We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Florida Keys”
Review of Parmer's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parmer's Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“True Florida Keys”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We have been coming to Parmer's Resort for many years and each time is just as pleasant as the next. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating, from reservations to check out. We stayed in the Tarpon cottage this time, but we have stayed in the Gull, Rose, and Sailfish during our previous stays and enjoyed everyone.
The grounds are tropical and well kept, with a rustic feel to each of the cottages that they manage. The pool is refreshing and clean, with plenty of chaise lounges for sunning. Beautiful woven hammocks for relaxation that catch the tropical breezes are hung throughout the resort. Grills and picnic tables are near each of the cottages for outdoor enjoyment and that fresh 'catch of the day'. The Continental breakfast is a plus with fresh fruit, juice, cereals, muffins, and coffee or tea.
We trailer our 17' boat down each time and they have a ramp and marina that adds to the flavor of this wonderful resort. This place is near Looe Key for snorkeling/SCUBA and offshore/backwater fishing. We come for the adventure and the escape to true Florida Keys.
Thanks to the wonderful reservation staff - Ed, Babs, and Mary - and the rooms/grounds staff, we truly enjoyed our stay. We'll see you next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    259
    72
    33
    17
See reviews for
217
429
35
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marco Island, Fl
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Much needed getaway and Parmer's Resort was IT!!! We have stayed here in the past and always enjoyed the property! What a view!!! It was a girl's getaway...with one friend that has never been down the Keys.

We upgraded our accommodations so we could have two bathrooms. Pricey for two days but so worth the extra space and comfort. Our last night there we were offered 25% off to stay longer. Wish that would have been an option...but " back to the grind" as they say. ;)
Loved sitting outside at night with tropical winds and peace and quiet!

Staff is very attentive and a Big Shout out to Barbara in housekeeping...if she was not working so hard...she could have been hanging with us!!!!

See you another time Parmer's Resort. Wish you would send me a 25% come back down offer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieMarcoIsland_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweeny, tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is about 30 miles from Key West. You are out of the crazyness for the night. Our cottage was right by the water. No room service, but you take your soiled towels to the office for fresh ones. I was totally OK with that. I really do not want anyone in my room with my stuff when I am not there. Good prices. No carpet which I liked.

Room Tip: No carpet is a very good thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very clean, very nice location, very peaceful ... it was just a little sterile. It has a great location for visiting local islands and the lower part of the keys, but didn't really feel like a holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Parmer's Resort (P.R). It was our first time the the Florida keys and we picked a resort near Big Pine Key for the proximity to Key west, but without staying in a crowded city like area. PR is a quiet place to stay, at least when we were there. Don't expect any frills in the keys and this place was laid back. You have an outdoors pool on site, fishing cleaning station which I used several times cleaning my freshly caught mangrove snappers!
We stayed in the unit called "Grunt" (all the units are named after fish or flowers), the unit was very clean and equipped with cuisinette that included stove, microwave, sink and full size fridge. There were cabinets with dishes and utensils for your convenience. We did made use of it, cooking up fresh fish that was caught while we were down there.
Around the "resort" you have several chairs and hammock one can use if you wanted to just relax and hang out.
There isn't much to do there, there on the inside of the channel, so it's not very deep. We tried fishing there, but you are better off going to other place along the keys (bridges, Bahia Honda...), also you can't snorkel from this place, not much to see and not really suited for this type of activity even though someone at the resort said that you "could" do it from the resort. Truth is, you "can", but really it's not worth it and if you are skiddish about low viz and seagrass, I would not recommend (I tried it, so save yourself the time ;) Go to the reef with a charter to looe Key!
Continental breakfast is included and basically consisted in fresh fruits: melon, oranges, pineapple, grapefruit. Orange juice and coffee. Variety of little round donuts with different breads, English muffins. Jams and peanut butter. Pretty basic, nothing fancy and it was the same every morning that we stayed there. So it gets repetitive real quick, but it's fine and does the job.
It is a green resort, so don't expect house cleaning or change of towels daily, but you can call on house cleaning if you need at a certain cost and you can always go to the front desk if ever you needed a change of towels. The did supply us with beach towels that was convenient for our outings!
The a/c works well, but was a little loud, but did the job! Didn't affect our sleep that much. There is plenty of parking, you can park right in front of your unit or rooms with a patking pass that also gives you discount to a local pub called Boondocks that is nearby.
In a nutshell: clean place, good stay, would recommend if you are looking into no frill convenient place to stay for your travels.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Grunt" unit which consisted of queen bed with kitchen they call it the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjiFiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here with my 12 yo son. Our room was clean, comfortable and amazing. For a good price we had 2 queen beds, living room, dinette and fully stocked kitchen. Our room was right on the water. It's just a short drive to all that the Keys have to offer. A major supermarket and 2 pharmacies are nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrewdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Every other year, we bring a group of college students down to the Keys to study tropical field biology, and we always book Parmer’s. This was our fifth trip, and it did not disappoint. The owners are friendly and professional. The staff couldn’t be nicer. The place couldn’t be cleaner. The sunrise views couldn’t be more beautiful.

When booking, check out their virtual tours online (wish they had one for EVERY room), and read the room descriptions carefully. We selected Heron for its location next to the water knowing it only contained a mini-fridge and microwave (no oven or range), but we did not realize that this also meant it did not have dishes, glasses, silverware, a blender, a coffeemaker, and a dining table or chairs as did every other room we have enjoyed. We dubbed it the honeymoon suite because it did have a luxurious king bed and flat screen TV. It was an awesome room with incredible lighting and views, but read your room description carefully before selecting. Every room is unique, and, if something like cooking on vacation is important to you, ask when making your reservations. (Please note, we did not see any restaurants within walking distance, but there are quite a few within a short ride, and there is a Winn Dixie just a few minutes up the road—a great place to view Key West eagles and Key Deer!) There is a delicious breakfast spread included in the cost of your room. The fruit is always amazing, but you may find you need to supplement protein—especially if you were one of our college-age boys. Everything about this place seems laid-back and safe. You simply don’t have to stress about whether or not you remembered to lock your room doors when you head to the breakroom. And there was nothing more memorable about our trip than relaxing in the cool Florida breeze on one of our group’s balconies or in the chairs on the docks.

If you are into fishing or marine biology, whether traveling solo, as a couple, or as a family, this place is amazing! The herons, egrets, pelicans, cormorants, and anhingas are ubiquitous. The landscaping is tropical and exotic. I chased iguanas all over the resort, and—right off the resort’s docks—our students collected (and returned, unharmed) octopi, sea stars, upside-down jellyfish, and many other marine inverts too weird and numerous to list. We couldn’t keep the kids out of the water! They really enjoyed snorkeling in front of the resort and in its canals. (The pool was awesome, too!) I recommend you NEVER leave your room without your camera!!!

Although the term “resort” may be pushing it, you won’t regret your decision to stay here. It’s like stepping into an old-world Florida setting with all of the modern amenities. I highly recommend Parmer’s. I know our group will be back soon, and we (personally) may be back well before then!

Room Tip: Check their online virtual tours of the rooms. If something like cooking is important to you, ask w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth_and_Brett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Torch Key
18.1 mi away
Courtyard Marathon Florida Keys
23.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
17.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.5 mi away
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
0.6 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
18.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parmer's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parmer's Resort

Property: Parmer's Resort
Address: 565 Barry Ave, Little Torch Key, FL 33042-5605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Parmer's Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come back to the Florida Keys of Yesteryear... Parmer's Resort of Little Torch Key, a collection of rooms, suites and cottages, is spread over five acres on the ocean in the Lower Florida Keys. Escape to a true oasis from today's busy lives, lounge by the pool, nap in a hammock, bring your boat for some of the best fishing in the country. Housekeeping by request only but breakfast is served daily, grills for cooking out, yoga and water aerobics. Your vacation from the real world beckons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Parmer's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parmer`s Hotel Little Torch Key
Parmer's Resort Little Torch Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing