We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ghyll Foot Cottage

Front of Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Cottage
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Front of Cottage
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bathroom
Double Bedroom
Garden
Garden
View from Ainstable Church with snow-topped Blencathra in the background
View from Ainstable Church
River Eden at Lacy's Caves
Alston
Carlisle Castle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ainstable, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Pete C
1 review
“a beautiful cottage”
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage was truly beautiful and the area of Ainstable lovely. The cottage was very well equipped with everything that was needed, home from home really, even afresh pint of milk left in the fridge. It was in easy range of towns, and nearby places to visit, etc. Ullswater, and the Aira Force waterfalls, breath taking, and fantastic scenery, and of course a lot more. Back to the cottage, highly recommend to anyone, and yes, we will most certainly be coming back here, great cottage, great value. many thanks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. Glad that you had a fantastic stay and that the cottage had everything you needed. Also pleased that you found the cottage well situated for exploring the lovely scenery in the area. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katep74
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet and cosy cottage set in a quaint rural village”
Reviewed February 21, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Lovely cottage very cosy with log fire. Stylishly furnished quiet location. Armathwaite is only a 5 minute drive where there are 2 nice pubs to grab lunch or dinner if you didn't want to cook. Would highly recommend to any couples wanting a romantic getaway

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 23, 2017
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and the cosy log fire . We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iansname
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect central location for Lakes/borders and Pennines”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Frequent visitor to Ghyll foot Cottage - always find new and interesting places to explore.This year visited Carlisle castle,Keswick,Hadrians wall,Killhope mine and the seaside at Maryport along with walking some Lakeland fells.As ever a pleasure to return to Ghyll Foot each evening - all home comforts included.Many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. We are glad to hear that you are still finding new and interesting places to explore in wonderful Cumbria. We hope to welcome you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgetsp...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cottage was immaculate,welcoming and everything that you could wish for”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was easy to find with plenty of local walks. It was well situated to allow easy travelling to Yorkshire as well as the Lake Distric .t(Keswick etc) We enjoyed a fantastic holiday with our dog and could not find any fault with the cottage. We would certainly go back again,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was cosy and welcoming with plenty of room
Liked least: There were no problems so ther was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 27, 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. Glad that you had a fantastic stay and that the cottage had everything you needed. Also pleased that you found the cottage well situated for exploring the area. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P
1 review
“If it was a dessert, it would be Apple Pie & Custard - a truly cosy and comfortable cottage.”
Reviewed October 23, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This wasn't our first and it won't be our last visit to this wonderful cottage in the heart of the beautiful Eden valley. Nestled away in the little village of Ainstable this 2 bedroom cottage gave us warmth and comfort and it was so lovely to come back to after a day out on the fells. The cottage has everything you could need for your stay and the wood burner is a delight on those cold winter evenings. Self catering here was an ease as all the major supermarkets deliver here but that shouldn't distract you from the local well stocked stores which always stock a good range of local produce. There is a plethora of local pubs and restaurants to visit and the visitor book is a good guide and should be used for reference. To have all of this surrounded by truly wonderful countryside and have the Pennines on one side and the Lake District this is a place that we will continue to visit again and again. The owner is very informative and happy to help should you need it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort of the cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMetcal
1 review
“A cosy and comfortable cottage perfect for visiting both the Eden Valley and the Lake District.”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

A cosy and comfortable cottage ideal for visiting the Eden Valley and the Lake District. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and made use of the owner's recommended pubs for excellent meals. We hope to return again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you found our recommended pubs excellent for meals. We would love to welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneM5898
1 review
“A beautiful Eden Valley Cottage”
Reviewed October 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed here 4 times and it is always our first choice again and again.
The cottage is superb, spotless and everything you could need for a comfortable
Stay is provided.
The location is great with the Lake District, Scotland , hadrians wall and the amazing Yorkshire dales very easy to get to.
The owners have kindly left a comprehensive list of wonderful pubs and restaurants to visit,
Looking forward to our next visit in the spring!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice and peaceful!!!
Liked least: Going home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2016
Thank you for your review of Ghyll Foot Cottage. We agree that our local pubs and restaurants are excellent; great to hear you enjoyed them. Also good to hear you were pleased with the cottage and it's wonderful location in Cumbria. We will love to welcome you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing