We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location - most relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa del Sol
4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best location - most relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We loved this place, will go back in a heartbeat. The only reason I don't give it 5 stars, is that it isn't a five star hotel, with 5 star furnishings, it is more like 3 star. But, if you're good with that (and we were) then you will love it here!

We stayed in two different units, 212. The advantage to being on the 2nd floor, you feel like you can sleep with sliding glass door open and listen to the waves crash all night, which you don't really feel like you can do on the ground floor, where we stayed in 108. But the advantage to being on the ground floor, is just walk right out to the pool, ideal if you have water safe kids, you don't have to 'go to the pool' as it were, and a few meters further you have the beach and ocean.

Furthermore, because it is a timeshare property, you get people coming back year after year, and we bridged over two different weeks, and the other guests there were so friendly, I've never been in a place like this. I think it is the repeat guest thing, plus the layout and configuration of the place.

Overall, we found it great value for money. Certainly a 5 star location and view, 3 star furnishings, but then again you aren't paying for 5 star furnishings, so it's all good. In fact, it's better than good, it's heaven!

Room Tip: with water safe kids, the ground floor rooms are super relaxed. If you want to hear the waves crash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    21
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at Costa del Sol. We absolutely love it! Only 3 floors ... around 40 rooms. The view from our room is spetacular! We have a balcony over looking the pool ... and just steps away from the beach. It's an older property, but it's squeaky clean and has everything we need! King bed ... tv in bedroom ... bath ... living room with sofa bed ... tv and dvd player ... full kitchen ... fridge, oven, stovetop, microwave. Someone comes in each day and exchanges towels and take out trash ... sheets are changed middle of the week. You are walking distance to a Walgreen's and many restaurants. We love this little hideaway. It is like stepping back in time. They still have real keys for the door! Air worked great. Nice little pool and hot tub. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ewoka13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife,daughter and I stayed here thanksgiving week of 2013. The units are pretty small. when we arrived we were given a room right next to the entranceway to the pool /beach right on the ground floor[ugh!!] plenty of noise and traffic walking by you at this room all day long,however after entering the warm ,muggy room and setting the a/c thermostat down to 65 degrees ,after a few hours the temp went up,not down ,the vents were blowing warm air,so I went to the office and told Rosalda, the woman at the front desk that our A/C wasn't working,she said she would send a maintenance man,... after about an hour and a half we called the office and asked when the maintenance man might be there only to find out Rosalda had left and never told anyone our a/c wasn't working [thanks for nothing Rosalda!} The woman who had relieved her sent a maintenance man who said there was nothing he could do about the A/C , then a man whom I believe was the maintenance manager came and said he would call the contractor,so a while later the contractor came and said the unit was broken and he needed a part which he would have to order.,at this point,not knowing how many days it would be till it was repaired,we asked if we could transfer to another room which had A/C...the maint. manager said nothing was available,so while he was there I called RCI whom we had exchanged our timeshare with to stay there and told them of the situation.Once the Manager realized we were complaining to RCI all of a sudden ...Voila!! ...a room magically became available to move into. After this we informed no less than 3 different front desk people that the airline had lost my luggage ,but informed us that it would be delivering it that night so we kindly asked the office people if they could notify me as soon as the luggage arrived ,which they assured me they would,later that night we got a call that the airlines tried to deliver our luggage ,but the office was closed, they closed at 8:00 p.m.,so here we are, the front desk girl never informed us that she was leaving and that we were on our own to look out for our arriving luggage [thanks again, for nothing] not even the courtesy of a phone call!!!.this place is lacking even the basics of courtesy and customer service!! The unit was clean ,the bed seemed hard but we slept okay as it was quiet.I am not aware of any activities at this so called resort. The beach was nice but not as nice as many beaches we have stayed at in florida.They do have a gas grill you could use, an elevator, and a Laundromat, just no change at the office or in the Laundromat to actually use the machines... so good luck with that. No beach towels or chairs are provided at this so called resort either... The hot tub was tiny and out of order 2 of the days we stayed there ,we never really used it because it was occupied and no more than 4 people could use it at a time without overcrowding...All in all we had a nice stay because it was a warm weather get away from the cold weather back home and we were on vacation and it was the beach ,so we made the best of it, however ,we would stay elsewhere when returning, It may seem like I'm griping ,but This is my honest assessment of our stay, my wife and I work hard and expect more than this place provided as a vacation experience,plain and simple.We probably won't even return to the Ft Lauderdale area again as it is severely lacking in things to do at night, boredom can set in rather quickly [which may be what some people are looking for].] Very much a been there,.done that experience for us.

Room Tip: don't stay on the ground floor if you can at all help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank deanroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The condo was right on the beach with excellent view of the ocean from our balcony. Check in was easy. The staff was nice and friendly. The pool and property looked clean and well kept. We took a short walk to eat dinner and shop nearby. It was nice to have free WiFi in the room. This is our first time to stay at this location and will likely stay at this place again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank beachbumer1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This would definitely be rated a 5 in my book if two things could be addressed. First the staff was not very attentive and second the room needed some upgrades. Those were really all that I can nitpick about. This is an excellent location that is a small establishment in between mile after mile of large condo buildings. It is quiet, and close enough to walk to restaurants, bars, and shopping. This beach is literally within steps of your room.
I think that we had one of the two best rooms in the resort. Room 205 and 305 are closest to the beach and have a balcony that almost hangs over the sand. These two rooms are one on top of the other and are on the corner where you still have a slight view of the pool area too. The next best, in my humble opinion, based solely on location, would be rooms 204, 202, 201 and rooms 304,302, 301. Rooms 203 and 303 have an obstructed view with large palm trees, but would not be bad if that does not bother you.
This is currently October 2013 and there is some construction going on, so be aware and request a room away from the construction. It was not too bad, but it is definitely going on.
Now for a little whining. The room is dated and needs some fresh draperies, carpets, bedspreads, counter tops, etc. Next, each time that we had a request for staff, we were ignored. I try not to be a complainer, but sometimes it really annoys me. We requested clean sheets for the king size bed after the first night. A little too much "vacation" had made one of the roommates sick and clean sheets were required. After several days (3) and many requests, the maid changed the towels...not the sheets...the towels. Several more pleading (begging) requests fell on deaf ears. Twice a week, you get made service and we were finally allowed to sleep on clean sheets and not a bare mattress. The second request was less important but was more of a safety issue. Our phone did not work at all in the room. Several requests were met with a chuckle and a shoulder shrug. It was never fixed. Our cell phones are Verizon and they did not have service in most of the complex but were fine further down the street.
Everything considered, we would definitely go back. My complaints here are more aimed at management so that they can perfect an already wonderful resort.

Room Tip: You really can't find a "bad" room, but some a better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ralfeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay with everything in close range. I do think they have taken the no smoking policies a bit to extreme as this is a no smoking facility. I don't consider myself a big smoker but I do like to have a smoke with an occassional drink while relaxing on a balcony when on vacation and couldn't even do that. I don't mind and in fact support no smoking in buildings and vehicles as I hate the smell but not to be able to smoke outdoors is a little extreme in my opinion, which doesn't matter. All in all, the property is a very nice place, clean, comfortable and family friendly.

Room Tip: Ocean front and the ground level with pool access is great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bleemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a fantastic little place right on the beach. Have been coming here for a number of years and more impressed everytime we are here. It is a very comfortable, well maintained and clean property. The location is spectacular - right on the beach overlooking the ocean and close to the shops and restaurants of Lauderdale By The Sea. The units on the second and third floor have balconies overlooking the ocean with very comfortable chairs. Very nice touch. There is a great BBQ on the property with areas to eat outside (including an area under the shade). The place has everything you want for a relaxing beach holiday. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the second and third floors with the balconies facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bluenose5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#14 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#17 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#12 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southern Seas
Southern Seas
#16 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol

Property: Costa del Sol
Address: 4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Broward County > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Costa Del Sol Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing