We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great food, great service, and consistent!”

Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill
Ranked #1 of 131 Restaurants in Leesburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leesburg, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always great food, great service, and consistent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

You always know you will get friendly service and great food. The menu is varied....with my favorite being the baby back ribs! This is a locally owned restaurant. We started eating with them when they were a tiny little restaurant in a small shopping center and now, because of their great service, great management, and great food, they have grown to several easy locations all over Lake County. You will not be disappointed! I promise!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    91
    24
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food-Fair Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Ribs-Salads-Sandwiches. Everything is fresh and reasonably priced, with great fast service. Three locations near Leesburg to serve tou.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RLC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Second Visit, Second Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

You first notice the tiny tables and an interior that looks a bit dirty. So, as you are being seated you begin to wonder how this meal is going to turn out. Before I go on, the service was wonderful - pleasant, helpful, speedy and attentive. But, oh, the food. The lousy, dry, tasteless food. The menu is as expected from a middle of the road self-proclaimed BBQ house and the prices indicate you should expect a treat. As they say in New York - forget about it. I believe most restaurants deserve a second chance - which we gave Oakwood. What we got was a confirmation that this place is to be avoided.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tmm32776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lousy, won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

*This* is the best restaurant in Leesburg? If so, I feel sorry for the locals.

This is a small chain of BBQ places. The atmosphere is basically like Ponderosa Steakhouse (that's not a compliment). The place was a mess. At one point as we were being shown (well, to be accurate, pointed) to our table there was a strong smell of nasty cleaner/disinfectant. We had to dodge a large quantity of ice that was all over the floor in front of the ice dispenser.

The food was nondescript to lousy. The BBQ was not offensive but not good.

The help was not attentive and not helpful. The "check" we were brought was the yellow copy of the kitchen ticket, mostly illegible, and with no total shown.

I mean, really. Any of the large chain BBQ places (Cody's, Texas Roadhouse, etc) blows this place out of the water. Even Sonny's (blech) is better. And of course none of these compare to a real BBQ place.

Overall, pathetic. Either we were here on their absolute worst day EVER, or the other reviewers are crazy. I hate to be so harsh, but there it is.

Oh, and the address shown here is wrong by several miles. It's not at 951 N 14th St., it's at 27745 Hwy 27, which is well to the south. I can't believe I actually backtracked to go to this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gannet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“BEST barbeque we've had in a long time!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Was traveling through Leesburg, Fl & we decided to stop @ Oakwood for dinner.... We were SO GLAD that we did :) the atmosphere was clean, friendly & most of all the FOOD was awesome! We started with the yummy fried pickles, don't judge until you try lol... Our family members had the ribs, pulled chicken, and sliced turkey. All of the meat was spectacular ~ moist & plentiful, we had to take home boxes of all of it. The tea was fresh and your glass never went empty. The prices were great & we will be back. I wish they had an Oakwood in Jacksonville, FL!!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phototraveling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill also viewed

Leesburg, Lake County
 
Leesburg, Lake County
Leesburg, Lake County
 

Been to Oakwood Smokehouse & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing