We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest employees!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendliest employees!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was a spur-of-the-moment stay for us, as we needed to visit the area for a funeral. The hotel was packed, and although we couldn’t make an online reservation, we were able to reserve our room by calling the hotel directly. Catherine, who answered the phone, was very friendly and helpful. Although we had questions and uncertainties about our plans, she treated us with kindness and patience as we weighed our options and ultimately made our reservation. The only room available was a king whirlpool room, which cost quite a bit more than we would have liked to pay, but given the last-minute nature of our trip and the lack of any other hotels in the area that appealed to us, we took the room.

When we checked in, the man at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. I must say, the employees at this hotel are some of the friendliest, nicest folks I have ever encountered!

The hotel has interior hallways and a beautiful lobby. In addition to the breakfast area, there is a children’s area with cute kid-sized furniture. There is also a bookshelf where guests can take or leave books.

Our room was large and clean, and the furnishings were modern. One thing I really liked was that the bathroom sink had good lighting. The carpet was not all flat, but instead was of a raised texture that was soft and comfortable. The sink and tub provided instant hot water with no delay. One thing we learned (by mistake) is that there is a master switch near the door that controls some (or all) of the other switches in the room. Keep this in mind if you try to turn on the bathroom lights and nothing happens!

Breakfast consisted of cold cereals, oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage patties and links, grits, assorted pastries, juices, coffee, yogurt, canned peaches, and fresh cantaloupe slices. I am pretty picky about scrambled eggs, but both the scrambled eggs and the grits were really good.

Our room faced the front of the hotel, and there is a restaurant/bar just across the parking lot. The one disappointing element of our stay was the loud, booming music from this establishment, which we could hear in our room in the evening, until it stopped at about 10 p.m. If I ever stay here again, I will request a room along the back of the hotel.

The entrance to the parking lot is near an intersection, making it somewhat tricky to turn in and out sometimes. However, there is a side entrance through a white fence on the south end of the parking lot, which we found very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melodie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    93
    32
    12
    13
See reviews for
122
106
33
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riviera Beach, Florida, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

puppy friendly (no extra charge), clean place, helpful staff, esp the breakfast attendant. McD's and Dunkin' close by. Stayed here for the classic boat show in Tavares. Saw a flock of white pelicans on the lake and a bald eagle flew low overhead. Didn't buy a boat but wanted to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked a room, at the last minute, to attend an event in Mount Dora (20 minute drive). I think we got the last available room - handicapped, with "walk in" shower. That didn't matter - we were happy to get it. When we checked in, the clerk made a point of letting us know about the shower; I assured him that I was aware of it and that it was okay. This particular room was on the 1st floor, at the end of the hall; perfect, since we were able to park right outside the door. The room was very nice, spacious and very attractive. There was a microwave, as well as a small refirgerator. And the bathroom - it was large and very nice. (the walk in shower was great; even had a small bench seat. no problem with that) The breakfast was very good. (nice selection and the attendant kept it will stocked) The free wi-fi worked well - no complaints.
The other plus, is the Best Western's proximity to a restaurant called Ramshackles. (in front of the hotel) This is a great "locals" place - good food, at reasonable prices.
We'll stay here, anytime we're in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racefan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Grove, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found this a great place to stay for 3 days while visiting friends at The Villages. King Suite was roomy and we took advantage of the pool and whirlpool. Sonny was extremely helpful getting us a room on a "filled up" Saturday night after a cancellation. Good breakfast to start the day! Will stay here again next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bolyard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel is still fairly new, 3-4 years old, so it is still easier for the staff to keep clean when compaired to something that is much older. Time will tell if it can stay that way. (We stayed here for one night 3 years ago just to check it out, so that if we ever returned to the area, we'd know what to expect.) Unfortunately older is pretty much what you get in Leesburg. This hotel and the Hampton Inn on hwy. 441 are about as new as it gets here. The big difference is in the price. We used to stay at the Hampton Inn here or the Fairfield Inn in Clermont because they we're so new. But apparently Hilton & Marriott now consider these hotels like staying at the Ritz Carlton in the way they price their rooms. Fortunately the Best Western is here. We we're able to get a rate for 8 days far below the competition, nearly half the price. Let me tell you we've stayed at both of the others and there is no way they are 2 times better than this hotel. The refrigerator, microwave and especially the in-room safe are great extra's. The room was clean and well decorated. We we're able to get a good nights sleep most of the time as we used the a/c fan to help drown out some of the noise at night. But, there really should be a law against letting your door slam shut at midnight or any time after 10. Maybe that also should be something that you agree to when checking in. But that just shows that some people have no respect for the others that are there. Bedding and pillows are a plus, but the internet can be a little slow at times, especially for someone like me that keeps in touch with my business when traveling. We only ate Breakfast there 1 day out of the 8 we we're there. Most mornings we we're up and gone before it opened for our early tee times. It is mostly the standard fare found elsewhere. Nothing really stands out as either very bad or very very good. Traffic can be a trying at times in this area. Look for the hole in the white fence at the south end of the property. It goes to a small alley way that leads to Griffith street and easy access to the stop light on 27. If you chose to stay here, you've made a very good decision like us, if not good luck, you're gonna need it!

Room Tip: Look for the hole in the white fence at the south end of the property for easy in and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticner58Indiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel was a nice surprise for our family. We originally had reservations at another nearby hotel, but it was so dirty and smelly we left. We could have not been more pleased with this hotel. The rooms were large and clean. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2j2l1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just a little overnight trip to get away and it was a nice surprise. Room was large, comfortable and clean. The morning breakfast was great. I loved the bagels...soft and fresh! The woman working the breakfast area that morning was really friendly and doing a heck of job.
We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Second floor seemed safe and quiet to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leesburg
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Leesburg - Tavares
5.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Leesburg/Mt Dora
5.0 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lady Lake/The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lake County Inn & Suites
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tavares
9.8 mi away
Key West Resort on Lake Dora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites
Address: 1321 North 14th Street, Leesburg, FL 34748-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lake County > Leesburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Leesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Chain of Lakes Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing