We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not sure”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

were on the island now and to start,they treat you like a king, service. the room,perfect inevery way! the food way over priced. my wifes dinner and breakfast was very good.my breakfast was also very good.but my dinner was bad and im a retired chef! the pork shanks were all fat and bone,just bad. we got a special rate and for the price we got i .would come back. regular price i would not come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bestfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    86
    51
    35
    22
See reviews for
30
628
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

First I am going to give a general overview and then get into more specifics.
Went to the island with my wife for our 20th anniversary.We were greeted at the airport(Key West) by Chris who works for the resort and he was very friendly and upbeat and promised we would have a vacation experience we would never forget.The car ride to the dock is about 35min.We were dropped off at the dock which has a building to "check in" and has a gift shop. We were anxious to get our vacation started but had to wait there for about an hour until the next boat arrived. Not a terrible wait as everyone was very nice and you were presented with a gumby slumber( I am not a fru'fru drink guy but it was rather tasty) but would have liked to have them time things a little better.
The boat ride is great,(saw some dolphins and jumping tarpins along the way) and short(15min) with calm waters.
The moment you step off the boat you feel like you are in paradise. We were escorted to our room with a brief tour of the island(you only need a brief tour as the island is only about 4 acres). Our room (hut) was well appointed with a nice sitting area, beautiful bed,cast iron tub and a partition separated shower and toilet. Attached to the room was a outdoor shower. Let me tell you that the outdoor shower was awesome and you will not want to use your indoor one during your stay. The room was very quiet and I never heard any noise except for the wildlife and rare golf cart that the staff uses. The bed was fabulous as were the sheets, towels and robes. Some nice touches were the refrigerator filled with cold water,juices, and soda that you were not charged for. Kind of weird though that they had some chocolates and nuts out that you were charged for like a typical mini-bar. The room also had a pair of great binoculars which brings me to my biggest surprise of the trip. I was not ready for such a awesome display of wildlife especially the various bird species that exist on the island. I feel like it was the Galapagos Islands not Little Palm Island. I recommend you bring the binoculars to the beach as it is a joy watch these creatures.(I am not a bird watching enthusiast by the way).
I think I need to comment here about the 400 pound Gorilla in the room...the expense of everything. Everything price wise is just over the top. I am lucky and can afford the nicer things without worrying about feeding the family but the prices are just prohibitive. For instance they offer some in room services to heighten romance such as sprinkling flower petals over the bed,drawing the bath and providing champagne for about $350.I would not recommend this service as it is a big waste. Believe me it is such a romantic place to begin with that if you need to heighten the experience your better off investing in some viagra.
This also brings me to the spa treatments. I had a swedish massage and my wife had a thai massage.They were both great but not any better than one could find at home. Again,it was hard to justify the price. I would have scheduled more treatments if the price was a little more reasonable. (One has to question there business model).
Now on to the food..Superb. Every dinner,lunch and breakfast meal was sensational.
The portions were more than adequate and the service was very good. The menu changed partially every day with enough options for even a picky eater to chose from.
Unfortunately the wine list was not thought out as well as the food menu. There were few and not very good wines on the lower price point Red wine list. The higher end had some better choices but its hard to justify spending $150-200 on a bottle that cost $30-50 retail.Listen,the food prices were high too $40-65 for the main course but worth it.
You can eat outside on the deck /or beach or inside. Outside is great though very buggy and we chose to eat in the dinning room for most meals...Bring bug spray with you as I was scratching the whole flight home. They offer private tables( I think 2 tables with a private waiter and seclusion for $300 not including the meal). We chose not to do it more because of the bug thing than the money but honestly anywhere you eat has a pretty romantic atmosphere. The island has only 15 huts (Somewhere around that) so there are not to many people roaming around. I found other guests to be friendly but everyone is there for the same thing so most couples kept to themselves and respected others privacy.There are some close knit areas that are more conducive to being social like the pool bar if that is what you are looking for. The beach is small but even with all the lounges filled it was peaceful. There was always staff coming by and bringing us cold water and asking if we needed anything from the bar.There are sea kayaks and motor boats that the guests can use although we did not partake in this.
The staff is very thoughtful and well trained.They do the little things very well without being obtrusive. The gym was disappointing, with some aerobic machines and some dumbbells. There was no bench to sit/lie on and do any exercises. They had the weirdest all in one type of pulley system machine that you needed a PhD to operate and there was no one there to assist with it.Its unfortunate in this day and age and at this type of resort that they wouldn't have given this more thought.
I am sure you have all read about the no TV which is fine and they have a TV in the library if one needs to watch(I had to peek at the world cup games while I was there).
I cant stress enough how beautiful and relaxing the place is. I would make some small changes with some things but all in all we had a wonderful romantic get-away.I am glad we went but really couldn't justify returning as I could probably find similar experiences around the world for better value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Zeppo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland beach, florida
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

I am a type A personaliity and my husband decided to take me to Little Palm Island and they advise you about being considerate of others being on your cell phone etc. and I adhered to their policy and it forced me to relax. The place is amazing and they will do anything they can to satisfy their guests if you just ask. For example, my husband wanted fresh squeezed orange juice and they provided it. We were spending the next night in Key West and I asked for a reservation at a restaurant to be made the man at the conceirge met me personally at the boat dock to advise we were all set. truly amazing the staff will do anything to please their guests. In addition you pay for it but it is well worth it. This place if very romantic and very special for all who want to experience pure relaxation and time alone with their significant other. It does not get better than this resort. I have been to the Four Seasons in Nevis and this resort is much smaller but provides the same quality as that resort. I recommend to all that need a place to just turn it off but also pay a significant price to do it. I believe in quality over quantity and this place is worth it. my facialist jennifer was amazing and very nice to talk with but the entire staff was amazing and just ask and they do all they can to please.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYPEA91264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Well, the staff was very kind and the bed was very comfortable and the place has massive potential, but it's just not first-class. The resort is just very dated. There are 15 bungalows each with two back-to-back rooms - the walls are paper thin and the first morning we were awoken by our neighbor talking on her cell phone through the wall and in the afternoon we had to turn up the AC to drown them out.

The lovely ceramic tub you see on their website is not the tubs in 95% of the rooms. Of the 30 rooms, only 4 have been updated, due to a fire. The rest are 23 years old with plastic almond colored jacuzzi tubs from the 80s. Need I say more? The bathroom was just terrible. The shower heads spray water all over the floor and have the water pressure of a kinked garden hose. The outdoor showers have the same shower heads.

The lighting is really terrible in the rooms and bathrooms. The furniture is also very dated bamboo stuff from the 80's.

The food is also not world-class at all. They have a $350 meal plan for two people. We did the math and since lunch entrees are between $25 - $40 and dinner entrees are between $40 and $100, we decided to go for it. (The meal plan does not include alcohol) You get an appetizer, entree and dessert for lunch and two appetizers and entree and dessert for dinner. If the food was amazing, it would be a fabulous deal. The quesadillas were so thick with cheese, they looked like tacos and the guacamole had to be canned avocado, and was very bitter. The stone crab claws were good but added a $22 up-charge to your meal plan for 6 of them. The dinner entrees are slathered in too many different kinds of sauces - and I love sauce, but even this, was just too much. Not one meal is simple and elegant. My steak tar tar was mixed with cooked chorizo and was mostly chorizo and there were no capers or traditional sides. It was just a mound of raw meat and 75% chorizo with toast points and little gherkin pickles.

Here's the kicker, my girlfriend and I, (we are a gay couple) both got food poisoning and we were both miserable all night. We have no idea what it was that made us sick.

The hotel is supposed to be no children under 16 but there was a 13 year old boy laying next to us at the beach. We wanted a private adult weekend where we could not make anyone uncomfortable if we felt affectionate. The young boy caused me to move from the beach to the pool.

The beach is not really a beach and there is no place to swim except for the very old swimming pool. The beach is sand next to water but if you walk out, you sink about 8 inches into very stinky mud. There is no place to swim in the ocean unless you walk out onto the end of one of the piers and dive in.

They will turn down your bed and put rose petals in a warm bath with a bottle of generic champagne and chocolate covered strawberries for $350. And they will serve you a private dinner by the beach for an additional $350. Seems $350 is the magic number...

The good things are: very kind staff, very comfortable bed, good sheets, good drinks by the pool, they also have these wild deers that you can feed with your hand. That was really sweet. There are also little nooks with lounge chairs placed in quiet lovely spots where you can sit and read. So, the place is very relaxing and quiet, but it's not worth $1k a night at all. The prices should be about $400 a night max or they need to do a MAJOR upgrade including the pool and beach area.

If you want a private bungalow hotel that's worth the money and not too far to travel, go to the Tides on the Riveria Maya and fly into Cancun.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TheSnootyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The only thing this place lacks is an in room television. The weather called for rain and the Masters was on. I also like to watch movies while on vacation. Otherwise this place is really spectacular. The rooms are big with large tubs and outdoor showers. They have complimentary motor boats to drive around the island! The beach isn't the best, no crashing waves and has rocky sand, but it is beautiful. The food is good. My only complaint is the absence of a tv (personal preference) an that the room had a strong airfreshener odor. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rzanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This place is wonderful, but you have to understand what it is all about. And that is seclusion and service. The motto here is "Do Nothing", and that says it all.

If you need to be entertained, don't come here.

There is little to do but relax. They have kayaks, Hobies and motor boats (gratis) for exploring the mangroves. They have a few excursions, including ecotours, fishing expeditions, and dinner or cocktail sails, which you can book for a fee. But really the idea here is to do nothing. The staff is truly great at helping you do nothing. They are there when you need them, and they are not there when you want to do nothing. So, the day organizes around meals... which are superb... at the one restaurant, the beach, the various hammocks and lounges around the small island, and the pool-bar complex. Bring a book or two.

Little Palm Island ranks well with another, but quite different, do nothing place; Kia Ora Sauvage on the atoll of Rangiroa, French Polynesia. Same concept but very different ways of carrying it out.

Some reviews claim the place is stuffy. Far from it. The staff is very comfortable with the guests, and good-humored banter is easy and appreciated. The guests mostly are older but not necessarily stodgy. Most keep to themselves, although it is not impossible to strike up a conversation with souls of similar interests. And, wonderfully, no kids under 16.

Accommodations are excellent; quiet secluded and well-appointed. The beds are particularly wonderful. And try the outdoor shower. But, in the Do Nothing spirit, there are no phones, televisions or even radios in the rooms. They discourage the use of cell-phones, but I did see guests texting away. They evidently could not buy into the Do Nothing concept and had to be connected. Too bad. There is a wi-fi spot in the library, I think, and they do give you a copy of USA Today every morning, but otherwise you are on your own to figure out how to do nothing for the rest of the day.

All of this comes at a price, and the place is expensive. But you won't get bills at each meal, everything that costs something is added to your tab. My advice: Take out a second mortgage before you go and then don't worry as you are doing nothing. Note that I "Value" as five stars for us, but I can understand why others might think differently.

You can go off-island for excursions or dinners, and we had every intention of doing so. Until we got hooked on the spirit of Do Nothing.

Finally as we left, it occurred to me. This place is not an extravagance. It is a necessity.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Agro84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Just thinking about this place puts a smile on my face. We stayed for 6 day on LPI and at first I don't think we understood the magic of LPI. On the first full day on the island we drove to Miami, Fl to watch a movie and buy my wife somethings (I don't know what we were thinking) . Then the next day we drove to key west and went paras-sailing but lucky I injured my ankle. Then we deiced to stay on the island and boy did we have a great time. The food was excellent, I had a steak every night and each time it was better than the last. They even made me a steak on my drive back from Miami and had it ready in hot at 10:30 at night sitting in my room. The Spa was magnificent, we received Javanese Royal Treatment and I know my snoring from that message had the deer wondering what new animal was on the island.
The place is very special to me and my wife and I cant wait to stay again. Here are some photos from my happy camera wife (lol). http://www.facebook.com/album.php?aid=2201620&id=38302237&l=361dbf65d2

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jwatkins84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Little Torch Key
23.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
18.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
24.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
Glunz Ocean Beach Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Key Colony Beach
781 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Marathon Florida Keys
18.3 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort

Property: Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Address: 28500 Overseas Highway, Little Torch Key, FL 33042-5544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Little Torch Key
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Little Torch Key
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Palm Island has been the escape of choice for presidents, high profile celebrities and savvy travelers alike. The magic of this island is its exclusive location where a captivating view exists in every direction. All Bungalow Suite are housed in thatched roof bungalows, with custom-made beds so plush some guests never want to leave; outdoor showers and all the requisite luxe amenities. There are no telephones or televisions, or guests under the age of 16 - the only distractions are the outdoors and each other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Palm Island Hotel Little Torch Key
Little Palm Island Resort And Spa
Little Palm Island Fl
Hotel Little Palm Island
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort Little Torch Key, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing