We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Parmer's Resort”
Review of Parmer's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parmer's Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2005

Spent 8 nights last March at Parmer's and loved it! The location is only 20-30 minutes from Key West so we could go in for the day but escape all the crazyness at night. Little Torch Key/Summerland Key was close to Bahia Honda beach, snorkel trip operators and terrific fishing off a bridge. Parmer's was a great deal---beautiful grounds with 50 exotic birds that are very well taken care of, nice updated rooms, and a nice breakfast spread that is included in the price!

5  Thank Bosatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 916 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2005

Making our way slowly down to Key West, we stumbled across Palmers Resort. Being a walk-in, and just after the Labor Day holiday weekend, we only had the choice of one room, which called "Mackrel" (if I remember right). The room itself was small, with a queen bed, shower room and TV, but was very clean and the airconditioning worked well! The room was very close to the road and we thought there might be some noise, but being down a dead end road, there wasn't anything to be concerned about. One downside was that there was a connecting door to the next room and there was some noise ingress from their TV late at night, though not enough to keep us awake.

The resort is mainly made up of one and two storey buildings (3 storey above the office) all dotted around very well-tended gardens. Sitting on a lounger on the jetty at the end of the day was very relaxing and a few people seemed to be enjoying soaking up the sun round the pool. Breakfast was a simple affair, with a small selection of fresh fruit, bagels, etc and the coffee was good, but there was no fresh milk, only UHT. During breakfast, we discovered what turned out to be the resort's highlight - a large collection of tropical birds. Not exactly our cup of tea, we prefer to see them out in the wild, but the cages were clean so they seemed well cared for. I would be careful about taking a room close to the office/breakfast area, as this is where the birds are, and during breakfast, they certainly made quite a racket.

As for dining options, the only place in the immediate area is Parrotdise, and our meal was okay (nothing to write home about), and was good value. Other places to eat are all 3-5 miles away.

Would I stay at Palmer Resort again? Yes, for $85 + tax it was good value.

9  Thank m5165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Parmer's only one night on our way to Key West. It was a last minute check-in so the only room left was $89/night and in a building across the street on the second floor. We were actually quite surprised at how cute and clean it was. It had a balcony with a table and chairs overlooking the street. The hotel is on a dead end street so there is not much traffic going by.

Unlike the review below, I quite enjoyed the "noise" of the beautiful birds and had fun in the water aerobics class! The continental breakfast was OK - the fresh fruit was nice. The pool is small, warm, and very clean.

The staff was extremely friendly and we would come back for that reason. Next time we'll book ahead to get one of the bigger rooms on the main property.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank travelmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2005

We stayed at Parmers Resort April 9th, 10th and 11th. The employees were very helpful and friendly, the location perfect, quiet and on the water and the room, clean with a comfortable bed. All this at a good price. This was our second stay here and we would definitely return.

8  Thank sunnfun4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boone, North Carolina
15
Reviewed March 18, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
15
Reviewed March 15, 2005

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Torch Key
18.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
17.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
23.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
796 reviews
24.6 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmer's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmer's Resort

Address: 565 Barry Ave, Little Torch Key, FL 33042-5605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Torch Key
Price Range: $154 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parmer's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come back to the Florida Keys of Yesteryear... Parmer's Resort of Little Torch Key, a collection of rooms, suites and cottages, is spread over five acres on the ocean in the Lower Florida Keys. Escape to a true oasis from today's busy lives, lounge by the pool, nap in a hammock, bring your boat for some of the best fishing in the country. Housekeeping by request only but breakfast is served daily, grills for cooking out, yoga and water aerobics. Your vacation from the real world beckons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Parmer's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmer`s Hotel Little Torch Key
Parmer's Resort Little Torch Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing