We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was not happy with the service and have a couple of complaints.
The hotel had an evening wedding and we were told that the pool would be closed at 5.
The kids dived one time in the pool and the owner came outside shouting and screaming at them in a very aggressive and rude way.pretty much everyone that I spoke too that day had the Same concept about the service and the rudeness. I will never rent here again. They are not kids friendly! Pool is not heated.

Room Tip: Book ocean view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 276 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed in Room 205 for Memorial Day weekend (3 days). We were told the hotel was built in 1957. The kitchen had been slightly updated. The worse part, the bathroom, was clean but would accomodate someone no taller than 5'5" - very cramped with low ceiling and low shower head. The paint in the tub was peeling, no exhaust fan and window would not open, and the hairdryer cord had to be looped under/over the pedestal sink then over to the outlet (hazard), bath towels had holes in them. The bed was comfortable, but old. Dark red bedskirt had bleach stains on it. The lamps were chipped, lampshades had holes in them. Dark red walls in the bed area had large white chips in the paint. Make sure when you reserve that there are no weddings planned. We were told upon check-in that the pool, diningroom, and beach would be closed on Saturday at 5:00 pm; however, they began to close down the dining and pool area at noon for prep and decorating, explaining that "events come first." Ask for a room above the second floor due to overgrown palm trees blocking the beach view. Location was within walking distance to restaurants, pier, and shopping which was a good thing since parking was so limited (especially with the wedding guests) we were afraid to move our car in fear of loosing our space. All-in-all you do not get what you pay for. We have photos of each of the complaints.

Room Tip: Refuse Room 205 - very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

This property is located right on the beautiful beach of Lauderdale by the Sea. This hotel only has 47 bedrooms so you don't get lost like in larger properties and it is extremely easy to walk around.
We were there for a short stay so we parked the car and didn't touch it, so parking was not an issue for us. It is nice to have breakfast and Internet included. Staff is friendly. Our bedroom was nice and clean. Pool area is a bit small but the beach is right there. We used the beach.

Room Tip: With lower floors you don't have to deal with the slow elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunseekersMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Sea Lord is a rare gem. My three brothers, my sister and her husband and I spent four glorious days here. We were so overwhelmed by the kindness, attentiveness, and customer service by each and every employee in the hotel. This is really a special place. One of our most memorable moments was a family style meal prepared by the head chef, Mario. He shopped and prepared one of the best meals that we have ever had. The owner, Richard, and the rest of his staff made us feel like family. This is a place that needs to be patronized in order to preserve the tradition of a hotel where you are not only a guest, but a part of a community. If you go, make sure to have Mario make you bruschetta and eggplant!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I love peace and quiet, and the location just offers that. Convienice of being few feet from the beach, to having incredible view, and top notch service certainly is worth the stay. The Hotels decor lobby and the restaurant are exquisite and very modern. The staff is very knowledgeable and the cleanliness is unmatched. The addition of the lunch and.dinner has made.life so much more.easier, where you can enjoy spectacular food with beautiful ocean view. The only downside to this is waiting for vacation time and hoping the paradise getaway would come sooner. No two people have a same taste but if you like luxurious rooms and views, amazing food, peaceful atmosphere,great service, attentive staff and affordable prices then Sea Lord will meet your expectations. I am looking forward to many years of vacationing at Sea Lord, and as well receiving their signature service they have offered so far. Enoy your stay because I sure did.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeK0585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed in room 508-a jr. suite which was very adequate for two adults. The view was amazing..everything was clean. nice walk to oceanfront restaurants. The only negative thing was that they charged a fee for the lounge chairs. I think that they should be signed out with a deposit -its a little offensive to mot have them included(Maybe two chairs per room) Also the plastic chairs on balcony were uncomfortable..I went to front desk but they never brought me another type even though there were plenty from other empty rooms...Not s big desl-but it would have been nice to have comfortable chairs for reading.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rn58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location, views, staff, pool, beach, and spacious suite were perfect. We loved the second floor and did not mind the palms obstructing our view a little as it gave us shade enough to sit out on the balconey in the morning and read without being blinded by the sun.

Pool area was kept very, very clean. Thankfully this hotel never feels too crowded so there is always a place to relax and read.

Location above all is the winner. Walk to shops and restaurants as well as nightly strolls along the ocean.

Personally I appreciated the staff being there when I needed them as well as leaving me in peace when I wished.

Lovely experience and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rootsandshoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thank you for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community!

We are thrilled to hear what a memorable and relaxing vacation you had with us at the Sea Lord Hotel & Suites! I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the location of the property. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea!

Best wishes,
Olga Monson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.8 mi away
Plunge Beach Hotel
Plunge Beach Hotel
#9 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
Ocean Manor Beach Resort Hotel
#21 of 127 in Fort Lauderdale
2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort Inn
Shore Haven Resort Inn
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Cliff Resort
Sea Cliff Resort
#7 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5419
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range: $127 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing