We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Family Vacation Delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Cliff Resort
Crown Point, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family Vacation Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I have to beg to differ on the bad review "Stay Away" I have been coming to Sea Cliff since the early 70's. The management and the regulars that stay at Sea Cliff are like family. My husband and I have met some wonderful people here. Our children have spend most of their vacations here at Sea Cliff. They are now adults and we are spending another family vacation at the Sea Cliff. As for housekeeping if there is something I need I ask and it will be done. These are apartments and not a hotel, with daily maid sevice. I love the privacy and also the convienience of having service when I want it. You really cannot ask for a better location close to everything and just a short walk across the street to the beach. Best rates on El Mar Dr.

Room Tip: love the front apartments with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    15
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
27
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed there beginning of August along with some friends and never again will go back. BlackPanther 31 and Gloria S. said it right . That 1 week we were there the only thing maid service did was provide towels , 1 roll of toilet paper and make our bed. The room was never vacuumed or swept and the beds never changed. The outside of the hotel was never swept with sand all over and also around the swimming pool area. In the one week we were there the swimming pool was never cleaned and the wifi Internet down for almost my entire stay. They say they renovated this place but not sure when they really did that. The furniture is old and worn out and place not well kept. They don't even keep their word. Unfortunately one of the couples canceled us due to personal reasons , since I was the one who booked everything and gave deposit on my card I called to advise them and was told not to worry they will credit their deposit on my room instead, when it was time to pay that wasn't the case. They refused to refund me their deposit saying it was over 30 days ,unfortunately I did everything by phone and had no proof so couldn't argue my point , at the end I think they need that 100$ more than me to maintain this place .

I will be posting pictures to prove my point.

Stayed August 2013

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'll keep this simple:
A) only plus to this resort is that it is across the street from the beach.
B) pool not maintained. Pool surround cluttered/messy. No one takes the time to keep things in order.
C) rooms only surface cleaned, by that I mean:
- dirty sheets on pull out couch - beach sand all over
- bedroom comforter not washed - smelled perfume on it and when looked underneath dirty brown confirming that it had never seen the inside of a washing machine for some time.
- sliding door in living room missing blind slats so no privacy as unit on main floor in front of parking spaces and main street
- lighting above kitchen filled with bugs of some sort
- fridge grungy - exterior. Freezer dirty.
D) lamps that don't work
E) TV didn't work - no signal.
F) Internet didn't work.
G) Bathroom fan that could wake the dead - if you could call it a fan. I'm not sure what I was looking at in the ceiling.
H) Thought we weren't going to be able to have a shower because we couldn't get the faucet to work. Finally did.
I) Very old furnishings. Not trying to bring their units up to the 21st century any at all.
J) Staff (2) don't seem to hang around for their scheduled work hours so don't expect to get assistance when needed. Maybe that's why things are so run down and dirty.

We couldn't stay at this resort. Went across the street to the SEA LORD HOTEL and was fortunate enough to find a room there - right on the water. Had an absolutely awesome stay there. Note: We had to pay the Sea Cliff for 3 night's stay but it was soooooo worth it. Couldn't have spent another second in this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Location is great , but the rest theres nothing good i would say about it , the rooms were never cleaned or vaccumed , bed sheets were changed in my length of stay.they only thing we got that were clean towels everyday,and 1 roll of toilet paper per day, they really should update their furniture indoors and outdoors by the pool area , pool was very dirty , we had no interet for a whole week due to defective wifi modem ,but thats besides the point ! It was the last time !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackpanther31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Nice, clean, friendly. i bedroom apt nice clean furniture could be replaced a chair in bedroom was broke. Pool was nice could see ocean from balcony, and walking distance to some good restaurants and the Pier.i would deffinetly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagirl8854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

It is easy to see why everybody staying here have been returning for years ! This is a very well kept older property in LBTS with nice rooms and a beautiful heated pool. The property manager, Rosetta and her assistant (Shirley), work very hard to keep every customer happy during their stay at the 'Cliff', and it shows. The pricing is one of the Best Values in the area, be sure to spend a few dollars more and stay in a suite facing El Mar Drive.........

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Beach, NY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Awesome location right across the street from the beach. Only a four or five block walk to the pier and 101 Ocean, Village Pump etc. Rooms are good, we had a 1 BR with a small kitchen area. Pool is well kept. Most important it was nice and clean. Very affordable rates. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockawayBeachRayDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#1 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#13 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#18 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Resort

Property: Sea Cliff Resort
Address: 4201 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-5420
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Cliff Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Sea Cliff! Escape to your own beachside hideaway in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, FL. The Sea Cliff is an ideal vacation destination for business and leisure travelers, offering the ambiance of a small resort with all the amenities of an upscale hotel. Enjoy a beachside view of the Atlantic Ocean, a heated outdoor pool, gas grill, restaurants and activites in walking distance, and much more! Each room at the Sea Cliff has a full kitchen, dining area, bathroom, bedroom, living room with 42" flat panel TV's and a pullout sofa bed, and an outdoor sitting area or private balcony. Check out a more detailed list of amenities below. We pride ourselves in taking excellent care and accommodating our guests, and making them feel at home their entire stay here in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. We hope you have an outstanding experience and create memories that last a lifetime! - Beachside - Heated Outdoor Pool - located at your doorstep. - Gas grill - located poolside - Shuffleboard - Beach Toys, Rafts and water toys - Championship golf courses (full or 3 par) are nearby. - Angling Fishing Pier, open 24 hours (5 minute walking distance) - The famous Bahia Mar and Hillsboro deep sea fishing fleets are only minutes away. - High-Speed Wireless Internet - accessible anywhere on our property - High Definition 42" Flat Panel Televisions - Central Air Conditioning / Heat - Refrigerator/Freezer - In Room Phones - Hair Dryers - Iron and Ironing Board - Radio / Alarm Clock - Express Check-Out - Parking - Granite Countertops - Italian Porcelain Tile Floors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Sea Cliff Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing