We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can feel the history”
Review of Cap's Place

Cap's Place
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“You can feel the history”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hadn't been to Caps's for about 25 years, and still as I remember it. Wanted a place to take out of town guests to experience old Florida and wonderful seafood. Starting with the boat ride over and a brief "island" history get ready to eat some fresh and delicious seafood. Don't expect an elegant place, it is rustic and exactly what it should be. There were 4 of us for dinner. Starting with the crab cakes as recommended by our very knowlegable and pleasant waiter, and escargot...very good, but the crab cakes were such a hit we ordered another plate! We all ordered something different. I started with fresh hearts of palm salad and if you have only ever had palm from a can, you must order these to esperience what fresh hearts of palm tastes like, just wonderful. I also ordered the special Yellow Tail Snapper, which was very fresh and cooked perfectly, for your side I would suggest the chive mashed potatoes...yum! One of our guests ordered the 1.5lb stuffed main lobster, she hasn't stopped talking about it.
All and all a great meal and a fun way to spend a beautiful Florida evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeenAr0undTheW0rld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    76
    52
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
indianapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun adventurous dining”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The boat from the marina added the right spice to the evening The captain shared tales from prohibition days!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fallcreekrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“AN AMAZING EXPERIENCE.... GO!!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I dine out constantly; there is a place for 5 stars and dives but both should be graded differently. Don’t hold it against an amazing dive that they are not serving a foie gras amuse bouche. Get my point, sometimes a place has to be rated on its own chart and that’s the deal-e-o with Cap’s Place Island Restaurant, a not to be missed dandy experience.

Park your car and take a two minute boat ride across a finger off the Broward County Intercostal Waterway into a different world. Cap’s Place is old, very old, over 80 years old and it looks it. A wooden shack of a building with a dirt path nestled under thick old natural Florida pines and cypress with happy well-fed cats wandering around the property. You might think you had taken a Disney ride but this is the real deal and once you are inside, everything might be very old and rustic (down to the old light-up server number paging board) but its spit polished clean.

As for the food, it is great. It will not be the absolute best gourmet meal you will ever have and it will not be the cheapest meal you ever have but I do not think there is a chance you will be let down. Everything is extremely fresh, lovingly prepared and cleanly presented. You can expect a tasty hearty fairly no frills delicious meal. Seafood and steak basics fill the menu along with a large amount of daily specials. The service is personable and warm.

There is no amazing view of the sunset but it is a wonderful experience to show up late in the day to enjoy the last stretches of evening light where you can really take it all in and leave full and satisfied in the night sky where it feels like you are in a far, far distant time and place than a mile or so off busy US1.

Go for the experience and be pleasantly surprised by how good the food is!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrDVMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Fl.
Level Contributor
111 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“You CAN go home again”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We hadn't been to Cap's Place for at least 20 years, and we were delighted with what we found. The experience starts with a few minutes' free boat ride to the island where Cap's has been serving up great fresh fish and terrific service since 1928. The place is casual and comfy, and you come for both the history and the food. Don't miss the fabulous hearts of palm salad--a Cap's specialty. Just about any fish is well prepared and delicious, and they'll cook it any way you want it. The key lime pie is also worth breaking the diet for. Altogether, a wonderful night out. Save some time to look at the newspaper clippings from Cap's days as a rumrunning spot and to ogle some of the famous who have dined there, including none other than Winston Churchill. Our waitress, Moira, was first rate.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margovince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very overrated”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This place came highly recommended.
Lets start:
Very pricey $$$$$
My wife and i had the shrimp stuffed lobster $48.00. Over cooked and tough, the stuffing had maybe two shrimp at best and the rest Ritz crackers. My wife sent hers back which I should have done As well.
We went without reservations so we were not allowed to sit in the dining room with the other patrons, instead we were seated In a booth accoss from the enterance near the hostess stand. We felt like school kids who were being punished for breaking the rules.
The service was fine but even our server seemed put out by where we were seated.
Then came the scolding from the hostess. Another couple arrived late for their reservation (because they got lost trying to find this out of the way establishment) the hostess told them that because they were late they had to go and wate in the bar until a new table could be set up. Did I mention that there were two additional dining rooms that were empty.
Aside from a rich history and unique setting this restaurant offers nothing worth a second visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirktcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cap's Place also viewed

Lighthouse Point, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Pompano Beach, Broward County
Pompano Beach, Broward County
 

Been to Cap's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing