We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simnple Keys Marina With Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dolphin Marina & Cottages
Orient, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simnple Keys Marina With Cottages”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here twice. Cottages are not very fancy - at all. In fact, the bathrooms have rickety plumbing fixtures with stains and rust in many places. The furnishings in the living spaces were decent, but the mattress was awful. The fit and finish of the whole place is what I would call "lower Keys neglect chic". That is to say that I wouldn't have expected anything else given the environs. I rated Dolphin Marina and Cottages Very Good because this ISN'T Little Plam Island. And you're paying a very fair price. The marina staff is super friiendly and the rental boats were dynamite. Like I said, manage your expectations -this is not South Beach - it's Little Torch Key. Rent a boat, charter a guide, have a beer or three, shut off your phone (better yet leave it home) and be thankful that places like this still exist. One day it'll be a La Quinta Inn or a McDonalds....PS - Can't say enough about the staff. Al just so nice. Thanks Jenniffer:)

Room Tip: Hibiscus 1 is very big and has a big screnned in second floor porch. NOT FANCY SCHMANY - so manage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FishermanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    20
    15
    11
    12
See reviews for
21
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed @ the Dolphin Mar. !6 - 18,2014. We love the Florida Keys especially Key West. At this time of year it is much too expensive to stay there, so we stay a reasonable drive north and spend our days and evenings in Key West. The Dolphin is definitely NOT a fancy place but it was clean, everything worked air Etc.We did not have any problems. The staff was very friendly and helpful if you needed them.
The beds weren't the greatest and the TV could have been bigger but really, we weren't there to watch TV or lie in bed all day.We stayed in Hibiscus #4 and it was freshly painted and nicely decorated. The bathroom is very small but the living area is large enough to be comfortable in. The kitchen is adequate coffee maker with all the supplies. There is a small fridge and 2 burner hot plate if you want to make your own meals.
Bottom line we would stay there again.
Karyn M. Midland Ontario Canada

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

I had to laugh at Lindy's review. Just another tourist who lives in a bubble. Little Palm Island is exceptional but it is for those type of people who are isolated from real local flare and culture of the land. Dolphin Marina is the real thing. Lodging, marina, boat ramp and hospitality. It comes down to fantasy vs. Reality. I kinda feel sorry for those guests at Little Palm. It's like a jail for the pampered. Yes, it's great but they are also missing out on what the Keys are all about.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank flagirl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First, I want to say this is a normal down to earth establishment for real and down to earth people who want to fish and save a few dollars by staying in an efficiency and cooking their own meals.

To compare this to Little Palm Island resort is ridiculous. There is a $800/night difference, the location is private and most people take the sea plane to get there.

Simply put, if you are a snooty elderly woman from Ft Lauderdale with a purse-dog who goes to the keys for "brunch", then this is not the place for you.

If you are a real person who enjoys a less crowded spot, likes to fish and/or wants a convenient place to rent a boat or launch your own boat, then this is the place for you.

We kayaked the area, did a little fishing and drove down to Key West to take in the sights and sounds of Duval Street. Big Pine and No Name Keys are a short drive, with more REAL people doing real things.

The staff was very helpful and extra towels were available upon request. Our room was clean and the surroundings were quiet. We even slept in a little bit our last morning.

This wasn't my first choice, but I'm glad we stayed here. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank corey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We go to Little Palm every year for its wonderful brunch. This year we decided to stay at a Little Palm property, i.e. Dolphin Marine. It was absolutely the worst place I have every stayed. We stayed in Dolphin #3 I think. The door was broken and needed paint. The tiles were cracked. The bathroom was a joke. The fire alarms were broken. The drapes were stained...you get the picture. Not only did they charge us $269 per night plus 12.5% tax--but charged $35.00 dog deposit (nonrefundable) plus 12.5% tax (for our 2 small dogs) which rounded out to $80 for dogs that were cleaner than the rooms. BTW, don't expect maid service or fresh towels. To add insult to injury, when we checked out, the woman couldn't figure out the bill even with her calculator. She kept coming up with the wrong figure. She even had the nerve to say that although the property is owned by Little Palm Island and the phone is listed to Little Palm Island--this room definitely wasn't Little Palm Island. We should have been warned. I suggest no one ever stay there for that price--you can certainly get nicer digs at other resorts. Shame on you, Little Palm Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Little Torch Key hotels

Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are looking for location and not amenities, this might be the place for you. Little Torch Key and the lower keys is quiet and beautiful. It has good food, fishing, great beaches and no chain hotels. We decided to travel at the last minute so we did not have much choice of cottages.
The folks running the Dolphin are very helpful and friendly especially Jennifer. She was one of the highlights of staying there. The rooms are sort of shabby. Too bad because with a little effort and a few dollars, it could be a nicer place. We stayed in Hibiscus #3 and enjoyed the screened in front porch but the bathroom did not even have a toilet paper holder! Not a big deal but shows you that this is a place for folks not looking for attention to details.
The outside tikki hut lounging area was a bonus since we sat and watched the boats going in and out of the marina. It was a bonus since there is no pool or area to swim. Since the marina is the staging area for those people and goods going out to Little Palm Resort, it was very noisy at times especially in the early morning. All day there are lots of cars with boat trailers going in and out too.
If you are the type of person who gets up early and hits the beach, this would be for you since Bahia Honda State Park is a 10 minute drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in Dophlin #1, it was a nice little 2 rm apt,. It was suppose to sleep 4, but the sofa bed was not fit to sleep on, so my sister slept just on the sofa. I meant the sofa bed matress is terrible & should be replaced. That is about our only complain, execpt they need a larger fridge. The screened in patio was great, the views were good, & the bed was really good. The bathrm was large . All in all the place was nice. The people, who ran it were helpful & nice. The weather took a bad turn for the worst both in the Keys & at home, we had to leave early, to get home & see about our 9 dogs. They refunded the money, for the remaining time we were to stay. Would I stay here again, YES, if it is just my hubby & I

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSnavely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Torch Key
18.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
0.6 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
18.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
11.4 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Marina & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Marina & Cottages

Property: Dolphin Marina & Cottages
Address: 28530 Overseas Hwy, Little Torch Key, FL 33042-5544
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dolphin Marina & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider Dolphin Marina and Cottages your home while fishing, boating or diving in the Florida Keys. You are sure to catch the time of your life at this Lower Keys lodging and fishing venue. Located at mile marker 28.5 On the picturesque Overseas Highway, Dolphin Marina and Cottages is close to Key West, just south of Big Pine Key and is the gateway to the picturesque Little Palm Island and Looe Key National Marine Sanctuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Dolphin Marina & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Marina Hotel Little Torch Key
Dolphin Marina & Cottages Little Torch Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing