We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Mexican Food”
Review of El Ranchito

El Ranchito
Ranked #85 of 131 Restaurants in Leesburg
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Leesburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Mexican Food”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I love this restaurant, it's like a hidden gem. It's never crowded, the food is reasonable and the atmosphere is authentic Mexican. I think everyone in the restaurant are related, and it's a good place to brush up on your Spanish. Our family eats there at least once a month.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SunnyFlorida23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I grew up in Texas and have eaten at more than my share of Mexican food restaurants. El Ranchito is in an unassuming building with a parking lot that probably needs a little bit of work but we keep going back so it must be worth it. The wife and I always get the queso dip, it a white queso and not too spicy which my wife prefers. Their chips and salsa are great, I always have to watch myself when we go so as to avoid getting full before I even order. I've had their burritos, enchiladas and chile rellenos and they are all good. The only part I didn't expect is they were all stuffed with the same exact ground beef mixture, I would have preferred a variety. The fajitas are also good, we've had the beef, chicken and shrimp. Their rice and beans are good, I know you might be thinking how can you mess up rice and beans but some Mexican restaurants do. The guacamole is outstanding, I could probably sit and eat chips, salsa, queso and guacamole for my entire meal. Service is good, not 5 star, not fine dining, this is a working mans Mexican food restaurant and the price and value are well worth it...we will keep going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruitland Park, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in Leesburg”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Quick service, awesome sangria and margaritas! Love love the fajitas and the spicy burrito rocks!! We go at least twice a month!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Soapster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“"The real deal" Mexican food!”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The Wife and I first found El Ranchito's quite by accident. Another local restaurant was closed, and we just happened to take a short cut through their parking lot! And are we glad we did. The have a fantastic lunch menu, Fajita's, Taco's, Burrito's, Chalupah's, Huevos Rancheros, Quesadilla's, Taco Salad, Enchilada's, Chimichanga's, alone, or in various combos from $5.25 to $12.25 with most in the 7-8 dollar range. They have a vast dinner menu including shrimp dishes (3 Tacos for $5.25.......Shrimp Fajita's for two, $21.75 and six other shrimp dishes. They have a full bar, endless fountain drinks and great Nacho chips with salsa served free as a starter. Service is fast and food arrives hot hot hot, and as Spicy as you wish!! Not fancy schmantzy, but the food is to "Die For!!" So who cares!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Food is fresh & delicious, family run & very reasonable

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank June V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ranchito also viewed

 
Leesburg, Lake County
 

Been to El Ranchito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing