We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Greek dining one block from the ocean”
Review of Athena By The Sea

Athena By The Sea
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek dining one block from the ocean”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

6 of us went on Christmas day. The service was prompt and courteous.
Portions were a good size and very flavorful.
The lamb kebabs were juicy and well spiced but the hands down favorite were the lamb chops. Amazing!!
We rounded out the meal with a few desserts to share. The waitress and either the manager or the owner came over to check on us and make sure we were enjoying our meal.
Of all the Greek restaurants in the Fort Lauderdale area, this one is truly our favorite!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petuniasharon1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    132
    74
    35
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Totally Renovated”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have always enjoyed dining at Athena. It has just re-opened after a massive renovation. It is now a very up to date dining venue. The exterior walls have been replaced by large glass doors that fold up to allow indoor /outdoor dining. The entire interior has been modernized with a new floorplan, bar, tables, floors, etc. The bathrooms look like they belong in a South Beach club. But the best news is the menu, it is exactly the same. When I say exactly, there has been no increase in prices to cover the renovations. My Deluxe Cheeseburger was delicious and my companion's omelet was too.
Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_SoFla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, portions could be better.”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We absolutely loved the pita and hummus that was served to the table - flavorful and delicious. However, for the main dish we ordered the kebobs (mine was chicken, husband was lamb). The kebobs were okay in flavor, but the portion of meat and veggies was extremely small. It was basically a HUGE mound of rice with a tiny bit of meat and veggies, too small for the amount paid. We went to Keese's instead and got a lot more for a lot less. I would come to Athena's just for the hummus, and Keese's for the rest of my meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uphototraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellant Staff And Decor”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Welcome back Athena. Stylish in decor and tasty new menu. Ive been there 2xs in the one week since they have been open. Try Louis Ribs!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Therealwhyteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful renovation, great additions to menu.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The owners really went all out on the renovation, using a talented local design team, the best quality materials, and innovative ideas. From the wood beams with tasteful lighting above to the wood tile floors to the fold back windows that open up the restaurant and bar, everything is well thought out and well done. And thanks for keeping the iconic Athena mural! Additions of tuna, ribs and scallops perfect the menu. Welcome back - glad you're open again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CATVAG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena By The Sea also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
Lauderdale by the Sea, Broward County
 

Been to Athena By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing