inn Express invites you to start your morning with our deluxe hot breakfast. If exercise is a part of your daily routine work up a sweat in our on-site fitness facility or cool off in our large outdoor pool, then relax in our outdoor heated whirlpool. When planning your next small meeting, contact us to help meet your needs in making your function a very special event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Live Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Live Oak Hotel Live Oak
Holiday Inn Live Oak
Live Oak Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing